We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay(Sturgeon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Maritime Inn(Sturgeon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort(Sturgeon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Music Motel(Sturgeon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snug Harbor Inn(Sturgeon Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
331
46
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
331
46
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavender roomchocolate cakeb bfresh flowersevening dessertcherry winedoor countyafternoon snackwonderful cookvintage rosecookiescherry french toastother guestsegg casseroleship yardthe perfect hostroom was beautifully decorated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Wow - where to start. My husband and I have stayed at many B&Bs and this is definitely one of our faves. Robin is a fabulous innkeeper - so welcoming and friendly - we could not have asked for anything more. We stayed two nights in the Cottage Rose room - which was very charming and comfortable. But the real star of the show (besides Robin) is her food - the breakfasts were superb (the cherry french toast and baked eggs were delicious) and the breads and desserts were out of this world. A new dessert was waiting for us each evening in our room and we're still dreaming about the chocolate, chocolate chip bundt cake - yum. The inn is conveniently located and I would definitely recommend staying here if you're visiting Door County.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddygirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

The Garden Gate B&B is a charming place to spend a night or a week. I wish we were able to stay for more than two nights.
The house is decorated very nicely along with the bedrooms. Outside the bedrooms there is a small fridge to keep your drinks cold, and freshly baked cake. The breakfast was wonderful. If we find ourselves in Door County again, I want to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Our innkeeper, Robin, was a wonderful hostess, and the Garden Gate is a cute, very well-kept B&B. The rooms were adorable and had everything we could need from fireplace to DVD's and CD's and even snacks, right outside our rooms. The breakfasts were delicious, Robin is a great cook. We had a great two days attending the Farmers' Market, the "Ladderhouse Bar", which Eli Matteson was playing at, the "Boomerbaby Show". We would highly recommend Garden Gate to anyone visiting Door County.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling50yrolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

This B&B is charming and appointed with lots of nice ammenities. We enjoyed the clean accomodations, filling breakfasts, and scrumptious desserts available in the evenings. We never went hungry. Each room has a TV with VCR or DVD player and plenty of movies to choose from. We appreciated the snacks available for us and the availability of a mini-refrigerator if we needed one.

Robin is very friendly and has a lot of knowledge about what to do and see in the area. We stopped at numerous places she suggested and weren't disappointed.

We weren't sure what to expect when we saw the ship building plant across the way, but it was never an issue. The B&B is in a prime location for walking around Sturgeon Bay. Her gardens are lovely and she promised to share some seeds with us from one of her unique plants. Robin also sent us a picture she took of us inside her home so we have a remembrance of our time there. She really goes above and beyond for her guests. My husband and I highly recommend the Garden Gate B&B to all visitors planning a stay in Door County.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank urbana62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

This was our second stay at the garden gate, and we felt like we were visiting an old friend. Robin, our innkeeper, was warm and cordial to us and the other guests dining at breakfast. The breakfasts were varied and so good and bountiful that we did not need to bother with lunch! Her cherry custard french toast should be a classic Door county recipe, if it isn't already. Robin adjusted her egg dish to suit our taste, and it was tasty and satisfying. Fresh cake was under glass upstairs by our room each evening. Robin was hosting musicians for the steel bridge music festival, and it was fun talking to them and later, seeing them perform. Putting up the musicians was not only a nice act of community service, but made us feel more a part of this grass roots festival of songwriting and performing. We were able to walk to all the venues and save ourselves the trouble of parking, since the B&B is close to downtown, the shipyards, and the steel bridge. Returning to the B&B at night, we could peek into the shipyards and see the luxury yachts under construction.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeaverDamGardenlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews