We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The house that felt like home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thorp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Directions Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Thorp B&B and Inns
1 review
“The house that felt like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our family is quite spread out so when we do manage to come together our main goal is to enjoy
each others company. Cooking and eating where we stay is another thing we look for. This house provided a perfect fit for all of that. We have a family member who requires handicapped accessibility. She was very comfortable in her surroundings. If you're looking for high class accomodations this house may not be for you. But, if you're looking for the charm of small town hospitality with a clean, comfortable place to eat, sleep, and reminisce, you've found the spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The New Directions Guest House was a great alternative to a hotel/motel and offered more privacy than a bed and breakfast.The house had a "welcome home" feel to it. We enjoyed the comfortable beds,the platform rockers(4 in all) and the large bench on the front porch. Fresh flowers left outside the front. door through out the week was a delightful surprise. The owners David and Janet were helpful,informative and friendly without being intrusive. Walking distance to downtown and a well stocked grocery store-with deli
was an added bonus. Both my sister and I have booked the house for future visits to the Thorp area.

MCK Portland OR

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64MCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

My mom booked the house because she did not have space for all of us coming in from out of town for a wedding. It worked out great. It was clean and more relaxed and homey than staying in a hotel.

You can walk to main street. The owners are right next door and are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

New Directions Guest House is the closest thing to being at home! I travelled to Thorp for a family wedding with my sister, my 2 daughters and my grandson. There was more than enough bedrooms for all of us, 2 bathrooms and a kitchen with all the appliances you could ever want or need. And clean-it was fantastic! Not a speck of dust or dirt anywhere.

Beds were comfortable, as my daughters pointed out saying they were the best they have ever slept in. The towels were soft and felt good to the touch. Coffee and tea were stocked in the kitchen. And the special touch of owners Roger and Janet Korn was a bouquet of zinnias sitting on the kitchen table, picked from their garden earlier in the day.

It was the best place I have ever stayed in Wisconsin and I hope to make a return visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamera H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reidsville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We recently visited family and due to a large family we had to stay in town. It was like being at home. The house was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. We will not hesitate to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevis, MN
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a beautifully remodeled home on a quiet street a very short walk from Downtown Thorp. Everything was perfect for our family's short stay. The owners live right next door, and were happy to help us with anything...but totally respected our privacy. The beds were new & comfortable. Everything was spotless, smelled great, looked new. The kitchen was fully stocked. We'd highly recommend this for a family or couples on a country outing. You've never walked into a hotel room and said, "I could live here." But chances are that's what you'll say at the Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to New Directions Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Directions Guest House

Property: New Directions Guest House
Address: 207 W Main St, Thorp, WI 54771-9418
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Thorp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorp
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing