We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for Door County”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Harbor Resort
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Kohler, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value for Door County”
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We were surprised to find that Sturgeon Bay has really made a comeback as a tourist spot in Door County. Our stay at this resort was a deal on price. Accommodations were very clean and the view from our balcony was spectacular. Breakfast at the white tablecloth restaurant overlooking the bay was excellent. The resort now has their own yacht, the Harbor Lady, which took us out for a two hour sunset cruise for $8! Wow... that was great. This resort is only a short drive to Egg Harbor and the middle of Door County where the room prices could be easily twice as much. Outdoor pool overlooks the bay. Only drawback: the lighting in the bedroom is very dim so no reading is really possible.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WItourist_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    94
    47
    26
    16
See reviews for
65
110
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Beautiful location, clean rooms BUT SADLY aloof and nearly rude front desk staff, PLASTIC CUPS (!) in the rooms, not very good sound insulation, no individual controls of bed lamps so if one is on they're both on and a restaurant that doesn't open until 7:30 a.m. during peak season and no apologies about it. We really wanted to love Stone Harbor but so much travelers should take for granted a place like this just isn't here. If they stepped up their game even just a little bit it'd be so much better. But now it's not so great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1cutekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We'll grant you that this was a busy weekend at the resort, but room service trays at our neighbors' doors for our entire stay of 18 hours?! That's unacceptable. My stomach churned every time we approached or left the room.

Also, as an earlier reviewer mentioned, the bedding is uncomfortable. The room that we were in had a bed that retracted into the wall so as to give the room more of a condo feel. The mattress was sofabed thin, supported by thin matting. The sheets didn't fit the bed well, slipping on the shiny surface of the mattress to end up in the center of the bed by morning.

This is a large hotel, and I am sure there are other room configurations and more comfortable mattresses. With more attention to detail and comfort, this could be a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaCityMarikay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2010

It was everything we could imagine. We stayed in one of the premiere suites which was absolutely breath taking. The room was extremely clean and very comfortable. The staff at Stone Harbor Resort went above and beyond our expectations to make sure our stay was unforgettable.

The staff made sure to please my every request. Not only did they impress me with their service, but I was very satisfied with how polite and courteous they were to us.

The restaurant was amazing... Great view of the Harbor while we ate and the wait staff was right there at all times to make sure everything was perfect.

Overall, I am more than satisfied with our stay and will be returning very soon.

-Lawrence

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfosterjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

The hotel is right in downtown Sturgeon Bay, which was nice, very close to Red Oak Winery and Sage Restaurant. The room was clean, but left a lot to be desired. The walls were paper thin. We could hear our neighbors' conversations all night. And while this is a bit nit picky, the bath towels weren't much bigger than the hand towels. The restaurant on site is terrible. In the evening it was filled with smokers, and the breakfast was horrible. The stuffed french toast is more like a french toast sandwich with a cold lumpy cream cheese cherry mixture in the middle, the cappuccino is the gas station kind that tastes more like hot chocolate, and my husband's hash browns tasted like they had been deep fried in 10 year old oil. Overall a very average hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizEWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We just returned from a great weekend at Stone Harbor Resort in Sturgeon Bay. They managed the unpredictable fall weather to allow for a wonderful wedding experience. We enjoyed the beautiful fall colors and Lake Michigan! The resort was exceptional with accommadations, friendly staff, great food and atmosphere. We are thinking another trip there to experience a guided fishing trip should be done!

Helpful?
Thank MnExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winona, MN
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Our stay here was less then great. From the time we walked with the poor customer service at the front desk and were told about the $200 fee to hold for incidents or the $50 in cash (which they never checked) to the small room with no microwave, fridge, sitting area and tiny TV. I would not stay here again. This is a hotel not a resort. I could have had a better stay at a Holiday Inn with a nicer room then this. Because we were disappointed in our room and the resort, we never spent time in the Pub or restaurant and took our money elsewhere.
I would find somewhere else to stay

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toripierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
471 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
15.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Harbor Resort

Property: Stone Harbor Resort
Address: 107 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2537
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 163
Also Known As:
Stone Harbor Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Stone Harbor Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing