We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Management and Staff Attitude”
Review of The Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holkham
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Been twice to the Victoria Inn which is part of the Holkham Estate. Last time we sat outside for a drink but the bitter beer was of particular poor quality and the staff seemed little interested that the beer might be past its best. I went back thinking that you should always give somewhere a second chance. Arrived to find that the main area of the bar was set up with about 20-30 empty tables with "Reserved" badges and a very small bar area that is ostensibly a corridor which was packed with people having a drink. Asking whether we could order some drinks and sit at one of the tables in the conservatory rather than be constantly pushed past, the barman replied "No". Asking why he said they were set up for dinner - at 4.15pm. Barmen said we were welcome to sit outside (in the rain). Decided it was not worth staying. On leaving I noticed there were very few reservations on their list - a sensible manager would have said we were welcome to have a table but that he needed it back by 6pm. We would have perfectly understood that.

Avoid this place, there are loads of bars that have polite and welcoming staff in North Norfolk.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJD12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my sincere apologies that you have found in necessary post such as negative review. Whilst I appreciate your view on table management I can assure you that this is the method we would operate outside of the peak season when bookings are lighter. It would however be imposable for us to do so during the summer season when the restaurant is stretched to its limits during lunch & dinner service. Were we to offer you a table in the conservatory we would then have to offer every other table which would make the restaurant’s staff job of sweeping, moping and relaying a 60 seat restaurant imposable, in addition to serving our afternoon food offer in the bar and courtyard.
With reference to our restaurant booking sheet I can only assume that you have interoperated this incorrectly as without exception we have been fully booked every evening throughout August.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

The Victoria Inn is a beautiful building in a beautiful location but don't be mislead. The menu was good and the quality of food was as expected but the staffing issues really let the Inn down drastically. When we arrived we saw two tables where the occupants looked desperately around trying to catch the attention of the staff. One table had been waiting an unrealistic time for their food and the other table had been waiting for over 25 minutes for their bill. When we placed our order at the desk we were behind another customer who complained that the staff were very slow. Our food arrived without cutlery so we had another wait (very awkward whilst we watch the staff going to and fro) for our cutlery to finally arrive. We even had to request bread to go with our soup!! In general the staff seemed incapable of carrying more than one plate of food at a time to the tables. Back and forth and back and forth - umpteen trips to manage one table!! They were totally disengaged with the customers which was a great pity. However the managers need to note that one member of staff - a short and pleasant foreign lady - was doing her utmost to make up the shortfall of the other staff. She deserves a medal!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chapman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of the Victoria.
This summer season has seen the bar and restaurant at the Victoria stretched to its limits day after day and each and every member of the team from permanent full time to seasonal part timers have done their very best and served in excess of 10000 meals during August in the process . It is disheartening for the team to read reviews such as this after all their hard work although I can assure you that we will do everything possible to use this feedback constructively to improve the future experience at the Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent one night at The Victoria, the room was lovely and couldn't have been bettered, breakfast was super, the staff were helpful and attentive. The location is great for the beach and the hall. The one downside is the restaurant menu, it is a bit limited and if we had to stay for more than 3 days we would have run out of dishes to eat, that said we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for your review of the Victoria, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our restaurant menu is available in addition to the Vic’s favourites menu and combined these offer a selection of 10 starters, 11 main courses, 6 desserts and cheese, this enables the kitchen team to insure that the ingredients they use remain fresh at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

There seems to be a trend here having now read other reviews. The building and location are lovely and welcome you in, the staff however were rude and unhelpful. We took our three children and because the bar was full we were told that we couldn't sit in the restaurant as they were setting the tables for early bookings in the evening...as we were hungry, we stuck on some stumpers and sat outside. The food was not up to much, my partner and I shared the seafood plater which was pretty dull. It was simply plain crab, plain lobster, plain prawns a bit of lemon mayo and some coleslaw. No garnish, no imagination. The kids opted for bangers and mash (from the stereotypically unimaginative child's menu) which had nice sausages but no gravy on the dry potato...after finishing the meal the restaurant was still empty. Not one table occupied..thanks guys. We will not return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate you in the dining area during the afternoon, however following a busy lunch service this area does have to be prepared for the evenings booked guests. Prior to the refurbishment of the Victoria last year food was only served during lunch and dinner service to enable this turn around. Whilst re-assessing the business model during the refurbishment we took the decision that an all day food offer (although limited) would give more flexibility and choice around dining times to our guests. Regrettably the infrastructure of the property does not enable us to offer this throughout.
We will certainly take into account your view on the food offering when reviewing our menus, thank you for taking the time to review the Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We ate here for lunch, my husband raved about the fish and chips and my risotto was very nice. Service was a little slow but they were busy. Very reasonably priced, around £30 for two meals and four non alcoholic drinks. The surrounding area is lovely with Holkham hall, a deer park, beautiful beach and great wine/brewery shop all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kelawinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for your review of the Victoria, I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal and that you found it represented good value, thank you for your patients during a busy lunch time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We went to the Victoria Inn with friends for lunch, we ordered our drinks from the bar which was beautifully decorated! When we found a table that we had to clear our selves, we didn't receive any service for ages and we did the staff were rude and didn't make any conversation and the meals took a long time to come! The food was average, not expensive at all, but service let them down!!!! Wouldn't recommend to anyone!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Silverbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

I am sorry to read of your disappointments with the service you received during your recent lunch time visit please be assured that the issues you kindly raise in your review will be addressed with the team and that we will endeavour to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed just one night at the Victoria. The Inn, as this is certainly not a hotel, is certainly very pleasant. The room, albeit one of the tiniest I've stayed in (the bed filled the room to the extent you couldn't open the door properly to enter), was clean and comfortable. Bed soft, super shower, tea making facilities. The restaurant pretty much occupies the entire ground floor with little provision for overnight guests. There is a small room set aside for hotel guests but it's small and has about as much charm as a waiting room. Even the bar doesn't offer a decent place for a hotel guest to relax with a few wooden tables and chairs. Staff lovely and cheerful but a little clueless. We were told on arrival on Saturday that Holkham Hall was open, which it was not. Told that the gate to the beach car park was locked after 6 pm which it was not. For £200 a night we can do much better than this.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3 at all costs! It's super tiny and the noise from the outside bar area on a warm ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wgoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback from your recent stay at the Victoria. Whilst it is pleasing to read that that you found the Victoria pleasant and the staff both lovely and cheerful it is disappointing to read that you did not find the layout of the building sympathetic to you as guests in the Inn’s accommodation. I am sure however that you will appreciate we operate within the constraints of an 19 century coaching Inn and have made every effort to make the space available to us as practical as possible for modern accommodation needs. Complementary port, brandy and whiskey are made available to guests in the residents lounge. Please be assured that the issues you raise around opening times of the hall and grounds have been addressed and accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holkham
3.9 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,372 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
722 reviews
8.2 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
672 reviews
13.6 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
924 reviews
5.2 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Address: Park Road, Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1RG, England (Formerly The Victoria Hotel at Holkham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea > Holkham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holkham
Price Range: £178 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the gateway to Holkham and the National Nature Reserve, The Victoria is a classic English inn owned by the Coke family and managed by the Holkham Estate. There are ten elegant, indivually designed and stylish bedrooms, all with en-suite bathrooms. We are ready to welcome more guests in spring 2015 with the addition of a further ten bedrooms just across the road from The Victoria in one of the oldest buildings on the Holkham Estate: Ancient House. The building has been converted to provide ten additional bedrooms, including four spacious family room. The sympathetic refurbishment has retained many of the building's original features, combining authentic charm with luxurious modernity. The bar and dining rooms at The Vic offer a relaxed blend of style and comfort. We serve delicious locally sourced food, much of it grown and raised on the estate, with a bold emphasis on freshness, simplicity and value. Holkham has been a leading agricultural estate since the 1800's when Thomas William Coke bought the site and the young Queen Victoria elevated him to the peerage in recognition of his contribution to farming in 1837. The name of the proposed new inn must have been inevitable when it opened its doors in 1838. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria At Holkham Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
Victoria At Holkham Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing