We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun stay and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Music Motel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We left the friendly, comfortable atmosphere of The Holiday Musical Motel this morning. We enjoyed our peaceful stay very much. Our first floor room was clean, nicely decorated, convenient, comfortable and quiet. The motel in general was decorated nicely! A nice selection of food items are available for breakfast. We had the pleasure of visiting with various, friendly employees and others staying at the motel. Sturgeon Bay was a good, quiet location and we enjoyed the day drive to the other villages farther north. Should we have the opportunity to return our plans would be to stay at the same motel! We loved it and the price was right.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Railsback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Want to be in the thick of things and sleep in the most comfortable beds possible? The Holiday Music Motel is your place. I stayed on the 2nd floor (having read previous reviews). Quiet and relaxing.
Those are the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! Usually I toss and turn when staying overnight but I zonked out almost immediately. Between the mattress and the pillows it is heaven.
Breakfast is self-serve. Lots of baked goods/breads as well as cereal and fruit available. Juice and milk in the fridge. Coffee on the counter and a hot water pot is right next to it. BONUS -- a water cooler. How nice to just fill up my water jug for my travels up and down 42!
Walk out the door on 3rd Ave and you have so many restaurants and stores right there. I had lunch and dinner right in my backyard. :D
Easy on and off when traveling around Door County.
I don't have a dog, but I noticed a couple of people who had theirs. Tails a wagging and people smiling. Great place!
There is a public walk right across the street if you want to walk along the harbor.
I would DEFINITELY recommend staying here. The people are friendly and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I was just at this Hotel last week. Here is the deal:

1.From the outside it looks kind of like an old-timey hotel from days gone by. Like the kind you don't expect much from.

2. Then you get inside and you're like..whoa. I mean WHOA. DOOD. It's like you've walked into a yesteryear hotel IN A GOOD WAY. Like vintage decor, cool vibe. Like totally right-on.

3. The room was very clean. Like-really super duper spotless clean. The aesthetic of the room was also superlative. Like I felt like I was in the 50s/60s. Except-the bed didn't have one of those cheesy comforters that you see on TV shows-and they put a black light up to it and see all sorts of creepy stuff. It's like a comforter out of a fancy hotel. White, comfortable. The bed had a nice padding. I had to sleep next to an annoying relative, but I'm sure I would have gotten great sleep if that weren't the case.

4. The people there were really cool, and cool looking too. They were nice and had a rockin' vibe just like I like. They were helpful and friendly.

5. The location was great-just a short walk from downtown Sturgeon Bay and anything you might need. I really loved that.

6. This hotel was recently rated one of the '10 Best Retro Motels in the USA' by USA Today. This rating is well deserved. I mean-down to the last detail this hotel rocked the retro vibe. So cool and unique. So decent and wonderful.

7. I look forward to staying here again when I come up to see the leaves change. Sturgeon Bay is the perfect place to stay in Door County. It's like a quiet respite from the touristy other parts. I'm even considering moving to this area after my stay.

8. PS. This place also hosts some music festivals and stuff. This wasn't happening during our stay-but I find this quite interesting!

Room Tip: Since this is bound to be on more travelers lists after the USA Today rating/review-I would suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ihrtwsconsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were a little hesitant about booking this motel, but what a delight it turned out to be! Art deco furniture and accessories. Real ceramic coffee mugs and coffee 24 hours a day --amazing and most welcome. Great location allowed us to walk to wonderful restaurants, bars, shops. Loved this gem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have been meaning to write this for the past 2 years. Although this was not a "happy" time for us the trip had to be made. My brother was dying of prostate cancer and the trip needed to be made to make arrangements with him for his final days. The first time we took our babies-2 maltese sister puppies, with us. They promised they would find someone to stay with them in our room and take them out when needed. I couldn't believe this, but when we got there the girl was called and she came to get to know the dogs and stayed with them as long as we needed her too and we were told not to worry about how long it would be. This meant the world to us! Now we could concentrate on the matter for which we came an not worry about them. After all, we made the long trip by car from AZ to WI. *****star recommendation from us!!

Room Tip: Less noise on the top floor on right side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sal Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I've been meaning to write this review for awhile. My boyfriend booked a room in late 2013 for Friday February 14th of 2014! We have stayed here before and love the place so he thought this would be the perfect Valentine's Day event for us. As the time got closer we realized that this weekend was also "Love on Holiday" weekend. Which meant that the motel and town would be swarming with musicians that would be coming up to the motel and this town to write music and perform that music around town. We knew that meant that the motel would be reserved for the songwriters. My boyfriend called a week or so before we planned to arrive to ask about our room. I was sure they had made a mistake and we would not have a room. I was right. They had made a mistake and allowed us to book the room but they were committed to honoring the reservation! We were fortunate to be booked into the motel full of welcoming, friendly songwriters. As we walked down the hall to our room we were greeted with hellos, smiles and beautiful sounds of music coming from bedrooms. We were warned that our room was right next to one of the makeshift recording studio's and it may keep us awake. No worries. We were in bed by midnight. Only a few songwriters were there when we returned. Most were still in the bars making music! We had a nice chat with the songwriters who had returned from the bars. They seemed to had heard that we were going to be there- saying something like "oh, your THE couple" like we were the celebrities! We left by 10 AM and the songwriters were still all snug in their beds!

We were so impressed that the owners of this motel would honor their commitment to our reservation. Although we certainly didn't belong among the talent that was staying at the motel that weekend, we were warmly welcomed and accepted by those who we encountered.

We would recommend this motel to anyone who wants to stay in a motel that has great accommodations, interesting people and honorable motel owners.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jbftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Very unique hotel, and love the retro decorating. The beds were amazingly comfortable...clearly not from the 50s! We stayed on the first floor and did deal with paper thin ceilings from the room above. Luckily they went to bed at a reasonable time. The room was a bit small, super clean except for the carpet...lots of wear and tear and stains. I noticed some of the other rooms that I walked by when they were being cleaned had newer carpet in them. The bathroom was impeccably clean...you could literally eat off the floor. Wonderful shower with lots of hot, soft water. Loved the soap dispensers! Would stay here again, but probably only for one night to take in the experience. Too small for a long stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
1.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
537 reviews
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
331 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Music Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Music Motel

Address: 30 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Green Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: £40 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Music Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County's first motel has been lovingly restored. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great amenities, low rates, and an unbeatable location. We host live music weekly all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Music Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Music Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing