We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Washburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Coast Inn & Chalets
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Washburn
Shell Lake, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

North Coast Inn and Chalets has clean rooms, comfortable beds and is very reasonable. Walking distance to a number of good restaurants. It is also across the street from a stop for the courtesy bus to Big Top Chautauqua shows. Owners are very friendly and helpful. This is NOT a fancy multi-star motel nor is it priced like one. We stayed there during summer months and liked it.

Room Tip: Didn't notice a big difference between rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    28
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
19
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

THE WORST!!! Stayed there for 2 days to see ice caves. The room was old, counters drawers stove top was all uneven to the point stuff would slide off. And the owners are the rudest motel owners I have ever met. I have stayed at hundreds of hotels all over the United States and have never seen such rudeness in my life. Never would I stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harleyjean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Took my family to see the sea caves in Cornicopia and stayed here. Price was decent, the female owner was pleasant at check in. Went to our room, 18, it stunk, literally. The bed spreads were old and patched. The instructions on the wall ask you to clean up after yourself...wash dishes, take out garbage etc. In the morning the toilet clogged. No plunger in the room, no phone to call the receptionist so I called on my cell and the male owner answered. He told me to come to the office to get "the" plunger. Room 18 and others are not attached to the main building. It is -10 in February, bring it to me. Or better yet, splurge and have one in each room. All in all it is a dump, but you expect that for the price. Lack of customer vision / service is what really make this place a no stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chucbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This is an older hotel but it's clean and everything in the room worked well. Within walking distance of a great brick oven pizza place and pretty much everything in Washburn. We had a comfy stay for a great price.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

this is my second visit and again I was happy. it's true what some of the other reviewers said that the place is kind of old, but the building is solid and comfortable...nicely decorated (different theme in each room) very clean, comfortable bed, responsive thermostat, welcoming colorful patio with comfy adirondack chairs and beautiful blooming flowers. when you look around you see little touches of care...and in the 2 times I was here, I didn't notice any foul smell. or even worse...there was not the heavy smell of air fresheners. it is true that the walls are a bit thin, some noise gets in, but I have experienced worse. as far as the price, you will not find a cheaper place to stay in the area. This is a very desirable vacation spot with many activities in all directions and Washburn is in the middle of it all. A really good value

Room Tip: I will be back and next time I will try a kitchenette like the others suggested
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Don't get me started on the 2 night stay (and inflated prices) policy that ALL the hotels have instituted for the Whistlestop races weekend. But this place is the worst! It's really a horribly run down motel with small, smelly rooms and hardly any sound proofing. We had to go buy Febreeze to try to get rid of some of the smell. Gross! The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. The bathroom is tiny and very old. Anyone talking in the parking lot - even at normal volumes is transmitted right into your room as you try to sleep. Even the lowest of expectations were not met at this dump.

Room Tip: Choose a room somwhere else, anywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lungfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Last year I stayed in a single room. This year I stayed in a kitchenette. As last year it was immaculate. It's about a block from Lake superior. If you get a kitchenette you can ask for a view of the lake. It was unusually cold for late July so unfortunately we got to test the heater, which worked brilliantly. The kitchen is fully stocked. There was a coffee pot in the cupboard but we had to ask the office for coffee, which was cheerfully provided in a zip lock bag. You can make a full home cooked meal if you're so inclined. If you aren't so inclined, the Time Out cafe is next door. And it's within walking distance of downtown Washburn which is handy if you're consuming adult beverages in the establishments there. The kitchenettes would be great for family reunions, several kitchenettes are in the same building surrounding around a central hall (pictured on the Northcoast site) with a fireplace, games, etc. If fishing is your thing, there's an outdoor fish cleaning station with running water. This isn't a modern chain, it's a nice locally owned inn with lots of local charm.

Room Tip: If you get a kitchenette you can ask for a room with a view of the lake. The single rooms are in fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washburn
5.5 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
6.3 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
169 reviews
4.9 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
62 reviews
10.2 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Coast Inn & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Coast Inn & Chalets

Property: North Coast Inn & Chalets
Address: 26 W Bayfield St, Washburn, WI 54891-1130
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Washburn
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Washburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nautical themed 18 unit motel and chalets with kitchenettes. Within walking distance to fishing piers, marinas, coffee shops, restaurants, art galleries, museum, specialty shops, bistro, walking trail and theater. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing