We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home cooking and reasonable”

Tomahawk Family Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Tomahawk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“home cooking and reasonable”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

It really is a family restaurant with reasonable prices for good food that will please everyone in the family. We ate several meals there and there's plenty of variety to make some new choices; all good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cbonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Basic Road Food”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The restaurant itself was pretty was dingy - the windows were filmy and everything seemed to need to be wiped down. The food itself was okay. Again, pretty basic road food; the menu has a little of something for everyone. Not a place you'd go out of your way for but okay to stop at if you're passing by.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NBChknbiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Entered hungry...left full!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I feel no matter where in the state you are, you can't go wrong with family restaurants. The atmosphere is going to be like stepping into a family member's home (very friendly staff), the red carpet will be rolled-out for you with an attentive waitress and the menu will be a book of deliciously prepared meals that will leave you satisfied and full.

I will spare the details of our meals - portion sizes were huge and because we were on vacation, we couldn't take our leftovers with us. You won't have room for dessert but from what I saw in their showcase, I wish I had had the room for a piece of pie. Had to walk around a bit afterwards - we were stuffed! 2 thumbs up Tomahawk Family Restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
158 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Solid choice for breakfast”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Don't let the renovated Hardees exterior fool you. The dining area is clean and the service is friendly. The breakfast is typical diner-quality fare: good but not great. This is exactly what you'd expect in a local diner. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank itineraryWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry53128
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Good value, good food, GREAT service and clean. Always have breakfast there whenever we are in town and lunch sometimes too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry53128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomahawk Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tomahawk Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing