We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place to stay with a group”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Washburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Coast Inn & Chalets
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Washburn
Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun place to stay with a group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent a weekend here in the chalets (A) with 9 people. The chalet was clean and the common area had ample seating with couches, chairs, tables, etc. Each corner room had one or two double beds, at least one room also had a pull out couch. Each room had it's own bathroom and kitchenette. Also a small table with two chairs. The only negative about the place was the deck. It was litterally falling apart and very dangerous. Otherwise, great place to stay with a group.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynberling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    27
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The rooms are old and dated, but everything was clean. Do note that the chalet rooms have full sized beds and not queens (this is listed on their site). There's nothing spectacular here and that's about par for the course in this general region. The owner was very nice and friendly which is always a good thing! My only "knock" I can think of is I think the sign said "great views" or something along those lines. Ummmmmm...no. You're a fair distance away from the lake. You can see it...but there's a lot between the rooms and the lake.

Also note that while they do have wi-fi, we could not access it from the chalet we were in.

Room Tip: If wi-fi is a must, do not stay in the chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alstensby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I just stayed there for the second time in two years. It may appear a bit run-down but it was clean and well prepared. They provided soap and shampoo and extra towels. All rooms have fridge and microwave and the wireless signal was strong even furthest from the office. I marked it "Very good because it is a good value for the area which can get very expensive in the high tourist season.

Room Tip: Previous reviewers complained about smells. I say go to the office immediately or ask to see (and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband, dog and I stayed for two nights in a kitchenette. The price was great for our very limited budget, and since we travel with our dog we have to stay in dog friendly places. Kitchenette was really a full fledged kitchen, with a stove, normal sized fridge and dishes and counter space provided. Very accommodating and friendly owners, enjoyed conversing with them and it is very obvious that they have put a lot of work into restoring the property. I am originally from the area, so the location was excellent for us and within walking distance to shops and restaurants along the main street. It was also so nice to walk a couple blocks down to the marina and little beach with our dog every morning and night. Since this trip was mainly a family visit, it was wonderful to have a place to stay at night where we could have our own space and collect our thoughts. I particularly enjoyed the middle section of the 'chalet,' where there is a bit of a lake view. I enjoyed some of the most wonderful peace and quiet there to catch up on some work before resuming family visits. Overall, great value for the cost of a room. Staying there was a great aspect of our trip!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

North Coast Inn and Chalets has clean rooms, comfortable beds and is very reasonable. Walking distance to a number of good restaurants. It is also across the street from a stop for the courtesy bus to Big Top Chautauqua shows. Owners are very friendly and helpful. This is NOT a fancy multi-star motel nor is it priced like one. We stayed there during summer months and liked it.

Room Tip: Didn't notice a big difference between rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

THE WORST!!! Stayed there for 2 days to see ice caves. The room was old, counters drawers stove top was all uneven to the point stuff would slide off. And the owners are the rudest motel owners I have ever met. I have stayed at hundreds of hotels all over the United States and have never seen such rudeness in my life. Never would I stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harleyjean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Took my family to see the sea caves in Cornicopia and stayed here. Price was decent, the female owner was pleasant at check in. Went to our room, 18, it stunk, literally. The bed spreads were old and patched. The instructions on the wall ask you to clean up after yourself...wash dishes, take out garbage etc. In the morning the toilet clogged. No plunger in the room, no phone to call the receptionist so I called on my cell and the male owner answered. He told me to come to the office to get "the" plunger. Room 18 and others are not attached to the main building. It is -10 in February, bring it to me. Or better yet, splurge and have one in each room. All in all it is a dump, but you expect that for the price. Lack of customer vision / service is what really make this place a no stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chucbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washburn
4.9 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon
6.2 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
10.2 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Coast Inn & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Coast Inn & Chalets

Property: North Coast Inn & Chalets
Address: 26 W Bayfield St, Washburn, WI 54891-1130
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Washburn
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Washburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nautical themed 18 unit motel and chalets with kitchenettes. Within walking distance to fishing piers, marinas, coffee shops, restaurants, art galleries, museum, specialty shops, bistro, walking trail and theater. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing