We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pizza!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driftless Cafe

Driftless Cafe
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Viroqua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Garrettsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We always eat here when we visit my daughter and grandson in Viroqua. We will be visiting again in August.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mary1067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    33
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Feasting Locally”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

If you are Anywhere near this community, it is SO worth the stop. Awesome menu items, limited in number, but a mouthwatering read. We opted for a delicious pizza with pork, goat cheese, and more topped with pea sprouts. Truly first rate, especially as the 2 of us split a salad and then spent another $6 for 7yr cheddar and goat salami. We took stuff home. Too full for their divine desserts and I could have foregone the delicious second bottle of Rustic Red Ale. We dropped $50 including tip-worth every red cent! My only complaint is the low tin ceiling and good crowd made conversation tougher. But with my bride and I celebrating our 39th, just to share fine local food and gaze into her big brown eyes made for the start of a glorious evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Locavor's Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The other reviewers have nailed it. This is a restaurant definitely worth visiting. Wait staff: superb. Dinners: delectable. Ambience: casual and comfortable. This restaurant is in a great area of Wisconsin, full of hills and hidden valleys. It's called the driftless area because the last glaciers that flattened the eastern and northern portions of the state didn't make it to this corner. It is also full of organic farmers, some new to the concept, and some, the Amish, who have been seriously organic for a long time. There are trout streams everywhere, great hiking and biking, and, at the end of the day, this cozy little restaurant tucked away on a side street in Viroqua that captures the beauty of this area in a menu that changes nightly. After a day of not catching any trout in the streams they had a beautifully prepared rainbow waiting for me to dig into. Also on the menu that night, some delicious duck breast and a nice and complex veggie dish that included sunchokes, purple potatoes and a variety of wild mushrooms. Good wine list, great selection of local craft beers. Go to Viroqua, Paddle the Kickapoo, cast some flies at the trout, bike some serious geography, then stop for a dinner you'll remember.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Press-on-regardless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had an amazing dinner at the Driftless Cafe tonight! We were quite surprised to find such a cozy dining place near to our B&B with such a lovely warm ambiance and a stellar menu. We try to eat healthy, local and organic whenever possible and that is exactly the kind of food they have on hand. They really take full advantage of the fantastic local meat and produce to create a completely delicious menu. Our server was incredibly knowledgeable and the entire staff was helpful and checked-in to make sure everything was great. Our server made excellent recommendations from the charcuterie to the wine to the entree (I had lamb bolognese and my boyfriend had incredible flavorful beef tenderloin); we could not have been happier with our meal. I would recommend to anyone even remotely in the area!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff and expedited service! Delicious Saga IPA on draught along with varying lunch specials with a focus on local sources!! Can't beat that!

Helpful?
Thank Robbob212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Driftless Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Driftless Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing