We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb every time”
Review of The Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holkham
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My partner and I have stayed here several times since the refurbishment last year, each time we both have enjoyed the stay even more.
The cleanliness of the rooms is perfect, the facilities provided and the extra little touches added makes it hard to leave; the finest teas and coffee, biscuits and pieces of rock.
I particularly enjoyed the residents lounge, it's a quiet place to relax with a fire and port with fellow residents.
The hotel is quiet at night, and comfortable during each season - air conditioned rooms in the eaves and once when we stayed in the winter, it was warm and cosy.

The restaurant itself is impressive, tastefully decorated with pleasant and friendly staff, the place has an atmosphere of a friendly country pub, although very up market. The prices are reasonably priced for the area. The breakfasts are amazing, I would recommend the omelette Arnold Bennett!

Would definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Room 10 is the biggest room, perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for a great review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your return visit as much as the last; we hope to see you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our trip to the Holkham beach lead us to this quaint pub, perfectly located opposite the Holkham beach and on the entrance to the park. One can't really miss this pub as its grandeur front and its elegant presence on the estate commands a visit to sample its delicacies.

Well after spending a good day at the beach we were ravenous for some hearty grub. Our visit was on sunday and therefore the pub was having a set menu predominantly seafood with a hint of Englishness. There was a shack outside the pub for outdoor lite lunches.

We tried locally sourced fish and chips and crab sandwich with garlic. The produce were fresh and it tasted gorgeous, the chips were prefectly shaped and chunky just the way it should be. There were other guests too and they all were tucking delicious seafood.

I have mentioned in my previous pub reviews that some of the pubs are trying to hard with intercontinental style menu but forget that our country can produce delicate flavours with locally sourced produce. The menu at the Victoria Inn was inspirational and definitely one where they could perhaps lead other pubs in their direction.

Importantly will I be back here? Definitely with shadow of a doubt... Its good to see the menu you guys have produced. 5 stars for their efforts and their service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank richierichworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

It’s fair to say that a great deal of time and effort went into the repositioning of the Victoria and managing that change has not been without it’s challenges which makes it all the more rewarding to read a review like this one from someone who clearly understands and appreciates all the hard work that has been put in by the Vic team. Thank you for your kind words, we all hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I am a travel and food writer and had only previously had coffee here - which was very good and we loved the ambiance and the way the place was designed with a nice outside area with very pleasant staff only too pleased to assist you in any way. We came back on Sunday 13th July for lunch. However, I thought the food was overpriced; standard of roast dinner was poor with tough meat and cold undercooked greens and roast potatoes like they should never have been such, in the first place. We observed other diners wrapping up the at for their dogs because of the unpleasant tough meat being inedible. The fish and chips dish was good; but no mushy peas and just what fish was this? I It had 'pink' areas and another table nearby complained to each other about their loster dishes being not good? What exactly was going on here? I do not mind paying a premium for what might be termed as a pub lunch, but I really do resent paying for substandard food. We did not complain at the time because we were with friends and it would have spoiled the day. I do expect this review to be taken as a positive criticism in the sense that it is based on an observational fact, rather as a negative put-down. We may well be very happy to return, but only if we get a reassurance from the management that this kind of thing will never happen again. Thank you for your attention.

Room Tip: I only know that the rooms are good, generally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Keith M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I am sorry to read that your recent visit did not live up to your previous experience, please be assured that your feedback is received in the positive manner intended and that it will be used to improve upon your experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your findings with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We visited for Sunday lunch as it was my birthday. Average experience. We were seated, as a couple, next to a table of 20. This meant all furniture around us had been moved, looked and felt odd. Booked over a month earlier so a table in the conservatory would have been nicer. Haddock chowder starter great, venison sausage roll bit dry, crab salad lovely but bacon steak was a second choice as told we couldn't have fish n chips as no fryers - only told fyers not working after being seated and ordering and starting our wine. Strange then when the table by us got fish n chips half hour later........ Overall an ok meal, so try if your nearby, but didn't feel whole lunch experience was worth what we paid and not a special birthday experience.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Avaughanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Victoria.
I am sorry to read that the table configuration detracted from your experience should you decide to visit us again in the future if you would like to specify your seating preference when booking we will of course do all we can to accommodate your requirements.
Unfortunately on the day of your visit we had an fault occur with our fryer, our catering engineer was on another call locally when we reported the fault to him but was unable to give us an accurate time to be with us or indeed if he would be able to rectify the fault, as it transpired he was with us in good time and quickly fixed the fault which enabled us to resume serving fish & chips reasonably quickly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We booked for 1 night recently at The Victoria Inn and had quite the most enjoyable brief stay there. We cannot fault any aspect of this establishment - it was intimate, warm and welcoming, with such a pleasant overall atmosphere. The staff there were all helpful, courteous, yet friendly but thoroughly professional too. The room was very special - beautifully decorated and furnished, as were all interiors of the Inn. We dined and had an excellent meal there that evening and, surprisingly, they even helped us celebrate my husband's birthday with a complimentary beer for him, which he had ordered and large candle on his chosen dessert! Everyone went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We loved it and can't wait to return - for longer next time!

Room Tip: Can recommend Room 2 but am sure others are equally attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for a great review, I am delighted that you enjoyed all that we have offer at the Victoria and will be sure to share your kind words with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent a brilliant Saturday evening in the lovely sunshine at the Victoria. The bar menu was delicious, substantial, and not over priced and service was prompt. Our bottle of wine was corked, however the staff were very kind and helpful in replacing this immediately. Great supper followed by a [badly played] game of darts and a relaxed atmosphere made for a super sunny Saturday - I would highly recommend this pub to any passer by!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LulieLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Great to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us, I am sure your darts can’t have been as bad as some we have seen, repairing and painting the wall by the board is certainly keeping our maintenance man busy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed here for the weekend for my birthday, what a great place. We had a room at the front where the views were fantastic and the beds really comfortable . Food in the restaurant was excellent my steak was the best I have ever had cooked to perfection, Staff were very helpful and attentive nothing was too much trouble for them. I will definitely be returning.
Thank you to everyone at the vic that made my birthday a really special one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chell369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your birthday weekend, I am delighted that the team were able to contribute so positively to your day.

Our very best wishes & a belated HAPPY BIRTHDAY from us all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holkham
3.9 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,351 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
706 reviews
8.2 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
652 reviews
13.6 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
897 reviews
12.7 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Address: Park Road, Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1RG, England (Formerly The Victoria Hotel at Holkham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea > Holkham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holkham
Price Range: £186 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the gateway to Holkham and the National Nature Reserve, The Victoria is a classic English inn owned by the Coke family and managed by the Holkham Estate. There are ten elegant, indivually designed and stylish bedrooms, all with en-suite bathrooms. We are ready to welcome more guests in spring 2015 with the addition of a further ten bedrooms just across the road from The Victoria in one of the oldest buildings on the Holkham Estate: Ancient House. The building has been converted to provide ten additional bedrooms, including four spacious family room. The sympathetic refurbishment has retained many of the building's original features, combining authentic charm with luxurious modernity. The bar and dining rooms at The Vic offer a relaxed blend of style and comfort. We serve delicious locally sourced food, much of it grown and raised on the estate, with a bold emphasis on freshness, simplicity and value. Holkham has been a leading agricultural estate since the 1800's when Thomas William Coke bought the site and the young Queen Victoria elevated him to the peerage in recognition of his contribution to farming in 1837. The name of the proposed new inn must have been inevitable when it opened its doors in 1838. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria At Holkham Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
Victoria At Holkham Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing