We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first ever B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Our first ever B&B”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I wanted to get away for one night so we thought we would love to see Door County.....I read the reviews on Garden Gate B&B and thought we would try it. Robin was the perfect hostess from the time we arrived until we left. She gave us so much information to see and do and her B&B was beautiful.. She was so enjoyable to talk to while we were having our breakfast and such a lovely lady. She made sure we got or needed for anything. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a relaxation or fun time in Sturgeon Bay. Thank you so much Robin and hope to see you again soon. Bill and Kookie Jones

Room Tip: the lavender room was beautiful with a double jauzzi and a balcony all for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kookie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    43
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
267
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shawano, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I needed a place to stay while i working at BayShip right across the street. I never thought of staying at a B&B, but I am glad I did. Walking in the place was very clean and the decor was refreshing. Robin was easy to talk to and very sociable. I think the best part of staying there was Robins delicious cooking.From a great breakfast to the scrumptious desserts that she puts out at night

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have fallen for the charm and personality of the B&B experience--and Garden Gate definitely tops the list. From the warm welcome at the door to the stunningly appointed main-floor and the effortless check-in process, and on to the stunning Lavender Room: the first impressions were those of warm, welcome and an invitation to savor. Savor the amenities of the antique queen bed, the en-suite swirltub, the delicate chocolate treats (from brownies to Ghirardelli squares placed about the room).

Savor time together, time apart from the normal pace of life--and most of all savor all the great options that are available in Sturgeon Bay, many within walking distance from the doorstep of Garden Gate.

Breakfast--oh my word--SAVOR your breakfast! Come hungry and be prepared to savor tasty treats from fresh pastries to hashbrown quiche...

Also--while this visit was sans our kiddo--I, especially, appreciated that Robin does welcome little ones (ours is 18 months) into her B&B. Its nice to know that at least one B&B where we are all welcome to visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramee151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraboo, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I took a last minute weekend trip for our anniversary. I was searching for a place to stay during our drive up to Door County. Almost everything was booked or way out of our price range. Until I found the Garden Gate. I called and Robin was very personable and friendly. We arrived and she was there to greet us, giving us a quick tour of her lovely home and taking us to our room. Robin truly opens her home to her guests and makes you feel comfortable from the time you enter the door. And she is an amazing cook. Breakfast starts with fruit and/or yogurt with muffins, then on to the main course. Everything is hot, fresh, and delicious. She had a full house and everyone sat down together and got to know a little about one another. Robin regaled us with tales of strawberry picking for the local farmers and even a few of her family anecdotes. The Garden Gate accommodations are very comfortable and we slept like a rock. Also the location is easy to find not far from downtown Sturgeon Bay and very quiet. It's only a short drive to anywhere in Door County, so we think it's the perfect spot for a 'home base". Let Robin take care of your creature comforts so you can concentrate on the important things - family and time together exploring beautiful Door County.

Room Tip: Reserve early!!! It was a fluke she had a room for us in 2013. Reserving now for the same weekend be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleXtina6154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Allis, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Robin greeted us at the door with a friendly smile and some amazing chocolate cake. The room was beautiful and the breakfast's very yummy and filling. It is February in Wisconsin, so it was cold outside, but the fireplace and swirlpool tub kept us warm. The bed was comfy and the pillows worth taking with us (but we didn't :) ) We took the winery tour and had a blast. We will definitely return to Sturgeon Bay and are already planning to make Robin's place an annual visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauconda, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Over the years we talked about staying at a B&B, and finally we did! What a perfect and wonderful choice was Garden Gate In Sturgeon Bay. It is beautiful, charming and located in a perfect spot for touring Door County. The nearby shipyard is fascinating, along with the Maritime Museum, and downtown--almost right outside your door--has great food and shopping, too. Robin, the innkeeper, was a gracious hostess and a superb cook filling us with delicious food. We loved it and highly recommend Garden Gate for a memorable getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyRossHessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We've stayed with Robin all four of the times that we toured Door County. Each time we used it as a sort of base camp to return to after a day's touring. After our first visit it was a no brainer to stay during subsequent trips. We like the Lavender room with it's relaxing Whirl Pool bath tub and the private out door porch over the entry to the Inn. A perfect place for a bottle of wine, a piece of Robin's chocolate cake and each other, before a quiet sleep. Breakfast is served around a large table in the formal dining room. Robin's breakfast is always wonderful: fresh fruit, hot coffee and tea and a generous and tasty egg dish which varies day to day as well as a warm muffin to take with you for later. It is the sort of breakfast my mother might have made were she to have been as good a cook as Robin. The only bad thing I can say about Garden Gate is calling too late to be able to stay there all three nights during this visit. DH & SG St Paul, MN

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.7 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
15.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
357 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
742 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chanticleer Guest House
Chanticleer Guest House
#4 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
156 reviews
20.9 mi away
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 434 N 3rd Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Gate is a premier Victorian bed and breakfast. It welcomes you with its friendly hospitality and elegant breakfast served every morning in the dining room, accompanied by music and candlelight. End your day with an evening dessert...a good night's sleep and dream about your breakfast..Because.."Breakfast is our Signature" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing