We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Door County getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chanticleer Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect Door County getaway”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was our first time at Chanticleer and I can safely say it won't be the last. The 70-acre property is beautifully maintained and our cabin, the Tamarack, was super clean and tidy. The four cabins that are part of Chanticleer are across the road, gathered around a pond yet all positioned in such a way that they're very private. We spent a lot of time on our porch, admiring the fall leaves and the amazing stars at night. Bryon, one of the owners, was very helpful with local recommendations and was good at gauging how much helped we wanted. We would have wished for slightly more balanced and filling breakfasts (we found the overall portions to be either too small, or simply an odd assortment of food), but this is a minor complaint. The owners are celebrating 20 years of being in business in October 2013, which is a testament to the staying power of the hospitality they provide.

Room Tip: Tamarack cabin was perfect -- not over-the-top in florals and doilies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    9
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
122
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It's been 2 1/2 years since we've been here. Then we decided lets go for our anniversary. What a wonderful decision. We stayed in one of the smaller cabins. What a wonderful way to get away from life. It's absolutly magical. We've gone to many other places since our last stay at the Chanticleer and none of them match up. We love the walks on the trails and seeing how much wildlife we can see. Deer, turkeys, cranes, they're all there!! The owners are friendly and will talk with you if you want them to or leave you alone if that's what you choose. Breakfast is just enough to get your day started. We will definatly go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My partner and I visited in July for a little R&R and to check out Door County. Each room, each cabin, is unique, and we stayed in the Loft in the main house, with a nice porch for breakfast and good view of the grounds. Rooms are immaculate. Breakfast is delicious, delivered to your door. The pool is warm, and the grounds (a working sheep farm) are beautiful. The innkeepers couldn't be more welcoming and helpful -- great guys and great hosts. We also saw a cabin, and they look great too. Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: The Loft room was great -- nice view of the grounds and porch for summer breakfast and reading. Lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayChicagotrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed in the Loft. My wife loved it, and I liked it. It's very clean and has a nice two-person jacuzzi. There's a nice deck where you can check out the entire property while eating one of their delicious breakfasts. I'd say the breakfasts were the highlight- we were there 3 days and each day they had an excellent hot breakfast delivered to our door, and each breakfast was totally different from the others. I'm a dog guy, and it was cool how our first day we were eating breakfast on the deck and Darrin and Bryon's dog Jack came bounding up to check us out and greet us. He's such a nice little dog!

My only problem with the Loft was the bathroom. All they have is a glass door and it's a small area up there so privacy was an issue. Also, if you're a very tall person the Loft might not be for you because I'm around 5'11" and I nearly banged my head on the sloped ceilings a few times getting in and out of bed. Also, the TV is difficult to see because there's a big column in the middle of the room, but on vacation you're not watching a lot of TV so it's not that big of a deal. However, if those things are important to you I'd suggest a different room than the Loft.

The outside is really very nice. They have a working sheep farm so if you're used to pavement under your feet like I am it's cool to wander out and watch some sheep and walk the grounds. They also have some nice comfort bikes where if you're so inclined you can ride into town and check out the shipyards and the local stores. It's only about a 2 mile ride so it's not very taxing.

Overall, a really nice experience. Darrin and Bryon are excellent hosts, the breakfast (not to mention the warm cookies they have in the house and the barn areas) is fantastic, and they have a nice pool/sauna and some cool farm life. We would definitely stay there again because while I had minor gripes about the Loft, overall it was a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redbird_Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just spent 3 nights in the Stable Suite for our babymoon. The place is idyllic. Darrin and Bryon have create a gorgeous Garden of Eden in Door County. We took several long walks on the grounds just to soak it all in. The suite itself was amazing. It had a large sitting area, a two-person walk in shower, a jacuzzi tub and comfy king size bed. The bed was a little high, so I had to help my pregnant wife in and put of it. That might be tough for people with mobility issues. Once in the bed, we slept soundly.
A warm continental breakfast was delivered to the suite every morning. This might not work for those of you who stay in a bed and breakfast for the camaraderie with other guests. We appreciated the peace and solitude. We only had one quibble with our stay. My wife has gestational diabetes. I mentioned this in an email, and again when we checked in. 2 of the 3 mornings, we were given fruit bowls with added sugar and whipped cream on them. There was still enough for my wife to eat, so it was okay. If you have serious dietary restrictions, I would be sure to put a little reminder on your breakfast card each evening. (The time I did was the morning we got naked fresh fruit)
All in all, we had a wonderful time. If we are ever in Door County again, we will definitely stay at the Chanticleer.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This was our 5th time staying at Chanticleer, and we always thoroughly enjoy it.
The attention to detail is impressive, and we enjoy the country setting.

If weather permits, take a walk on the trail that goes back through the meadow and into the woods. Very serene. And if it’s chilly, just light up the fireplace for some warm charm. When it's sunny, the pool is a great way to spend the afternoon.

Sturgeon Bay is a nice way to experience Door County. You’re well into Door County, however there are more of the every day amenities available in Sturgeon Bay than further up on the peninsula. Egg Harbor, Fish Creek and Washington Island, are a short drive away up 42. Sturgeon Bay itself has a nice little downtown area with some great restaurants and shops.

While you’re there, we recommend taking a Segway Tour. Segway the Door has many different tours to choose from, and it’s a great way to experience the beauty of Door County.

We also had an opportunity to watch Jeremy Popelka and Stephanie Trenchard making blown glass in their studio on South Second Ave in Sturgeon Bay, and we would highly recommend that. We wound up spending the full two hours there watching them make 3 different beautiful pieces. They do that on Saturdays from 12 to 2.

Room Tip: We’ve stayed in the Grand Suite, the Meadows Suite, the Stable Suite and the Garden room. The only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gapoi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My husband and I received a gift certificate to this establishment. Little did we know just how great it was. Beautiful, quiet, and serine. Two days was not enough. We stayed in one of the cabins that was like home. Decorated very tastefully and immaculate. The grounds are just beautiful. Darin and Bryon are great inn keepers very warm and attentive but not obtrusive at all. I could live in those cabins Breakfast was tremendous. Homemade every morning. Don't second guess this place. A must stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Check out the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iceal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
1.0 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
22.4 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
693 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
434 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
193 reviews
13.7 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanticleer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanticleer Guest House

Property: Chanticleer Guest House
Address: 4072 Cherry Rd, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-8971
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanticleer Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chanticleer Guest House is located on 80 private acres, just north of Sturgeon Bay, WI. We offer 8 bed and breakfast suites, as well as 4 luxury cabins, for rent through out the year. Our in-ground heated pool is open from Memorial Day until Labor Day. All of our accommodations offer double whirlpool tubs, fire places, private bathrooms with showers and a delicious, homemade breakfast delivered to your room each morning. We are also a working sheep farm, with lambing season from March until May. Please contact us with questions and we hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Chanticleer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanticleer Guest House Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing