We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and service”
Review of Hickory Hill Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Viroqua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hickory Hill Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Viroqua
Reviewed 12 June 2013

A happy accident: I ended up here with a little mechanical trouble on my motorcycle, and ended up staying 2 nights. I concur with other reviewers, the place is extremely clean and the owners are incredibly nice people who seem to really enjoy what they do. Since it was raining, they even offered the use of their garage to get out of the weather and work on my motorcycle (not necessary, the rain stopped).

I had a room in the back building. Quiet.

Some cows were grazing in the field across the street from the motel.

Only a couple miles from downtown Viroqua, which is a pretty little town. Okay coffee in the morning and some packaged danish. You'll have to go into town if you need something more substantial.

For the price and cleanliness, this is one of the best courtyard-style motels I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are more isolated from the road if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MethMouth88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

We booked several rooms for Fri night and the whole hotel for Sat night for my daughter's wedding. The owner was very helpful and accommodating. We had many last minute room changes and name switches and she handled it quite well. The rooms of our whole party were clean, smelled good and not cramped. The mattress was a little firm, but other than that, I think we got our money's worth. The view was nice and we were just a little off the hwy on a slight hill, but didn't even hear it. There was a hillside right behind us with birds chirping, wind softly rustling, etc. It was a pleasant stay. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had room 27, which was up the hill in a separate bldg. from some others. It was quiet and relaxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This motel far exceeded my expectations. The rooms are big and the cleanest I have seen. The owners are very nice and helpful and you can tell that they care about their property. The rates are reasonable. There is no reason to stay anywhere else

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Good value and great location. Rooms are smaller but clean and well maintained. Friendly staff and a clean pool. Motorcycle friendly parking lot. Layout of hotel and rooms allow for socializing with others.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gymfwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at the Hickory Hill in late September for 3 days just to drive around SW WI. The room was clean, adequate, good wifi, TV, plenty of hot water, and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We liked the family atmosphere and a bit of the "country" feeling being on the outskirts of town. We will return.

Room Tip: There is a section of rooms separate from main building that we stayed in and was very nice and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PMJEastTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Motel this past weekend. We come up several times a year, and just love the place. You can't beat the price, inground pool is a bonus, always clean and comfortable. We have been staying here for the past 14 years when we come to the the area. Always a very relaxing time and great stay. Looking forward to next trip, coming back in a few weeks for final weekend of Trout fishing season.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I have read reviews that are complementry to this property, but I was very disappointed. The price may have been cheap, but we would have certainly paid more for a better room. Our room was not clean, much dust under the bed, dark patches along the seams of the shower stall that appeared to be mold, and a disagreeable odor in the room. There were no plug-ins in the bathroom or anywhere close to a mirror. There was no hair dryer. The bedspread was worn and needed a cleaning. I have read about a continental breakfast, but none was offered at check in and I didn't see it. The people there were very friendly and nice. Maybe they have better rooms in a different area of the motel. There must be better places to stay in the Viroqua area.

Room Tip: Please ask to see your room before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JLR410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viroqua
2.6 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#1 of 3 in Viroqua
33 reviews
7.6 mi away
Old Towne Motel
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
20 reviews
8.6 mi away
Westby House Inn
Westby House Inn
#1 of 1 in Westby
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Brush Creek Inn
Brush Creek Inn
#1 of 2 in Ontario
4 reviews
20.9 mi away
Thornton House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickory Hill Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Hill Motel

Address: S5539 US Highway 14, Viroqua, WI 54665-8604
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Viroqua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Viroqua
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stopped in while traveling in western Wisconsin,trout fishing,hunting,Vernon bike trails, and was amazed by the amenities and price. Free continental breakfast(coffee,orange juice,tea and Swedish rolls),outdoor heated pool (from Memorial day thru Labor day), picnic table outdoor seating area, cable TV over 65 channels and HBO,LCD 32in and 39in flat TV, wireless internet, and very clean. Two queen beds for $68.00(TWO ADULTS) one queen bad $58.00(two adults) king size bad $65.00 summer rates. four rooms are pet friendly,price per pet/per day $10.00. Wonderful! have a great day! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing