We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2nd stay - and will stay again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Garden Gate is such a pleasant place. Great location - as it's the first place on the island - and it's an easy out when you're wrapping up. My girlfriend and I stay in the Garden Suite room. And it's perfect. Spacious and not overly decorated like some B&Bs can be. Robin is so pleasant and is always there when you need her. Selections of frosted pound cake and the most AMAZING chocolate cake were on tap this particular weekend. Breakfasts of egg/potato/ham souffle on Saturday and cherry stuffed French toast on Sunday were both exceptional. Be sure to take your breakfast muffin to go - it's PERFECT for 2PM that afternoon - and no lunch needed as we squeeze additional savings out of the weekend (we did it both days). The movie selection is great as always - the new flat TVs have brought the property up a notch. Overall - this is the place to stay in Door County. Robin wasn't quite fully on her game with restocking the fridge, but I know she'll be on it next time. If you're looking to go to Door County for the first time, this is the place. And if you're looking for a better deal than some otherwise overly priced B&Bs, give this place a try.

Room Tip: The Lavender Room has an awesome terrace. . . But we stay in the Garden Suite and we love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

All the reviews of this B & B are accurate! Robin is a fantastic hostess and makes a tasty, filling breakfast each morning. We never had to eat lunch while in Door County. We always took her muffins with us each day and ate them after hiking, biking, etc... Each evening there was always a different cake to snack on. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very clean. So glad we stayed here for 6 days,. I would definitely recommend this to anyone going to Door County.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CABurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a really great breakfast everything made from scratch. We even had 3 homemade cakes to snack on in the evening and morning along with drinks, movies, music and books. Robin is a wonderful hostess and has a beautiful victorian home.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We had a wonderful time staying with Robin at her bed and breakfast. We wanted to explore Door County and this was a great location to make the complete circle. Robin was warm and welcoming and is a terrific cook. She made us fabulous breakfasts staying within our dietary restrictions - and believe me that is not easy. She even packed us muffins and cake to take with us for the afternoons. The room was very comfortable and we chose the one with the whirlpool bath for 2. It was very relaxing after a long day of exploration. We even had a little patio to sit out and enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara6225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at the Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast. Robin was wonderful and full of surprises in helping us celebrate. She invited us in and we felt like we were part of the family. Breakfast was awesome, delicious, filling!! We plan to go back next summerl

Room Tip: The Lavendar Room was very beautiful and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My Wife and I stayed for 3 nights for our 15th anniversary. The entire home was immaculately clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the rooms are very quiet. The whirlpool in the Lavender room was so romantic and relaxing (and super clean too). The breakfasts were very good and filling, we didn't need to buy lunch any of the days we were there. The desserts in the evening were so yummy, and adds something unique to this B&B. We've stayed at others and have never been offered dessert. Nice selection of movies to watch. The location was great, just a short drive north to any of the tourist attractions. Robin was very friendly and we felt very comfortable in her home. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Robin and the Garden Gate B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed in the Lavender room. I liked the decor and the whirlpool tub for 2 and balcony with table & chairs were well worth the extra $20. Robin was friendly and she really does know how to cook & bake!! My boyfriend enjoyed her Mexican Chocolate cake and I loved the Piña Colada muffins. We will defiantly be going back for another stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.7 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
20.1 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
15.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Foxglove Inn
The Foxglove Inn
#2 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
141 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chanticleer Guest House
Chanticleer Guest House
#5 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
165 reviews
20.9 mi away
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 434 N 3rd Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: £86 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Gate is a premier Victorian bed and breakfast. It welcomes you with its friendly hospitality and elegant breakfast served every morning in the dining room, accompanied by music and candlelight. End your day with an evening dessert...a good night's sleep and dream about your breakfast..Because.."Breakfast is our Signature" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing