We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Victoria Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Hoste(Burnham Market)
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
295
154
87
47
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
295
154
87
47
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsholkham beachholkham halldrawing roomresidents loungefish and chipscomplimentary drinksbeefmashnorth norfolklong walkmain buildingwalk along the beachnature reserveburnham marketlog firerisottodog friendly hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

There seems to be a trend here having now read other reviews. The building and location are lovely and welcome you in, the staff however were rude and unhelpful. We took our three children and because the bar was full we were told that we couldn't sit in the restaurant as they were setting the tables for early bookings in the evening...as we were hungry, we stuck on some stumpers and sat outside. The food was not up to much, my partner and I shared the seafood plater which was pretty dull. It was simply plain crab, plain lobster, plain prawns a bit of lemon mayo and some coleslaw. No garnish, no imagination. The kids opted for bangers and mash (from the stereotypically unimaginative child's menu) which had nice sausages but no gravy on the dry potato...after finishing the meal the restaurant was still empty. Not one table occupied..thanks guys. We will not return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate you in the dining area during the afternoon, however following a busy lunch service this area does have to be prepared for the evenings booked guests. Prior to the refurbishment of the Victoria last year food was only served during lunch and dinner service to enable this turn around. Whilst re-assessing the business model during the refurbishment we took the decision that an all day food offer (although limited) would give more flexibility and choice around dining times to our guests. Regrettably the infrastructure of the property does not enable us to offer this throughout.
We will certainly take into account your view on the food offering when reviewing our menus, thank you for taking the time to review the Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We ate here for lunch, my husband raved about the fish and chips and my risotto was very nice. Service was a little slow but they were busy. Very reasonably priced, around £30 for two meals and four non alcoholic drinks. The surrounding area is lovely with Holkham hall, a deer park, beautiful beach and great wine/brewery shop all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kelawinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for your review of the Victoria, I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal and that you found it represented good value, thank you for your patients during a busy lunch time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We went to the Victoria Inn with friends for lunch, we ordered our drinks from the bar which was beautifully decorated! When we found a table that we had to clear our selves, we didn't receive any service for ages and we did the staff were rude and didn't make any conversation and the meals took a long time to come! The food was average, not expensive at all, but service let them down!!!! Wouldn't recommend to anyone!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Silverbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

I am sorry to read of your disappointments with the service you received during your recent lunch time visit please be assured that the issues you kindly raise in your review will be addressed with the team and that we will endeavour to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed just one night at the Victoria. The Inn, as this is certainly not a hotel, is certainly very pleasant. The room, albeit one of the tiniest I've stayed in (the bed filled the room to the extent you couldn't open the door properly to enter), was clean and comfortable. Bed soft, super shower, tea making facilities. The restaurant pretty much occupies the entire ground floor with little provision for overnight guests. There is a small room set aside for hotel guests but it's small and has about as much charm as a waiting room. Even the bar doesn't offer a decent place for a hotel guest to relax with a few wooden tables and chairs. Staff lovely and cheerful but a little clueless. We were told on arrival on Saturday that Holkham Hall was open, which it was not. Told that the gate to the beach car park was locked after 6 pm which it was not. For £200 a night we can do much better than this.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3 at all costs! It's super tiny and the noise from the outside bar area on a warm evening could be very annoying.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wgoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback from your recent stay at the Victoria. Whilst it is pleasing to read that that you found the Victoria pleasant and the staff both lovely and cheerful it is disappointing to read that you did not find the layout of the building sympathetic to you as guests in the Inn’s accommodation. I am sure however that you will appreciate we operate within the constraints of an 19 century coaching Inn and have made every effort to make the space available to us as practical as possible for modern accommodation needs. Complementary port, brandy and whiskey are made available to guests in the residents lounge. Please be assured that the issues you raise around opening times of the hall and grounds have been addressed and accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just had to recommend the excellent fish n chips , we had sitting in the gardens of The Victoria on a sunny lunch-time. The fish was fresh, the batter perfect and the chunky chips to die for. Maybe the best 'fish n chips' ever !!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ricardo12355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for a great review, I will be sure to share your kind thoughts with the kitchen team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews