We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Maritime Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Rooms clean and comfortable, but housekeeping is sloppy. Skip the discusting and poorly managed free breakfast. Hot tub was more like a cesspool filled with kids and floating mystery globs of who knows what. Price definitely too high for the accomadations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    174
    84
    28
    11
See reviews for
190
173
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Mediocre room nothing special. Gross breakfast not much to be thrilled about. Over chlorinated pool room and Luke warm hot tub at best. Okay to stay at for just a room, if you are out sight seeing most of the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foley, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We found the Best Western Maritime Inn an average, run-of-the-mill style hotel that Best Western is known for. Average accomodations, average cleanliness, average breakfast...but high prices for those average things. We stayed here only because of lack of other available hotels in Sturgeon Bay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USNavyVet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was the perfect stop for a Minneapolis Couple traveling with two small dogs on their first visit to Door County. Our room was a double Queen with Frig and easy access to the door. It was all and more than I had expected from a Best Western. The staff was friendly and very helpful even recommending places to walk our dogs, eat and providing us with the forgotten bottle opener- I loved the morning coffee and continental breakfast as it was set up and ready early in the morning.
Rooms were spacious and clean! What more can one want!!

Room Tip: Make a reservation during - you never know when a tour bus will stop- and we felt bad for those turn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Extremely overpriced for what you get. Filthy rooms, ours had hair all over the carpet & bath. Discourteous house keeping staff. Breakfast was mediocre and had to wait for food items and utensils to be restocked.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Randal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The staff and the facilities at the Maritime Inn are what keep us coming back. And that is 26 years in a row. They always treat our group as if we were something special. The parking is great for our classic cars. The hotel staff monitors the lot during the night. The meeting area is great for our group. The rooms are neat and clean and easily accessable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Rodknock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Staff made the place worthwhile...not the place I thought I wanted to stay after a previous visit to the area...nothing "maritime" about it except some of the artwork in the lobby...wanted water or near...looked like log cabin veneer from the outside...not that that made a difference...so freekin tired after driving and teaching classes I just booked it from McDonalds across the street since internet and 4G sucked so bad up there... bonus...right across the street from Anytime Fitness and an awesome "Neighborhood Pub & Grill"...very convenient...staff and comfortable room made all the difference in the world and would stay there again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank streetmed911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.4 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
15.1 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
232 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
306 reviews
14.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Maritime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Maritime Inn

Property: Best Western Maritime Inn
Address: 1001 N 14th Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Maritime Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Maritime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Maritime Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Best Western Sturgeon Bay
Sturgeon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing