We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ferry line and cherry train”

Washington Island Ferry Line
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ferry line and cherry train”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We decided to go on the cherry train when purchasing the ferry tickets. Our B&B host recommended us to take the cherry train instead of taking our own car for a half-day trip on the island, and we are glad we did. The cherry train ride offered the opportunities to know more about the history of the island. It took us to several attractions on the island. I enjoyed the Schoolhouse beach, farm house museum, and the Stavkirke the most. The whole train ride took about two hours, and the tour guide was wonderful. She did a very nice job introducing the history of the island and a lot of the houses and fields along the route. The ferry ride was scenic. There was an indoor cabin that provides a shelter if you ever feel the wind is too strong on the deck ;)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    98
    26
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
wheaton IL
Level Contributor
351 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

They have this down to a science, they pack 15 cars, suv's, motorcycles, bikes all on this ferry. You can get out of your car and go to the top deck and see all around of door county and Washington island. It's a smooth ride I have done this a handful of times all different times of the year and it's always smooth!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank zimrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ferry”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went on the car ferry since the waters were too rough for the people ferry. It was so clean and nice!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MicheleIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Scenic Ride”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Having never been on a ferry before, I wasn't sure what to expect, but the ride was great. It's very scenic, but keep in mind that out on the lake the temperature can be quite a bit cooler - even in the summer. They do have an inside part if it gets too cold though.

It's a bit pricey - $13 per adult roundtrip and $26 for a car - but I'd highly recommend taking a car unless you're planning on riding bikes or renting mopeds once you get to the island. There isn't much in walking distance of the dock.

Washington Island is a town of about 700 people and there isn't a whole lot to do there outside of Schoolhouse Beach which is pretty cool, but I would recommend taking the ferry over there and checking it out for a couple hours.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank StephMarieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice trip”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I liked the ferry from the mainland to the island. It takes roughly a half hour each way, but you get to sightsee along the way, both of Wisconsin and the Island. The lake can be a tad rough, so obviously if you get seasick, this may not be the thing to do. I do highly recommend it though because the views are phenomenal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 1roadwarrior10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Washington Island Ferry Line also viewed

Washington Island, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Washington Island Ferry Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing