We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, locally owned, what a great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lark Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Tomah
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful, locally owned, what a great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Spent 5 nights at this wonderful, locally owned motel, very clean and comfortable. Very quiet, felt like I was staying with family and friends. Very rare experience in this day of corporate chain hotels. Try it, you will love it !!!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great, beautiful handmade local quilts are very nice too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Larkin_Family, General Manager at Lark Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
We were honored to host your family during your five nights in Tomah and will look forward to your next visit. Thank you for the kind words about Lark Inn. Other travelers depend on reviews from previous guests in determining where they will stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Mike Larkin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    26
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
41
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

My cover band, The Cheap Shots, has played two different weddings in Tomah, WI in less than two years. Both times we stayed at the Lark Inn. The people are extremely friendly, the rooms are extremely clean and the area is REALLY quiet (which is important when you've been playing loud music all night!). And if you're up before 9am, FREE continental breakfast - cereal, fresh yogurt, rolls and hot coffee. This is the ONLY place to stay when traveling through the Tomah area. We'll be back, I'm sure!

Room Tip: Get a "Country Double." Spacious, large beds, flat-screen TVs and close to the front offi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Larkin_Family, Manager at Lark Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review and for staying at our Inn when your band is playing in Tomah. We were fortunate enough to hear your band and look forward to seeing you again soon in Milwaukee. Please let us know if you want to sleep in during your next visit. We will make sure that you can enjoy our breakfast even later than 9:30 AM!!

Mike Larkin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Lark Inn is a cozy little gem! If you're familiar with some of the older motor court-type hotels in the Wisconsin Dells, it is in that vein but much nicer. Everything is spotless and immaculate, our room was spacious yet cozy, and it is absolutely perfect for travelers who can't do stairs—you can park right in front of your room. It was quiet—none of the loud noise we have come to expect with larger hotels—and the beds were comfy. The general store on site serves a continental breakfast and I was thrilled to find a newsstand there with four local papers. The staff were extremely welcoming and kind. Perhaps best of all, I left behind the charger for my iPhone (which was brand new) and the owners kindly tracked it down and mailed it to me. This is a family-owned business, not a chain, so we are happy to support that. The owners are clearly very invested in having happy customers. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Larkin_Family, Owner at Lark Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
You are absolutely right when you mentioned our family being invested in having happy guests. Every effort is made with your comfort in mind. Our housekeeping staff maintains all of our rooms in spotless condition and our front desk staff enjoys getting to know our guests. Thank you for choosing Lark Inn for your stay in Tomah.

Sharon Larkin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We arrived in Tomah for a relative's birthday and had not made reservations anywhere in advance. We spotted the Lark Inn and were immediately impressed by it. We got a room there and it was very clean and well-appointed. The staff were wonderful folks, very polite, gracious and helpful. I fully intend to stay at the Lark Inn whenever visiting Tomah!

Room Tip: I think you'll have no trouble finding one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Larkin_Family, Manager at Lark Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
We will look forward to your next stay with us as much as you will. For over 35 years our family and staff have welcomed travelers and made many new friends who come back year after year. We are happy to know that you will be one of those who choose the Lark Inn over the large chains in the area. Thank you for the confidence that you have placed in us.

Mike Larkin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

My mom and I were recent guests from CA to Wi to see family. The lark Inn had been recommended by several friends and we throughly enjoyed our stay. After a long travel day from Iowa through snow and sleet we arrived rather late 10:30pm to be greeted by a friendly night clerk. We were so tired after finding a small place to eat dinner we actually locked ourselves out of our room at midnight. We called the office and they graciously got up and gave us another key to our room. We enjoyed the space, the quilts and the nice room we had to share for two of us. The room was clean and we had everything we needed to help make our exhausting travel days better. We happen to be flying from CA on the air traffic controllers sequester. 21 hours later we finally arrived to a wonderful restful nights sleep.

Room Tip: We selected a room with two queens in one of the bungalows. Very spacious for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olywajdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Larkin_Family, Manager at Lark Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
It was our pleasure to host you at Lark inn. We are pleased that your stay was restful after a long trip from California. We always enjoy hearing that someone recommended us for your stay. If you are ever in this area again, we hope that you will consider our Inn and we will see you here once again.

Sharon Larkin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I recently traveled to a speaking engagement in Monroe county Wisconsin at Warrens. I spent the night in a cabin at the lark inn it was a small room in size but it had every thing that you could ask for in a motel. I travel allot and stay at 4 stars this little place definitely deserves the #1 rating in Tomah. It is quiet and clean with a very comfortable bed to sleep on.Cable TV and Wi Fi. All streamed well I could watch Netflix with no problem at all. A.Good free breakfast on site and friendly hosts this place is a bargain and I will stay here again. This place is a braeth of fresh air in a big box world.

Room Tip: cabins are tucked in the back and a very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Larkin_Family, Owner at Lark Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
It sounds as if you are a very busy person who usually stays in 4 star hotels. We are flattered that you discovered our Inn and took the time to write such a nice review of our property. We like to think that we ARE a breath of fresh air, as we are a unique property with personal touches that make us stand out from the ordinary. It was our privilege to host your stay at Lark Inn. Please remember us if you find yourself in the Tomah area again.

Sharon Larkin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I needed a room for one-night driving from Minnesota to Wisconsin and the hotel chains I normally use all had sold-out. My last minute option was to check tripadvisor.com and this motel had excellent reviews. And it certainly lived up to expectations. Homey room with quilts and very friendly service. Breakfast was basic and in connection with the little service station and supermarket. The room was small. The price however was also very cheap. I decided to fill gas on my car, just to let them earn some more money and I used more money on gas than the room including breakfast! As I single female traveller, it was nice they had a phone number for emergencies and the family seems to live just next to the motel. It felt very safe.
I can certainly recommend this hotel, when you need a cheap and good accomodation in Tomah.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Larkin_Family, Owner at Lark Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
It is always nice to hear that a single female traveler felt safe staying at Lark Inn. Our property is known for being a quiet, well run inn with respectable clientele and many repeat guests. It is not unusual for us to host people traveling alone and we’ve heard that same comment from several others over the years. Please be assured that your safety is a top priority at Lark Inn. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to prove it!

Sharon Larkin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomah
1.9 mi away
Cranberry Country Lodge
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Tomah
Hampton Inn Tomah
#1 of 11 in Tomah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tomah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tomah Hotel
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Tomah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
9.9 mi away
Three Bears Resort
Three Bears Resort
#1 of 1 in Warrens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lark Inn

Property: Lark Inn
Address: 229 N Superior Ave, Tomah, WI 54660-1174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Tomah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tomah
#2 Family Hotel in Tomah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lark Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned Inn with a reputation of cleanliness and down home hospitality. As our reviews reflect, we are a 'diamond in the rough'. Microwaves and refrigerators in ALL of our rooms. Stay with us and let us show you the difference from the 'chains'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lark Hotel Tomah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing