We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Music Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Music Motel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cochrane, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

clean rooms,beds were good, no hassle, close to many bars/restaurants all walking distance will be back next time everyone we talked to was friendly and helpful in our stay,plenty of parking,great rates, thanks jerry

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 305JerryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    99
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
69
197
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was a nice place to stay and the reviews online are accurate. The place is older with a 50's style, but is clean and neat and in a nice quiet area close to downtown. Nothing fancy but I would definitely stay again. Others must like the place as well as it was fully booked on Saturday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsbluff, NE
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The motel was very clean, the accommodations nice (everything worked well), and the staff was quite friendly.
It's a modest motel with a big ambition. The owners are trying to make it an alternative music center for songwriting and original performance. We spent 3 nights there, one of which featured an open microphone; the other, a performance by 3 excellent professional musicians from Madison, WI.
If you want a nice place to stay at reasonable rates AND an opportunity to hear or hang around with some real musicians (we're the "downhome" variety and had expected just "local" talent; the musicians involved with the motel who are on premise are the real deal), then this is the place. My wife and I have travelled for 50 years, and this was one of the more unique experiences (some, not so good!).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpwymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this motel 10 years ago and looked it up again for my current visit. My room was cozy, the bed and linens were high quality and comfortable and the mini fridge was handy. The furniture and decor is of yester-years throughout the motel and does not compromise the efforts by management to offer a quality experience to its guests. While seeming old, this motel offers up to date amenities and good old fashioned customer service. It is conveniently located and there are a number restaurants nearby. I would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmom928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very cool retro hotel, with cozy rooms, comfy beds, friendly staff, and free continental breakfast. All this at a reasonable rate. A stay here also might afford you an opportunity to rub elbows with musicians and authors as well,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We went back for our second stay at the Holiday Music Motel and continue to be impressed with what a great deal it is, the friendliness of the staff and the upkeep.

We booked 4 rooms for my dad's 70th birthday trip to Door County in mid-December. My partner and I are fans of the vintage decor and laid-back vibe and thought my dad would enjoy the retro 50's style. He definitely did. In fact all members of our group loved the place.

When we arrived we found out they had upgraded a couple of our rooms so we could all be next to each other, a very nice surprise! And the rooms were spotlessly clean as always.

This place isn't for everyone. The place isn't just retro, the furnishings, tile, etc are actually from the 50's but they are unbelievably well maintained. And out of a group that ranged in age from 70 to 36, males and females, only one of us (my somewhat picky mother) left not totally in love with the place.

Also, the self-serve continental breakfast is a terrific extra bonus (although the option of decaf coffee would be most welcome).

Thank you, Holiday Music Motel, for helping my family have an awesome weekend in door county without breaking the budget!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Willowsandroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We were first time guests of the hotel and immediately fell in love with the retro/art feel to the property. However, we became more impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the super comfortable beds/linens. The counter style self-service breakfast area was fun and again very cleanly maintained. The location of the hotel has shops and restaurants all at walking distance. The affordable price is another positive for this motel. We will be a return customer!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vandeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
24.6 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
16.0 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Music Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Music Motel

Property: Holiday Music Motel
Address: 30 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Green Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Music Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County's first motel has been lovingly restored. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great amenities, low rates, and an unbeatable location. We host live music weekly all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Music Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Music Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing