We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues to impress”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Music Motel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We went back for our second stay at the Holiday Music Motel and continue to be impressed with what a great deal it is, the friendliness of the staff and the upkeep.

We booked 4 rooms for my dad's 70th birthday trip to Door County in mid-December. My partner and I are fans of the vintage decor and laid-back vibe and thought my dad would enjoy the retro 50's style. He definitely did. In fact all members of our group loved the place.

When we arrived we found out they had upgraded a couple of our rooms so we could all be next to each other, a very nice surprise! And the rooms were spotlessly clean as always.

This place isn't for everyone. The place isn't just retro, the furnishings, tile, etc are actually from the 50's but they are unbelievably well maintained. And out of a group that ranged in age from 70 to 36, males and females, only one of us (my somewhat picky mother) left not totally in love with the place.

Also, the self-serve continental breakfast is a terrific extra bonus (although the option of decaf coffee would be most welcome).

Thank you, Holiday Music Motel, for helping my family have an awesome weekend in door county without breaking the budget!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Willowsandroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

We were first time guests of the hotel and immediately fell in love with the retro/art feel to the property. However, we became more impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the super comfortable beds/linens. The counter style self-service breakfast area was fun and again very cleanly maintained. The location of the hotel has shops and restaurants all at walking distance. The affordable price is another positive for this motel. We will be a return customer!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vandeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

After looking online my wife and I decided to go the Holiday Music Hotel. It was exactly what we hoped it would be. It was like a blast from the past. Rooms are very small by modern standards but a flash back to our childhoods. We were are in out 50s. Fun place, very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglass J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Some people have a cabin in Door County...we just stay at the Holiday Music Motel. Located right in Downtown Sturgeon Bay, the motel is within walking distance to cute shops and good restaurants. The beds in the motel are new and comfortable, the rooms we've had were quiet, and there is always staff on duty to take care of things. They make it fun to stay there, though perhaps not so much fun for children since the motel is dedicated to rock music. This is actually a positive for us!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms may be larger than the first floor, but pets are only allowed in the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The hotel is so charming and retro, a blast from the past! The rooms were nice, coffee anytime and just enough at the breakfast in the morning! The staff is very friendly and recommended a great place to eat. I'd stay there again whenever in the area!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landonWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent 3 days in this Motel and I would suggest it without any doubt.
The real service is more valuable than the cost, he room is very comfortable, clean and quite. We were there in winter and we stayed very warm. The breakfast was good and everything you need is provided kindly and quickly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosaria964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a very nice property, retro and unpretentious, right in the middle of town, very clean, good prices. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful--they went out of their to answer questions and help us out. I would very happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slsl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
1.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
527 reviews
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
16.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
24.6 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
805 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Music Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Music Motel

Address: 30 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Green Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: £40 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Music Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County's first motel has been lovingly restored. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great amenities, low rates, and an unbeatable location. We host live music weekly all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Music Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Music Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing