We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good..however”
Review of Grey Stone Castle

Grey Stone Castle
Ranked #22 of 85 Restaurants in Sturgeon Bay
Restaurant details
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food was good..however”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our server was very friendly! The prime rib sandwich was very good and the deep fried mushrooms were even better! My however is that the place could use some cleaning! Sitting in a booth and looking out the window was not good, did make me wonder what the kitchen looks like!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    57
    16
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elroy, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Trust the locals!!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Asked at our hotel good place to eat within walking distance. They suggested Gray Stone Castle. It's a tavern but has seating in the back a lot if taxidermy. The food was DELICIOUS!! Husband had the prime rib and it was a roast I had steak and stuffed shrimp was very good. Beer was cold and drinks were great. Would for sure go back!!

Helpful?
4 Thank 868JackieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A ton of bang for the buck!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Don't let the exterior fool you. The food was amazing. My husband had the prime rib and said it had wonderful flavor. I had the cod plate which was lightly breaded and flakey. Will return.

Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valders, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great time - great owners”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stopped prior to check-in due to arriving too early, returned later that evening for the Badger game and dined on Sunday with their burger special - great food and great people.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Finally!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

After 29 years of visiting Door County, I finally had the guts to go into the Grey Stone Castle. It wasn't scary at all! Great taxidermy and friendly bartender.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grey Stone Castle also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Grey Stone Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing