We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is off our list”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wave Pointe Marina & Resort
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here many times - not any more. Beds - terrible. Pillows - worse. No espn on tv - seriously?

Service in gilmos is horribly slow. 4 people at bar for lunch and was 15 minutes before someone took my order.

How about no wifi- in a hotel where you can't get cell coverage? Seems wifi is in marina, but who wants to walk out there from 2nd floor all the time to get a signal?

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Love2Travel017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

We spent four nights and had a wonderful stay, with beautiful views of the water. The hotel was clean, with very quiet rooms and a very friendly and helpful staff. The furnishings were not dated, but there were a few maintenance items that should be attended to. Such as a sticking door on one room that was hard to close a few stains on the carpets. As well as the facets in the bathrooms (both as we were in two different rooms) had pitting, a white buildup and the finish was worn off from where the water had been leaking or from cleaning which looked bad. Also the first room we were in (110) had no connection the hotel’s WI-Fi.

The biggest issue for this hotel was that it is about a 15 minute drive from town, which was not a problem for us but could be for some people. The big advantage of this hotel not being in town was the cost, we were able to get a large multi room whirlpool suite with a king bed for the cost of a small single room in town, without a water view.

There was no breakfast included with the room, but you could order muffins, bagels, toast, cereal and fruit delivered in a basket to your room for an extra charge. Although not having a free breakfast included with the room is not a deal breaker for me, I would have really liked a hot breakfast option included on the breakfast basket menu. Especially since the hotel is so far out of town and you cannot quickly run out to a diner for breakfast. The strange thing is that the hotel does have a restaurant on premises that was not open for breakfast. WHY?

Even with these negatives, which overall were minor I would definitely return for another stay.

Room Tip: The first night we stayed in an Endeavour Suite, room 110 and had no WI-Fi and the view of the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent Memorial day in a Corner Atlantis Suite, and it was clean and spacious and the view was awesome! It had a wonderful 2 person soaking tub. Comfortable King size bed. Wonderful balcony. The Kitchenette was well stock with needed cooking and serving supplies, the living room was comfortable and it had double fireplaces. All very nice.

The only thing was the location. It is on the other side of Sturgeon Bay its actually in the area of Bug Tussel, Little Sturgeon Bay It was at least a 25-30 minute drive to get to the main attractions of Door County. So not conventient to pop out to any of the quaint local dining in Door County. It would be perfect if you had your own watercraft.

The other inferior item was the balcony furniture, there should have been some lounge type chairs and sturdier deck set. It is a covered porch/balcony and woud have been nice to have nicer furniture to relax and enjoy the view on.

Room Tip: I suggest the corner rooms with corner balconies Corner Atlantis Suites but beware the ones overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lori730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

wave pointe was verrrrrry peaceful and quiet it raine while we there so tht made it peaceful the food was great and so was the staff

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 819georgia819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed for our second time this past Labor Day weekend and had another great time at this resort. We had 2 Endeavor Suites and 1 Corner Atlantis Suite. We really loved the Corner Atlantis Suite, would definitely get this suite again. We had great a dinner and breakfast at Gilmo's. This resort is so unique because the staff is so friendly and helpful. A few of the staff remembered our group from last year. Looking forward to returning next year. Thank you to everyone at the resort for a wonderful Labor Day weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Wave Pointe was reasonably priced, extremely clean and well kept. The employees were pleasant and very helpful. The kitchen in the suites was very well equipped with everything you would need to cook. The bathrooms and bedrooms were large and nicely furnished.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbalber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

From Wave Point's web site we booked the Summer Romance Package, which includes a gift basket, a gift certificate for Gilmo's, the restaurant on the ground floor & a gift certificate to a Door County business. All in all it was an excellent deal! Upon arriving, we were awed by the beautiful updated & very clean & huge 1 bedroom suite, or could be called a condo. With 2 balconies, one off the living room & one off bedroom, there was a patio set to enjoy the awesome view of the marina & the Little Sturgeon Bay. The outdoor pool was perfect to help forget about any worries. All of the other vacationers were so friendly & nice & we all felt the same about how great it is at Wave Point. All the staff is helpful, friendly & really do their best to make it a great relaxing stay at Wave Point. We are already planning to return this fall & winter.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view of their marina on Little Sturgeon Bay. check out their package deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JananaBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
8.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
7.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
9.7 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
8.4 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
331 reviews
7.8 mi away
Beach Harbor Resort
Beach Harbor Resort
#11 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Pointe Marina & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Pointe Marina & Resort

Address: 3600 County Road CC, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-8612
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Wave Pointe Marina And Resort
Wave Pointe Marina Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing