We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kingfisher rooms”
Review of Trempealeau Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trempealeau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trempealeau Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trempealeau
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I called to book the room at the last minute. All of the rooms in the hotel were already booked. I opted to try the Kingfisher rooms down by the river. This room had a private 3/4 bath with shower. It was clean, though the shower curtain had a little mold at the bottom. I am guessing humidity can be an issue due to location and lack of proper ventilation of the space. Once the room warmed up, the dampness issues were resolved. The outdoor temps dropped into the teens and the room heater maintained the ambient temperature well. These rooms also have TVs with satellite service. It was nice to have access to the weather channel since my trip had to be altered to avoid snow and potential road hazards. I tried the restaurant's famous walnut burger for dinner. It was tasty and the service was excellent. It is a mile from the Kingfisher to the hotel. In nice weather it would be a pleasant walk. With cold weather and early darkness I chose to drive. Parking not an issue but maybe in high season it would be It would be a great place to go with friends or a small group. There is easy of access to the river if you have your own boat, plus hiking at Perrot State Park.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoamNHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 64 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2007

Just returned from a weekend at this place. While there was a certain amount of "historic charm" in staying here, the problems outweighed the charm.

There is a bar and outside deck associated with this hotel. The bar and deck do not "close" until the wee hours of the morning, 2AM to be exact. The rooms are right above the deck and the noise, cigarrette smoke and revelrie waft right up into the guest rooms. Since the rooms are not air conditioned, you have to keep the window open or risk suffocation. There was no way to "escape" the bar patrons.

Upon complaints to the management, they guy said with a smile on his face that the bar patrons are paying customers too!!

On another note, do not take room number one at this facility. The mattress in this room is simply placed on top of an open bed spring and you literally bounce around all night long on those squeaky springs.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Traveler99_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2006

we stayed there in october, choosing it for its great location next to the mississippi, nearness to trempealeau wildlife refuge, perrot state park, and the great river trail. it has a good restaurant on the property for lunch and dinner, and there's a good cafe on the next block for breakfast. but know that the historic rooms share 1 toilet and shower with 8 tiny rooms, that the hot water is subject to capture by the kitchen below, and that the beds are 'historic' noisy spring type. so if you're willing to accept those conditions, you can't beat the price at $35/night for such a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank seamountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
La Crescent, Minnesota
18
Reviewed 27 March 2005

My boyfriend and I spent our first New Year's together in the hotel's "fun room," as it is jokingly referred to as by the staff because of the two beds in it. We have spent two of our anniversaries there in the Juniper suite, enjoying wine, the jaccuzi, the beautiful sunset on the river, and each other. One year all of our friends rented out the eight rooms in the historic hotel and whooped it up. It was a fun and inexpensive way to spend New Year's (with the historic rooms going for $35 a night.) There's also a state park about a mile down the road. We are thinking of getting married there when the time comes.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trempealeau
16.1 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,822 reviews
12.8 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#5 of 7 in Winona
578 reviews
12.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Winona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
9.1 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
14.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trempealeau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trempealeau Hotel

Address: 150 Main St, Trempealeau, WI 54661
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Trempealeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trempealeau
Price Range: £76 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms to fit most budgets. Eight European style rooms (i.e. bathroom down the hall) start at $46 per night and are located directly above the bar and restaurant. Only room #10 has air conditioning and none of these units have a tele. On the property there is also a cabin $110/130 with it's own deck, a separate bedroom and living room, cable TV and a/c. Directly next to the hotel are two identical suites ($110/130) featuring a whirlpool tub, gas fireplace, queen size bed, and sitting area with an unobstructed view of the river (cable TV and a/c). King Fishers are four basic motel rooms with their own bath, satellite TV and a/c, located next to the public boat landing, one mile away from the hotel ($65/75). Check-in is at the bar/restaurant from 3pm and check out is 11am (just leave your key in the room). The restaurant offers meals made from scratch using responsibly sourced and local ingredients. Both lunch and dinner are served. The historic saloon has music most Thursdays and Saturdays and a great selection of wine, cocktails and craft beers. Internet available in upstairs of hotel, saloon and main dining room. The property is closed for maintenance in January. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing