We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Our group of 4 couples stayed here on a Sat night and enjoyed the experience immensely. Robin, our hostess, couldn't have been more pleasant. She accommodated all of our special requests and comfortably joined our conversation in the living room while we sipped wine and enjoyed her evening sweets. The rooms are clean and charming- all in keeping with the overall Victorian theme (except for the TV, DVD player and Wi-Fi in each room). Towels were soft, beds comfortable and coffee hot in the morning. She moved the breakfast up an hour for us, because we needed to be back on our bikes for our return trip. The fruit dish was heavenly, followed by a delicious individual egg casserole and home made muffins- too much for one meal- took muffins with us for lunch. If back in Sturgeon Bay, I'd definitely do it again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billgo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    42
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
264
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2012

It's so nice to stay at a bed and breakfast where you can mingle with the other guests. My fiance and I went up here for Labor Day weekend without an agenda. We really had no clue what to do. Well that all changed once we met the other guests at breakfast and listened to their wonderful experiences they had. It's a quaint victorian house in a small farmer town that really gives the B&B it's charm. Thanks for the post-visit card and picture, Robin! Many wishes for your continued success!

Room Tip: Every room has a style all it's own and the scent of fresh baked goods in the hallway. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TooleTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

What a lovely introduction to the Door County community! Our first stay at a B&B in the area. Such an unexpected treat. Impeccable and charming accommodations. Beautiful and delicious dining service. Warm and inviting hospitality. We look forward to returning and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay in Sturgeon Bay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Czerina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Robin, the host? Aces! Great breakfast, great host. greats all who attend breakfast and makes them comfortable. Advice regarding touring was impeccable. She knows the area and can recommend great places.

Room Tip: Any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We loved our stay, Robin's breakfasts were delightful and we never left the table wanting for more. Our room was the lavender room, we loved the balcony and sat there every night, eating the cakes freshley baked by Robin every day. Sitting at the breakfast table every moring it was a pure delight to see how Robin laid out her table and my mother being English loved the china cups and saucers, drinking her tea out of china was wonderful, the food was fantastic. We loved Robin's conversations she was the perfect host and her house was a pleasure to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We received two nights here as a wedding present. It was our first B&B experience, and we loved it! The room was clean,the breakfast was excellent, and our host, Robin, provided first-class service. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I have stayed in several B&B's and this is one of the best. Robin is an excellent host and excellent cook. The breakfast's were wonderful and the evening treats were awesome. Our room was nicely decorated and spotless. Robin gave us some excellent dinner recommendations and other travel trips. The Garden Gate is within an easy walk of downtown Sturgeon Bay which has several nice eateries. We also attended a play at the local theater. Sturgeon Bay was a great place to stay for our Door County vacation. We are already planning ahead for next summer to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparta49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.7 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.0 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Music Motel
Holiday Music Motel
#1 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
The Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 434 N 3rd Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Gate is a premier Victorian bed and breakfast. It welcomes you with its friendly hospitality and elegant breakfast served every morning in the dining room, accompanied by music and candlelight. End your day with an evening dessert...a good night's sleep and dream about your breakfast..Because.."Breakfast is our Signature" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing