We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to stay”
Review of Lark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lark Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Tomah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

our motorcycle overnight trips riding the Kickapoo valley have ended at this motel more than a few times in the last few years. we can park our bikes right out front of your room and the covered porch and gazebo make it a nice place to relax and have a beer. the office is also a gas station and convienence store which has adult beverages and snacks as well as complimentary fresh coffee and cinnamon rolls in the morning for their guests. our recent stay had some bad weather in the area and terry the owners son even offered to put our bikes in the garage for the night. there are several larger hotels near the interstate in Tomah but none have the convienence, hospitality , or comfort that we have when we stay at the lark inn. we have our favorite resting places on our motorcycle trips in Wisconsin and this has been one of them. you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: they have a few room options available that vary in size and number of beds and we usually get the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkd1768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

The hotel is very clean. They have rooms but also have cabins in the back of the hotel which are very cozy and romantic. The staff bends over backwards to cater to the customers. We were on a motorcyle, and they let us part it under a covered area. They let us know of events, and had menues for a lot of the restaruants in town. They are within walking distance to downtown. So we just parked our motorcycle and walked.

Room Tip: I would try to get a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craygator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Larkin_Family, Owner at Lark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Every member or our staff is trained to make guests aware of all our community has to offer in the way of shopping, restaurants, and things to do. They also know that guests can have unique and special needs and it is up to us to meet their needs as much as possible. I am happy to hear that our staff brought the breezeway area to your attention so your cycles could be out of the elements. Thank you for staying with us.

Sharon Larkin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at lark Inn for one night after reading reviews. We were not disappointed. We chose a cabin as they were a bit bigger. It was clean and quiet but still somewhat small. It is a privately owned business. The staff was friendly and helpful. We also got two free movies to watch in our room for the night.. A good continental breakfast was served in the morning. It is located in the town of Tomah, a couple miles from the highway traffic. One draw back, the air conditioner was rather noisyI would recommend it although for the size it was fairly expensive.

Room Tip: Well Worth an extra couple miles to get away from highway traffic. We had a very good meal at the T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levieuxcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Larkin_Family, Owner at Lark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

We offer several cabins for our over night guests. They are historical, yet have modern interiors with all the amenities and vary in size. Two of the cabins are quite small while the other three are more spacious. Although several guest request the smaller, intimate two, which I assume that you stayed in, you might ask for a larger one should you choose to stay with us again. The two larger cabins, each with one queen size bed, are the same price as the smaller two. The only one that is more expensive is the two bedroom cabin. I am sorry that the air conditioner was rather noisy. I hope that you brought it to our attention so we were able to make the necessary repairs.

Sharon Larkin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was the smallest room I have ever stayed in, but it did have a fridge and microwave. The breakfast was ok. What no one seems to have mentioned, at least that I saw, was the fact that it is near railroad tracks and the trains are loud! Very close to a nice Catholic Church and priced right.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Discobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Larkin_Family, Owner at Lark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Every member or our staff is trained to make guests aware of all our community has to offer in the way of shopping, restaurants, and things to do. They also know that guests can have unique and special needs and it is up to us to meet their needs as much as possible. I am happy to hear that our staff brought the breezeway area to your attention so your cycles could be out of the elements. Thank you for staying with us.

Sharon Larkin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Pleasant, attractive, clean with old fashion charm and hospitality. So reasonably priced! I stayed there for a quick overnight as I was travelling and really hope I can come back here someday with my husband just for fun, and explore the older part of Tomah as well! The Lark Inn has a lot of simple extra touches that add a great deal of convenience and value. Its a no brainer -this is the place to stay in Tomah and for quite some distance around it. I stayed in their least expensive rooms and loved it, but they have much nicer yet still very reasonable rooms. Lots of history in this locally owned and run establishment. Thank you Larks Inn for running such a top notch, affordable establishment!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WashingtonRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Larkin_Family, Owner at Lark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

One of our goals has always been to provide as many amenities as possible and still maintain reasonable rates. In this day and age, expenses continue to raise, both for the traveling public and for the establishment. Somehow we must hit a happy medium and still be able to keep our doors open. We are pleased that you felt our rates were within your budget and that you would consider staying with us again.

Sharon Larkin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Spent 5 nights at this wonderful, locally owned motel, very clean and comfortable. Very quiet, felt like I was staying with family and friends. Very rare experience in this day of corporate chain hotels. Try it, you will love it !!!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great, beautiful handmade local quilts are very nice too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Larkin_Family, General Manager at Lark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

We were honored to host your family during your five nights in Tomah and will look forward to your next visit. Thank you for the kind words about Lark Inn. Other travelers depend on reviews from previous guests in determining where they will stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Mike Larkin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My cover band, The Cheap Shots, has played two different weddings in Tomah, WI in less than two years. Both times we stayed at the Lark Inn. The people are extremely friendly, the rooms are extremely clean and the area is REALLY quiet (which is important when you've been playing loud music all night!). And if you're up before 9am, FREE continental breakfast - cereal, fresh yogurt, rolls and hot coffee. This is the ONLY place to stay when traveling through the Tomah area. We'll be back, I'm sure!

Room Tip: Get a "Country Double." Spacious, large beds, flat-screen TVs and close to the front offi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Larkin_Family, Manager at Lark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review and for staying at our Inn when your band is playing in Tomah. We were fortunate enough to hear your band and look forward to seeing you again soon in Milwaukee. Please let us know if you want to sleep in during your next visit. We will make sure that you can enjoy our breakfast even later than 9:30 AM!!

Mike Larkin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tomah hotels
1.9 mi away
Cranberry Country Lodge
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Tomah
82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tomah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Tomah
Hampton Inn Tomah
#1 of 11 in Tomah
453 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tomah Hotel
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Tomah Wisconsin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lark Inn

Address: 229 N Superior Ave, Tomah, WI 54660-1174
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Tomah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Tomah
Price Range: £42 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lark Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned Inn with a reputation of cleanliness and down home hospitality. As our reviews reflect, we are a 'diamond in the rough'. Microwaves and refrigerators in ALL of our rooms. Stay with us and let us show you the difference from the 'chains'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Lark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lark Hotel Tomah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing