We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good value”
Review of Trempealeau Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trempealeau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trempealeau Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trempealeau
always changing
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a good value”
Reviewed 24 October 2010

This trip I stayed in the rooms at the Inn. They are simple rooms. Most have an old wire spring, soft matress full size bed. I found a way to position myself, sort of diagonal like a hammock, for a decent night sleep. However, I couldn't have imagined another person in the bed with me. There is at least one room that has a contemporary queen size bed (#10). Pay the extra for it if you as a couple or stay down by the river in the Kingfisher rooms.

I am a pretty good sleeper in that I can fall back asleep and feel decent by morning. There are trains that run by the place most of the night. There was no live band this weekend so the noise from the bar/restaurant was more like dull white noise. The two 30-40ish gals who seemed to be friends on a trip that were staying in the two rooms across the hall were a little drunk and had many loud conversations with their room doors open. I was just about to go ask them to be quieter, after about an hour of them browsing their blackberries together with much screaming and laughter, when they went back to the bar. On the last night I could also hear the man snoring in the next room.

I will go back, because it fits my budget and gets me close to hiking, kayaking, and biking that I want to do when camping isn't an option. This trip it wasn't because I was picking up a piece of furniture and didn't have room for the gear. Clean towels are provided each day but no other room services, which is fine since there is no bathroom in any of these rooms. The one bathroom at the end of the hall is clean. I usually showered in the afternoon or evening but if you weren't able to be flexible there might be hangups with possibly 10 rooms sharing one full bath.

Restaurant open for lunch and dinner. Nice patio for sitting and having a drink in the evening.

If you want something other than the Inn experience, are traveling with another person, have bathroom issues, or need a contemporary bed set-up and can't get #10, then stay at the Kingfisher rooms. The train noise was less down there too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamNHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    13
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
5
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Stayed here for fun after visiting relatives in Winona across the river. We were attracted by the historic aspect and the live music. Both far exceeded expectations. A couple of cocktails while enjoying the great performance, then a lovely time in the jacuzzi equipped beautifully restored room down the block. The room was spotless and well appointed, everything worked, including the gas fireplace, and the view in the morning of the trains going by and the river - well even on a drab March Sunday with melting snow and no sunshine the place was beautiful. We'll definitely be back for more music at a festival or two. And as to noise from the music in the summer? Well, duh! One look tells you that's the deal, and if you're not up for that why would you stay upstairs from the obvious deck and outdoor stage? LOL.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNAqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Spur of the moment found us crossing the state, with our Golden Retriever, to the LaCrosse area and to cruise the Mississippi that we have only done before by boat. We looked at it is boating in a BMW.
The Kingfishers welcomed dogs, which is the only reason we stayed there. What a great surprise. Not that the rooms are fancy (they are not) - but they are CHEAP, and very, very clean. We had the complex to ourselves (which made it even better!), and our dog was very comfortable.
In some "dog friendly" hotels, you can really smell dogs. Not here. Very good bang for the buck. I assume in summer it must be a GREAT place to stay.....Would stay again in fall in a heartbeat.
Stay away from the bar nearby (forgot the name - but it is the only one in walking distance.....) - NASTY smoke smell and rude staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
always changing
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I called to book the room at the last minute. All of the rooms in the hotel were already booked. I opted to try the Kingfisher rooms down by the river. This room had a private 3/4 bath with shower. It was clean, though the shower curtain had a little mold at the bottom. I am guessing humidity can be an issue due to location and lack of proper ventilation of the space. Once the room warmed up, the dampness issues were resolved. The outdoor temps dropped into the teens and the room heater maintained the ambient temperature well. These rooms also have TVs with satellite service. It was nice to have access to the weather channel since my trip had to be altered to avoid snow and potential road hazards. I tried the restaurant's famous walnut burger for dinner. It was tasty and the service was excellent. It is a mile from the Kingfisher to the hotel. In nice weather it would be a pleasant walk. With cold weather and early darkness I chose to drive. Parking not an issue but maybe in high season it would be It would be a great place to go with friends or a small group. There is easy of access to the river if you have your own boat, plus hiking at Perrot State Park.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoamNHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2007

Just returned from a weekend at this place. While there was a certain amount of "historic charm" in staying here, the problems outweighed the charm.

There is a bar and outside deck associated with this hotel. The bar and deck do not "close" until the wee hours of the morning, 2AM to be exact. The rooms are right above the deck and the noise, cigarrette smoke and revelrie waft right up into the guest rooms. Since the rooms are not air conditioned, you have to keep the window open or risk suffocation. There was no way to "escape" the bar patrons.

Upon complaints to the management, they guy said with a smile on his face that the bar patrons are paying customers too!!

On another note, do not take room number one at this facility. The mattress in this room is simply placed on top of an open bed spring and you literally bounce around all night long on those squeaky springs.

  • Liked — View of the river
  • Disliked — Noise, beds
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler99_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2006

we stayed there in october, choosing it for its great location next to the mississippi, nearness to trempealeau wildlife refuge, perrot state park, and the great river trail. it has a good restaurant on the property for lunch and dinner, and there's a good cafe on the next block for breakfast. but know that the historic rooms share 1 toilet and shower with 8 tiny rooms, that the hot water is subject to capture by the kitchen below, and that the beds are 'historic' noisy spring type. so if you're willing to accept those conditions, you can't beat the price at $35/night for such a great location.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — spartan quality
  • Tips/Secrets — go with eyes open
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank seamountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 March 2005

My boyfriend and I spent our first New Year's together in the hotel's "fun room," as it is jokingly referred to as by the staff because of the two beds in it. We have spent two of our anniversaries there in the Juniper suite, enjoying wine, the jaccuzi, the beautiful sunset on the river, and each other. One year all of our friends rented out the eight rooms in the historic hotel and whooped it up. It was a fun and inexpensive way to spend New Year's (with the historic rooms going for $35 a night.) There's also a state park about a mile down the road. We are thinking of getting married there when the time comes.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trempealeau
16.1 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,695 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
9.1 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
12.8 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#6 of 7 in Winona
556 reviews
14.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trempealeau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trempealeau Hotel

Property: Trempealeau Hotel
Address: 150 Main St, Trempealeau, WI 54661
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Trempealeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trempealeau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms to fit most budgets. Eight European style rooms (i.e. bathroom down the hall) start at $46 per night and are located directly above the bar and restaurant. Only room #10 has air conditioning and none of these units have a tele. On the property there is also a cabin $110/130 with it's own deck, a separate bedroom and living room, cable TV and a/c. Directly next to the hotel are two identical suites ($110/130) featuring a whirlpool tub, gas fireplace, queen size bed, and sitting area with an unobstructed view of the river (cable TV and a/c). King Fishers are four basic motel rooms with their own bath, satellite TV and a/c, located next to the public boat landing, one mile away from the hotel ($65/75). Check-in is at the bar/restaurant from 3pm and check out is 11am (just leave your key in the room). The restaurant offers meals made from scratch using responsibly sourced and local ingredients. Both lunch and dinner are served. The historic saloon has music most Thursdays and Saturdays and a great selection of wine, cocktails and craft beers. Internet available in upstairs of hotel, saloon and main dining room. The property is closed for maintenance in January. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing