We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place in a beautiful area.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Viroqua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vernon Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Viroqua
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We stayed here for 9 nights in 7/2010. The hotel is not fancy; there are no fancy hotels in Veroqua! It's Veroqua - not Madison (thank God). Veroqua has more to offer than xerox hotels. It was clean and decent. It is a bit pricier than other options but it has a laundromat, reliable cable (TdF on Versus! - not so in others), fridge and microwave. We got exactly what we wanted and expected. We have come to love the Coulees for road biking and we will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB2BigRapids_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 46 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2010

We picked the Vernon Inn, as it was close to the state park we were visiting. The from desk was friendly, but from another time - assigning our room seemed at least partly to entail a hand written ring binder. We mentioned that we looked at rates on line, and these were higher. We were told that the web site is deceiving as it is for one person in a room during the week, and she wished they were be more straight with their info. The Inn is supposed to be entirely smoke free, but our first room was smelly like smoke. Got another room, and part the same, but a ton of deoderizer must have been sprayed. Room was sort of run down, and roomy since it was a big room that could have used a desk or lounger. For sleeping, it is a very noisy hotel, with the usual car horns when people lock their car doors, and little insulation between the rooms. Breakfast is really weak - coffee, juice, mini-bagels still in a bag, white bread in a bag, cereal, and some coffee cake. I got something at the local co-op for the next morning. In all honesty, I don't know what else is in that area, but we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerrenceDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We stayed here the weekend before Christmas and were hoping to have a nice relaxing evening by the pool with our grandson. We traveled three hours to spend some time with family for the holidays. When we checked in we saw a sign that the pool was closed!! There was no mention of this when I made my reservation and it had been closed since early fall. The clerk gave us a whole $5.00 off !! If I had known ahead of time I would have booked somewhere else. She said the nearest pool was 40 miles back the way we had just came so that was out of the question. Also when we got to our room there was absolutely no heat turned on and the temp outside was near zero. I would have thought they would have turned up the heat knowing we were coming. We had a one year old with us!!
The rooms was very clean and big, but the stay was a disappointment. As we drove away we saw that they still were advertising the swimming pool on their sign that they put messages on!

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
Thank ChristinaTwinCities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missvernie, Manager at Vernon Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2010

Vernon Inn & Suites would like everyone to know that our swimming pool and whirlpool is up and running for the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

This property was a Super 8 when we stayed there a couple of years ago. It's still listed on the Super 8 website, but when you try to make a reservation through there, it says nothing is available.

Our room was large and clean. The sink faucet was uncontrollable with regard to water temp and the tub drained very slowly. The 'grab bar' was also missing on the tub. I mentioned these things to the clerk on duty, and she did make notes.

They have a breakfast room, but we did not use it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unpaidbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viroqua
0.8 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#1 of 3 in Viroqua
34 reviews
4.5 mi away
Old Towne Motel
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
21 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hickory Hill Motel
Hickory Hill Motel
#2 of 3 in Viroqua
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vernon Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vernon Inn and Suites

Address: 1325 N. Main Street, Viroqua, WI 54665
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Viroqua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Viroqua
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to hotels in Viroqua, the Vernon Inn and Suites offers you clean, friendly, fast service with great rates and outstanding amenities. We have lots of space to accommodate your needs with 50 rooms. Our loyal and dedicated staff will work hard to make your stay enjoyable. Come for a night or stay longer and see what Viroqua and the Vernon Inn have to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing