We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The suites are a spectacular value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village Inn on the Lake
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Two Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The suites are a spectacular value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2009

We have stayed at the Village Inn during visits to the area for years. Much depends on the type of room you choose. The standard rooms are small and very basic. But the suites in a separate building are spectacular for $99 a night. View of beautiful Lake Michigan out the front windows and a patio door on the other leading to paths in the woods. Fireplace and whirlpool. Full kitchen. Huge. Although not advertised as wheelchair accessible they definitly WERE accessible. Very friendly helpful staff. Pool / whirlpool area is family friendly - yet has a small bar and grill. Definitely not a 4 star hotel. It's a mom and pop operation with lots of small-town charm. Mini-golf on site. Bikes to rent for the bike path that goes for miles along the lake. Piles of family games by the pool.
For the small difference in price I would highly recommend a suite over a standard room.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mantygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    27
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

We stayed in this hotel two nights. The only thing we didn't like was how close it was to the busy road. We have a 3 year old who tends to dash away, as most 3 yr. olds do! We got 3 standard rooms(extended family trip) and one of their suites so that my Mom would have a kitchen to cook wonderful meals for us! It was clean. My kids loved the pool. The suite, especially was neat! I mean, we paid $69-79 for a standard room. What are you people expecting for that price? I am done with chain hotels. We have stayed in 2 Mom and Pops this summer and have loved every minute of it. I think people are a little too snobby nowadays. You all go pay $100+ for your generic chain hotel room. I'm sold on these little Mom and Pops!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bparker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

I would never stay at this hotel ever again. My son who was 9mo at the time was crawling in our room and ended up having a soiled sticky mouse trap stuck to his hands. We had preregistered, so the hotel knew that I had a child. I was extremely upset to say the least. They also did not have any cribs for him to sleep in. I plan on going to Two Harbors this weekend, you can be sure I will not go there!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank tajdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky H, General Manager at Village Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
I am not certain that you actually stayed in our hotel. While your stay was before I joined the property, I can assure you that we have never used any type of mouse traps in our rooms, and we are located in Two Rivers, WI, not Two Harbors. While we do not have cribs, we do have pack-n-plays available at no charge. I hope you never have another experience, in any hotel, like the one you describe here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

We were in Two Rivers, Wisconsin this past weekend for a wedding. I was quite reluctant to stay at the Village Inn due to the previous reviews, but, the other hotel choice was not available. I just wanted to express that for the $$$ the hotel was fine. The staff were very friendly. Beds were too soft for our liking, but overall felt the rooms were clean. The microwave and fridge definitely came in handy. The outside deck were a plus though the weather was not the best by far. We paid $80 + tax per night. Again, not a 5 star hotel, but, not a dump either.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpmkyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

No cable, Wi-fi is unreliable. The promise to fix it don;t. Do not rely on what they say. Usually unreliable. They have a lot to do to make it a really nice place to stay.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Arkya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland, IL
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

We attended a funeral in Two Rivers and I had two six year old children with me. The pool and hot tub was extremely nice, but we could not tolerate the odor of smelly feet mixed with chlorine in the poolside rooms. We were upgraded to the building behind the main building to a "family suite" and it was nice. They needed to have more towels available for guests in the rooms. I also wasn't too crazy about all of sleeping in one big room, but it was clean. I thought the decor was very creative-- collection of teddy bears. The kids loved that! I think it would be a great place to have a party and just use the pool (crashing in the rooms later so that you don't have to spend too much time there).

  • Liked — Indoor pool/hot tub, beautiful Lake Michigan view
  • Disliked — rooms, service (only one person handles everything!)
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RDHChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2007

We decided to stay at this hotel after hearing positive comments from some locals. We weren't expecting much, but still came away disappointed. First, the good: While showing its age, our room was clean and reasonably appointed. Also, the motel was in a good location with a great view of the lake. Unfortunately, those positives were canceled out by three main issues: One, the bed was possibly the worst hotel bed I've ever attempted to sleep on, managing to be both lumpy and severely slanted at the same time. Two, the continental breakfast was so ridiculous that they would've been better off not offering anything all. (It consisted of two kinds of cereal, warm milk, and really bad coffee.) And three, the heating system basically had two settings, boiling and "no heat whatsoever." We found ourselves alternating between sweating and freezing the entire night.

Through some connections we got a really good deal and paid much less than the standard rate. Even if we could get that deal again, we wouldn't stay at the Village Inn a second time unless it was clear that they'd made some substantial changes.

  • Liked — Great location.
  • Disliked — Worst. Bed. Ever.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrbula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Rivers
1.7 mi away
Lighthouse Inn Hotel
Lighthouse Inn Hotel
#1 of 4 in Two Rivers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manitowoc Lakefront
7.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Manitowoc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn Manitowoc
Quality Inn Manitowoc
#5 of 6 in Manitowoc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Manitowoc
Holiday Inn Manitowoc
#3 of 6 in Manitowoc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
4.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 6 in Manitowoc
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn on the Lake

Property: Village Inn on the Lake
Address: 3310 Memorial Dr, Two Rivers, WI 54241-3231
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Two Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Two Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn on the Lake has comfortable Poolside and Lakeside rooms as well as large suites with full kitchens, and hot tubs. In addition, there are 24 RV sites with full water, sewer, and 50 amp electric service. We are conveniently located on hwy 42 between Manitowoc and Two Rivers with unobstructed views of Lake Michigan. Relax in our indoor pool and whirlpool with poolside bar or try your skills on our 18 hole mini golf. The 6 mile long Mariners Trail runs past our front door and offers breathtaking views of the lake as you walk, bike or roller-blade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Village Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn On The Lake Hotel Two Rivers
Village Hotel Two Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing