We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The room, and hallways are always cold! And they know it...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Tomah Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Tomah
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The room, and hallways are always cold! And they know it...”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Was just here again last week. What the other reviewers have said is correct, they keep the heat turned WAY down in winter, the hallways are cold, the thermostat in the room was set to 64. When you come in from the cold you walk into a room that takes hours, to heat up enough to take your shoes off. It takes awhile to heat up all that concrete. It was that way last winter too. This is not a new issue. It's company policy. We probably wont stay here again because of this. This makes people uncomfortable. Turn the heat up.

Room Tip: Its a clean room. Just a cold building. They accept pets. Breakfast at Perkins is always good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Tomah Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We will be using the feedback you and other reviewers have given us regarding the cool temperatures in to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Unfortunately there is no heat in the hallways to our rooms; however, we will try to get into rooms that will be rented and bump the heat up before check in.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    68
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
74
50
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
172 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I travel twice a year to Texas and North Carolina. We stay in motels for two weeks, and we visit restaurants that are local or belong to a chain not located in our hometown.

We visited the Best Western in Tomah December 4, 2013, unexpectedly. We were traveling from Schererville IN to Duluth MN but heard Duluth was getting 2 – 3 feet of snow. We reserved the Tomah Best Western by internet from the Schererville Best Western.

The hotel was easy access from I-94. It had adequate parking, a cheery lobby, and a friendly, professional-looking young lady in business attire. She told me how to reach our room and told me the complimentary breakfast is served next door at Perkins Restaurant. She gave us coupons for pancakes, eggs, bacon, and drink – or $5 off any other entrée. There was no time limit.

Our room was nicely appointed with dark cherry or mahogany colored furniture and complimentary wall and floor color schemes. As with most Best Western Hotels we’ve visited, the furniture included desk, large TV, dresser, queen beds, armchair, coffee table, refrigerator, microwave, and adequate lamps. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. There was a large closet with several hangers and an adequate half bathroom. Between the closet and half bath was a counter and sink.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Tomah Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and freindly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrill, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here because I had to go to the VA hospital, it was close they do a shuttle, and the rooms, service and everything was excellent. We have stayed there several times now and each time it has been really good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Eugene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Tomah Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
We are so glad that not only have you had good experiences with us, but that the VA is able to provide shuttle services for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our family of four (incl 2 small children) stayed at this property during Thanksgiving weekend 2013 for one night. The check in was efficient and the staff was curteous. We had requested a quiet room away from traffic, so they placed us on the quite vacant 2nd floor.

Upon entering the elevator, we found that the elevator was unheated. The 2nd floor hallway was also very cold (heat was likely turned on minimally to prevent freezing pipes), and when we entered our room it too had no heat on. We turned on the room heater and had to stay in our coats for a while until the room warmed up. I might offer a suggestion to the hotel management to let the guests know about the cold hallways, and warm up a guest's room before arrival. When coming in from the cold to a hotel, it's nice to look forward to a warm inviting setting.

The pool was really wonderful, very large in terms of today's hotel pools. The water was very warm, and a local told us that the Best Western's pool is the warmest. The card reader locks into the pool area were broken, so guests had to let each other in. Upon visitng the pool, hoped someone was in there to let us in.

The room's beds and fixtures were comfortable, but we had a very hard time with our room temperature. There was not a digital thermostat but a dial styled one, to be used with fan buttons such as "low warm" and "high warm". All night it was either too hot or too cold, my husband and I kept adjusting it to no avail. I asked the next morning at the front desk if any rooms have a digital thermostat, and the employee said yes. So be sure to request one of those if possible.

All in all, an ok stay, but it is a traditional older interstate-style hotel with long narrow corridors and skinny doorways. Friendly staff, but we had problems with room temp and unheated hallways.

Room Tip: Request a room with a digital thermostat, and request a room in a heated hallway if staying during w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsoberdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Tomah Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We are aware that our elevator can get quite chilly as it was an edition to the hotel. We have digital thermostats in our rooms, with the exception of one or two that we have had to pull for repairs. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure a better experience for guests in the future.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godfrey, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The room was reasonably clean. Staff friendly and helpful. The only problem with the hotel was the slow internet service. The attached Perkins restaurant is a plus with hotel breakfast deal provided. I've stayed here before and will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda36054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Tomah Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us Linda! We'd like to apologize for your experience with our internet service, however we are very glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was in Tomah, WI November 15th through the 18th and stayed here at the Best Western. I am from Huntington Beach, CA and have traveled cross country and stayed in many hotels. I must say that this was the best hotel experience I have had in many years. My room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable, especially with my back issues. I was so impressed with all of the amenities, on site bar, restaurant and swimming pool, which was so convenient. Mediocrity is not at all what this place stands for, thank you Best Western staff! Each and everyone of you were so nice and accommodating. Thank You again Best Western!

Laura Johnson

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Tomah Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope you will be back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a formal dine-out with my husband's company. The service and hotel accomodations were wonderful. However, the food served at the banquet hall was below average. We have stayed at this Best Western many times before; it is a lovely hotel. It would be great if the food better reflected the hotel's overall quality

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Tomah Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We'd like to thank not only you for staying with us, but also your husband's company for hosting the dine-out here. We pride ourselves on our service and would like to apologize for the food not meeting the same standard as the rest of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tomah hotels
0.5 mi away
Cranberry Country Lodge
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Tomah
Hampton Inn Tomah
#1 of 11 in Tomah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tomah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tomah
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Tomah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lark Inn
Lark Inn
#3 of 11 in Tomah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tomah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tomah Hotel

Property: Best Western Tomah Hotel
Address: 1017 E McCoy Blvd, Hwy 21 and I-94, Tomah, WI 54660-3264 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tomah Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Tomah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tomah
#4 Business Hotel in Tomah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Tomah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Tomah Hotel is conveniently located at Interstate 94 and Highway 21. Located midway between Chicago, Minneapolis and Milwaukee, the BEST WESTERN Tomah Hotel is a perfect destination for both corporate and leisure travelers. The BEST WESTERN Tomah Hotel features family dining at Perkins Restaurant and Bakery. Indoor and outdoor recreation include: a spacious pool, sauna, and whirlpool, fitness center, game and video arcade, fishing pond, volleyball court and a business center. Free wireless Internet. The BEST WESTERN Tomah Hotel is convenient to top companies such as Toro, Exopak, Caridinal IG, and Ocean Spray. This is the closest hotel for government travelers to Fort McCoy and Volk Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Tomah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tomah Hotel Tomah
Holiday Inn Tomah
Tomah Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing