We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food...vigorous atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driftless Cafe

Driftless Cafe
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Viroqua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
IL
Level Contributor
144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food...vigorous atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This evening we ventured into the Driftless Cafe & Bakery in Viroqua, WI. At first glance you might miss it, but fortunately we knew what we were looking for. The dining room is small and the acoustics were a bit louder than we had expected. Avid conversations going on around us and at times it was difficult to hear one another. Once we got past the noise, we focused on the food and it was divine! I ordered the lamb ragout with gnocchi and kale and hubby ordered the duck breast with wild rice. Both were delicious. One suggestion would be to add more lamb to the ragout. The gnocchi was very tasty, but more lamb would have been preferred. Our server was delightful and very helpful. My husband remarked that it reminded him of the Parisian restaurants we dined at last year....long wait between courses. We met a nice couple from Milwaukee and passed the time while waiting for our food. If you don't mind a noisy environment, then I encourage you to visit. The restaurant has its own special nuances.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    33
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I couldn't stay away. I went back for dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

What a find. I drifted into this in-town nondescript, from the outside, cafe only to discover a masterpiece of wine and fine dining in a small Wisconsin town. It is obvious that the natives are big supporters of this fine restaurant and the chef is a fine supporter of his local farmers as indicated by the chalk board on the wall. I'd put this restaurant right up there with Soupcon in Crested Butte. Check out the menus I've included. They change the menu EVERY DAY!! These kinds of restaurants are few and far between for sure. Dine here. Often.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loghouseJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrettsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We always eat here when we visit my daughter and grandson in Viroqua. We will be visiting again in August.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mary1067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Feasting Locally”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

If you are Anywhere near this community, it is SO worth the stop. Awesome menu items, limited in number, but a mouthwatering read. We opted for a delicious pizza with pork, goat cheese, and more topped with pea sprouts. Truly first rate, especially as the 2 of us split a salad and then spent another $6 for 7yr cheddar and goat salami. We took stuff home. Too full for their divine desserts and I could have foregone the delicious second bottle of Rustic Red Ale. We dropped $50 including tip-worth every red cent! My only complaint is the low tin ceiling and good crowd made conversation tougher. But with my bride and I celebrating our 39th, just to share fine local food and gaze into her big brown eyes made for the start of a glorious evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Locavor's Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The other reviewers have nailed it. This is a restaurant definitely worth visiting. Wait staff: superb. Dinners: delectable. Ambience: casual and comfortable. This restaurant is in a great area of Wisconsin, full of hills and hidden valleys. It's called the driftless area because the last glaciers that flattened the eastern and northern portions of the state didn't make it to this corner. It is also full of organic farmers, some new to the concept, and some, the Amish, who have been seriously organic for a long time. There are trout streams everywhere, great hiking and biking, and, at the end of the day, this cozy little restaurant tucked away on a side street in Viroqua that captures the beauty of this area in a menu that changes nightly. After a day of not catching any trout in the streams they had a beautifully prepared rainbow waiting for me to dig into. Also on the menu that night, some delicious duck breast and a nice and complex veggie dish that included sunchokes, purple potatoes and a variety of wild mushrooms. Good wine list, great selection of local craft beers. Go to Viroqua, Paddle the Kickapoo, cast some flies at the trout, bike some serious geography, then stop for a dinner you'll remember.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Press-on-regardless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Driftless Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing