We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the stop.”
Review of Red Oak Winery

Red Oak Winery
Ranked #11 of 42 things to do in Sturgeon Bay
Attraction details
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the stop.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stopped for a wine tasting. Service was slow and the wines were not good at all. Had no character and tasted watered down. This was a unanimous opinion of all four of us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lexusc2cguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    12
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
194 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“"They Moved - Apparently Not For The Better"”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The courtesy and service at this winery was sorely lacking. The tasting room server should be both knowledgeable and courteous in performing their task. We were coldly greeted by what I would refer to as a wine pourer. For that is all she did, pour it in the glass and leave. There was a $5 tasting fee. I really don't have a problem with that when the service is good, the server is courteous and when wine is purchased the tasting fee is removed. Yes we did buy 2 bottles of wine and were charged the tasting fee above the cost of the wine. While we liked the two wines we purchased, I would believe it is fair to say the majority of their wines we tasted were mediocre at best. Trained, knowledgeable and courteous servers would go a long way in making the experience at Red Oak Winery much more enjoyable. As far as the quality of the wine that is the wine makers issue. We are not new to wine tasting. We have done so in California, Washington, Oregon and a few other states. You really do have much to learn as a winery!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic -- Napa in Wisconsin”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

OK, first the winery is in a large warehouse building in a treeless field. Now that that is out of the way, on to the important stuff. Once inside the building, you are greeted by a very attractive tasting area. The afternoon my wife and I visited, a very accomplished guitarist, Troy Therrien, entertained the visitors. Both individuals working the tasting room were extremely knowledgeable about the wines, as well as being very friendly.

The wines themselves are a bit pricey in contrast to other local wineries. However, once you taste these wines, you understand the very high quality. The selections we tried would hold up well against any of the better Sonoma or Napa offerings. Most of the grapes used in these wines are from California.

We will definitely return to Red Oak Winery on our next visit, and, once we drink the bottles we purchased during our visit, we will be placing an order for more.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisH018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dreadful customer service”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Followed the directions on the Door county wine tour flyer. Located the building, which was empty, and figured that they had gone out of business. Called just in case and apparently they have moved but have not updated literature or posted any signage at the old location. After getting directions to the new location we found out that they had changed their hours as well and were now closed, (earlier than indicated on the wine tour flyer).

Stopped by the following morning on our way out of town. They opened at 11am; we stopped by at 11:15am and the building sign said Closed, (although there was a car in lot). Waited a few minutes and then gave up.

Bad experience, certainly wouldn't make any effort to attempt another visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MnKuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“eh.”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

You needed to pay $5 for the wine tasting; we thought the wines were just ok. Most wineries have nice crackers and this place had cheap oyster crackers. Majority of their wines were overpriced compared with other wineries in the area. We had just come from Von Steil before going here and they have a better selection and prices. Also we love Door Penninsula! Both of the latter offer wine tasting for free. I would not go back to Red Oak or recommend it; there are many other better places in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamieandaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Oak Winery also viewed

 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Red Oak Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing