We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Superior
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Superior
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Probably one of the best HIE we've stayed. Super clean, quiet, and well appointed rooms. Great location convenient to everything. The staff was outstanding; very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful. We will definitely stay here from now on when in the Duluth area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnx, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. Our main goal is guest satisfaction and we are excited we met your needs. Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Superior
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We really enjoyed staying at the HIE in Superior. We liked that it was not in the center of everything but only a 5 minute drive across the bridge to get into downtown Duluth. The room was modern and clean. The service at the hotel was pleasant and we loved being able to enter and exit multiple ways. The complimentary breakfast was surprisingly pretty good. We just enjoyed our stay overall and was also able to make it up to Betty's Pies in Two Harbours in about 20 minutes. It was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Croomism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnx, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for leaving your feedback for us to read! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Guest satisfaction is our main goal and we are delighted we met your needs. We are glad you enjoyed our easy access location and the breakfast as well. Hopfuly we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Easy access location, good rates, clean rooms and courteous staff made for a very pleasant stay. I often stay at Holiday Inn Expresses and this location was clearly above average. Front desk folks were extremely helpful in providing directions and good local places to eat. I would definately stay at this location again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnx, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We are very happy to see you enjoyed our hotel! Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Positive feedback is a wonderful reminder of what we're doing well and how our hard work pays off! We are glad you enjoyed the location and breakfast and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Even though this hotel is just a block from busy US2, it is surrounded by homes and it's very quiet. Rooms are comfortable and clean. I stay at HIE's almost exclusively and have to say that many of the Minnesota properties are a little bit above some other locations in location and quietness.

Room Tip: Except for the first floor, I'd think they're all pretty quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bassn386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnx, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about our hotel. Wea re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we were able to meet your needs. Guest satisfaction is a main goal of our and we're happy to hear the hotel was nice and quiet allowing you to relax. We hope to see you the next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I will start by saying, the manager tried. The first room we were given was poorly cleaned, there were spots of blood on the pillow and sheets. Maybe someone cut their finger while changing the bed and didn't notice. But it turned me off about the room and hotel. I talked to the manager on duty, showed her the bed, and she switched the room and gave me a discount. We did stay the night, but the beds weren't good like the other holiday inns I've stayed at. It's time to renovate some rooms and get some pillow tops.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank MichiganBenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnx, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback about our hotel! We appreciate the time you set aside to forward your thoughts. We are deeply sorry to hear that your room was not the cleanest it could be. This review has been shared with the housekeeping staff and reminders to be extra careful making beds and paying close attention have been made. We hope to get the chance to host you at our hotel in the future and show you what customer satisfaction means to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here for a wedding over Labor Day weekend because the rates were slightly less than staying in Duluth which we should have because we had to pay to park over the 2 days everytime we went down to Canal Park for wedding events. Hotel was average and breakfast was below average.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megshanemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnx, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for leaving a review about our hotel! We are sorry to hear it was not completely up to your standards. The breakfast department has been notified of this critique and we are positive changes will be made for the better in the future. If ever you stay in the area again we hope to receive another chance to show you how much we appreciate our guests and their satisfaction!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We are frequent users of HIE and IHG chain when we travel. We thought this hotel would have a great view of Lake Superior. Did not. And if it had, it would have been at a distance. The ad did not directly claim lake views. But that is not the main reason for the "Average" rating.

We had the jacuzzi suite and expected one of the better mattresses. It was old and uncomfortable. The room itself was great and very spacious. It also seems that HIE has downgraded the breakfast menu as well.

We belong to the IHG points and are at a "high" level and the welcome was less than enthusiastic from the front desk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenLakerGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnx, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for logging on to rate our hotel! We are sorry to hear your stay was not the way you expected it to be. We apologize for your discomfort with the bed and are sorry to hear the breakfast did not exceed your expectations. Your comments have been forwarded to managment and we are confident the necessary changes have been made to better ensure guest satisfaction. We hope you'll stay with us again and see!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Superior
1.4 mi away
Best Western Bridgeview Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Superior Duluth
0.9 mi away
Barkers Island Inn
Barkers Island Inn
#6 of 9 in Superior
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#4 of 31 in Duluth
412 reviews
3.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
515 reviews
35.3 mi away
Super 8 Superior WI
Super 8 Superior WI
#1 of 9 in Superior
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Superior

Address: 303 2nd Ave E, Superior, WI 54880-3045
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Superior
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Superior
Price Range: £100 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Superior is located 1/2 block off HWY 53 on Second Avenue East. Near Barker's Island. 1 block West of Hwy 2. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Superior, WI and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Superior Hotel Superior
Holiday Inn Superior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing