We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great experience”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We received two nights here as a wedding present. It was our first B&B experience, and we loved it! The room was clean,the breakfast was excellent, and our host, Robin, provided first-class service. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    42
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
264
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I have stayed in several B&B's and this is one of the best. Robin is an excellent host and excellent cook. The breakfast's were wonderful and the evening treats were awesome. Our room was nicely decorated and spotless. Robin gave us some excellent dinner recommendations and other travel trips. The Garden Gate is within an easy walk of downtown Sturgeon Bay which has several nice eateries. We also attended a play at the local theater. Sturgeon Bay was a great place to stay for our Door County vacation. We are already planning ahead for next summer to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparta49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level Contributor
357 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Robin, the owner, is wonderfully hospitable. We enjoyed the Lavender Room with its two-person whirlpool, the outdoor deck, accessible from our room, and those heavenly breakfasts. There is also a refrigerator stocked with soft drinks and more. That's a nice touch. Robin is quick to familiarize you with things to do and see in the Door County area. Lovely stay.

Room Tip: The Lavender Room has a wonderful two person whirlpool and an outside deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Spend 3 nights here in the English Lavender room. Most Excellent. Beautiful accommodations, very comfortable bed and the 6 ft. Whirlpool (with complimentary bath salts!) was extraordinary. I'm 6'3" and it was delightful. The breakfasts were terrific but be warned: Safe the muffins for later in the day or you may not be able to finish breakfast. Robin's knowledge of the area was invaluable and her baking skills are a 10 for sure. Every night something freshly prepared was served with coffee or tea. Many little touches to make every moment perfectly enjoyable...Don't let the location fool you. This is a top of the line B&B in every way. In the words of Arnold Schwarzenneger: "We'll be Back"
PEACE

Room Tip: Go for the Whirlpool room; a great way to finish your daily activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobHartung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Necedah, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The gate of the Garden Gate B&B is indeed welcoming. Robin the owner of the B&B is very pleasant and makes your stay so special. We celebrated our 41st anniversay there and we were treated to delcious and plentiful breakfasts and wonderful desserts in the evening. The Victorian styled Garden Gate is one you should not miss. TS & LS

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We had a great time, loved the The homemade goodies! Would go back again. The rooms were clean. It was very relaxing. Robin was a great hostess. Her muffins are worth the stay. It was easy to find, beautiful home

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Our 3-night stay at this B&B was spectacular! Robin is a true delight. The rooms, food and atmosphere were all 5-star. Our morning breakfast was the highlight of our day; Robin's food, her charm, and meeting the other guests was a great experience. When we return to Door County, this is where we'll stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Lavender" and "Vintage Rose" - choose any room - you cannot go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BandDNaperville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.7 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.0 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Music Motel
Holiday Music Motel
#1 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
The Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 434 N 3rd Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Gate is a premier Victorian bed and breakfast. It welcomes you with its friendly hospitality and elegant breakfast served every morning in the dining room, accompanied by music and candlelight. End your day with an evening dessert...a good night's sleep and dream about your breakfast..Because.."Breakfast is our Signature" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing