We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Thoughts ..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Maritime Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mixed Thoughts ..”
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Had a good initial experience (free upgrade to a whirlpool room, nice front desk staff). Rooms are dated, but clean. Continental breakfast was merely carbs -- bagels, english muffins, white toast, oatmeal, and a little waffle maker with cups of batter. Would have liked some fruit or other options -- The hotel has non-smoking rooms (which smell fine) but the hallways and common areas are not non-smoking, so the smell put us off a bit. Walking down to the front desk in the morning, we found the housekeeping staff holding a meeting in the lobby, with the door to their laundry room wide open -- seemed like an unlikely place to have a meeting, but overall .. it was okay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pharmernicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    174
    84
    28
    11
See reviews for
190
173
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We spent a Sunday night at this hotel as part of a get-away weekend in Door County. The hotel is older but has been updated (carpeting, drapes, furniture) recently it appeared. Everything was clean and functioning well. The room (two queen bed) was roomy and had a micro and refrigerator (with a larger than usual freezer compartment). The pool area had lots of big windows and the pool was nice and warm. There were very few people staying that night but the complimentary breakfast was nicer than we expected - not only the usual muffins, bagels, cereals, etc. but also waffles and microwave omelets! Every staff member was very friendly. The room was only $49 that night which we felt was a very good value for the Door County area even off season.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmadiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland wi
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2009

I would just like to say that i had the best time ever on my little get away. Im disablied so they made sure first floor room and near a door so i could get my gear in. Im a photography buff and they went out of there way to make sure i had all the info i needed about the area so i could go right at it in the morning. they gave me ideas on where to eat extra coffee and a awesome breakfast I will be back in spring and will be staying there they alson gave me a Great price on the room and made sure it got paid ect i got my card ate on a atm machine. so anyone looking for a great place to stay stop there and you will not be sorry

  • Liked — Freindly
  • Disliked — could have been cleaned a bit more in common areas
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank workinprogress101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
1,279 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,400 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

I was very surprised by this hotel. Though online it looks nice, in person it looks even better! Our room was on the second floor. It was spacious, with 2 queens, a dresser, table/2 chairs, frig, microwave. One luggage rack. Everything seemed fairly new and it was kept clean. Very generous with towels. Everything worked-lights, TV, TV remote, frig, microwave, plugs, locks etc.! It is located near a lot of amenities, and very close (5 minutes) to the river, which leads to either Lake MI or Green Bay. The breakfast was decent. Staff friendly, but poor on directions/knowledge. The indoor pool room is very nice. Pool temp was just right. Good hot tub. Towels provided. Great, large breakfast area, that can be used later in the day for games, gatherings, TV viewing (large screen TV), and the arcade is in this area. Lobby provides free coffee 24/7. A computer is also available by signing in to check your email-30 minute limit. We were very happy and comfortable here at this Best Western.

  • Liked — Decor, location
  • Disliked — Staff could not manage to give good directions.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

My spouse stayed here when a family member was hospitalized. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful or considerate. They offered a half-off rate immediately, which was incredibly nice. Staff were friendly and solicitous. The rooms, while needing updating, were clean and decently appointed. The bed was comfortable. Location was great for restaurants (shopping had we been interested) and the hospital. For one or two nights, this is a good motel choice in Sturgeon Bay.

  • Liked — staff helpfulness; excellent room rate
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

I was in Sturgeon Bay for a funeral and needed a place to stay. I had contacted quite a few different properties and found rates that were high. ( Door County on a weekend) I contacted Best Western and was provided a great rate. I was also able to get into my room early and drop my stuff off so I wouldn't have to leave the funeral. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. From the point of making the reservation over the phone, to checking out. I will recommend this proerty to anyone needing a place to stay in Sturgeon Bay. It isn't fancy or big, but it is a nice to place to sleep and close enough to the highway if you are just passing through.

  • Liked — Price and Customer Service
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smurf2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2007

Hospitality was Great. I booked a weekend at Best Western, because they claimed to have a work out room and a bar/lounge and a restaurant on site. Though when I arrived I found none of these features. Best Western Maritime Inn must correct this false claim.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Fals Advertisement
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank WisconsinMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.4 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
15.1 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
232 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
306 reviews
14.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Maritime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Maritime Inn

Property: Best Western Maritime Inn
Address: 1001 N 14th Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Maritime Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Maritime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Maritime Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Best Western Sturgeon Bay
Sturgeon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing