We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B...Excellent food and relaxing atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B...Excellent food and relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We loved our stay in Door County at the Garden Gate. Robin is an excellent host. Our meals were fit for a king. In all of our experiences over the past 17 years of visiting B &B's, Garden Gate ranks right up there. My husband didn't walk away from the breakfast table hungry, that is for sure. The rooms are cozy and clean. Robin provided excellent desserts at night and coffee outside of our room in the morning.
The location is good and it is less than 20 miles to Egg Harbor. All in all, this is a B & B worth checking out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dplbreihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    45
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
276
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was the first time my husband and i went to Door County and the first time staying at a bed and breakfast. I have to say a great experience for both. Our hostess Robin made our stay!!! She let us know the nooks and crannies of the county and gave spot on directions to get there. Garden Gate is a gorgeous, clean, and well maintained home. The breakfasts are devine and the rooms awesome!!! Robin is a great women who pays attention to details and her guests. She'll make you feel right at home, great conversationalist as well. We are planning our next trip, can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nice, but our favorite was the Lavender Room!!! The whirlpool tub is the bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

If you are looking for a b & b to stay at in Door County, stop looking right now....make it easier on yourself and just confidently book a room at Garden Gate. Whomever you bring with you will thank you for it. First of all, Robin is an awesome, inspirational person and great host for your stay. The breakfasts that she will make you every morning are perfectly satisfying and delicious. Plus, you'll enjoy great conversation each morning. The rooms and house itself are inviting, very clean, and filled with gorgeous, antique furniture. You will be within a quick walk to downtown Sturgeon Bay to take in a movie, show, or have a perfect dinner at the newest hotspot in town called Restaurant 136. If you want to drive north into Door County, this B & B is situated on a road that leads right into a scenic, yet safe county back road that will easily lead you right into Egg Harbor to start your day of shopping after breakfast. We'll be back!

Room Tip: English Lavender room is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakeMeaSandwich2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedar hill tx
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We loved our stay at Garden Gate. Robin knows everything about what to see and do in Door County. The house is charming and so is she. We were greeted with pear pie and mint chocolate chip cookies in the evening. Breakfast was really good and the table setting was beautiful.Would visit again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kethab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allegan, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We felt at home and welcome as soon as we met Robin. The breakfasts were wonderful and the dessert at night was an unexpected treat. I mentioned I liked cookies and the next night we had them. This was our first time at a Bed and Breakfast and it was a great experience. Would stay there again if we get back up that way.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We just completed a two-night stay at Garden Gate. Our host, Robin, honored a credit we've had for more than two years. She's very warm and personable--and quite a good cook. Baking is her specialty, though. Upon our arrival, we were treated to a wonderful, moist pineapple cake. Then, in the morning, we enjoyed zucchini muffins and an excellent egg & vegetable quiche. She offered helpful tips for dining and sightseeing and was always eager to interact with all of the guests. We highly recommend Garden Gate to anyone who wants to visit Door County.

Tim & Kim Adornetto

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wild Rose--the biggest and best room at Garden Gate. Try to book this room, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at this great place for 4 nights and it was a wonderful experience. Robin is so pleasant and accommodating and is a great cook! Her B&B is comfortable, clean & filled with beautiful antique furniture and her garden is fun to enjoy. We had a different breakfast each morning & so delicious! After a day of visiting the Door County scenery and attractions we came back to home cooked pies, cookies, cakes and brownies and they all were so tasty!! Highly recommend you visit Robin!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.7 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
15.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
767 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chanticleer Guest House
Chanticleer Guest House
#5 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
Diplomat Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 434 N 3rd Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Gate is a premier Victorian bed and breakfast. It welcomes you with its friendly hospitality and elegant breakfast served every morning in the dining room, accompanied by music and candlelight. End your day with an evening dessert...a good night's sleep and dream about your breakfast..Because.."Breakfast is our Signature" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing