We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Washington Island Campground
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed over Labor Day weekend in one of cabins. Had stayed in it once before and the tented several years back. Always enjoy wondering the beaches and seeing the area attractions. Cabins are nice w/microwave and small fridge. A good (small) addition would be hooks in the sink/changing room. Also rubber matts in the public bathrooms so you aren't stepping into dirty water/floor as you get out. The bathroom area could have been cleaner and updated. Be sure you have quarters as you head to the showers - it refunds them but need to take a shower. They have done some nice additions over the last few years with the lake/pond and adding floating devices to it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed in one of their "park models' which had seen some heavy activity over the years. We did bring this to the attention of the owners who were very nice. We also stayed in our tent a few nights as well. Campground was quiet and all of the spaces available offer a decent amount of privacy. Our kids loved the pond and inflatable climbing toys. There is wifi in the main building which we appreciated-our cell phones were pretty much useless on the island otherwise. Bathrooms/showers in the club house could have used a good cleaning-but overall it was a positive experience and we would stay again.

Room Tip: I don't think you can choose a "bad" camping spot-however if you need access to a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins with a family of five, and it worked out well. The cabin we stayed in was closer to the main building than most of the campsites. I believe our cabin was a little older than the others, but it was still nice. The floors could have used a good cleaning; the kids had black feet if they took of their shoes for even a minute. I was disappointed in the showers and the main building. A few of the showers did not drain properly, so we had to wait for one that did drain if we didn't want to stand in water from other peoples' showers. No one that worked at the campground was particularly friendly, which was unfortunate. The owners must live upstairs, and there was a lot of kids toys/junk in the stairwell. It just didn't look very professional.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UsuallyHappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

This is a nice campground to stay at if you are looking to spend time on Washington Island. It is not the kind of place that has hiking or a beach, but it is a good spot to set up a homebase in order to explore and enjoy the island. Campsites are on the smaller side but they are wooded and adequate. There are also a small number of cabins available. We have never had trouble showing up and finding a spot, even on holiday weekends. The bathroom and showers are clean and free. The campground is family run and staff are more than willing to help you out any way they can. Firewood is delivered to your campsite for you. Miniature golf is a bit run down but tennis court is useable and there is a nice big field next to the main building where you can spread out and play any sport/game you want. Lots of room for kids to run around.
If you have any questions feel free to contact me at thorpedo88@hotmail.com

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eastsider75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2005

Washington Island Camping Retreat is a campground on Washington Island at the tip of Door County. The ferry ride across the lake to Washington Island takes about 30 minutes and the kids love it. You can get out of the car and sit up in the top of the boat and look at the islands you pass.

The campground is set back in the trees. The campsites are all wooded, and very beautiful. Our campsite was set back from the road, so it was like we were in our own little world. The woods were quiet, the campground was quiet, and Washington Island is beautiful. The bathrooms were the cleanest I have ever seen in a campground, the only downside was it was quite a hike to get to them. We used the car everytime we went up to the main building, which got old after awhile. If staying again, I would ask for a site closer to the main building.

I would recommend staying here and enjoying Washington and Rock Islands.

10  Thank burkehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Washington Island Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Island Campground

Address: 745 Eastside Road, RR1 Box 144, Washington Island, WI 54246-9129
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Washington Island
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Washington Island
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Washington Island Camping Retreat Hotel Washington Island
Washington Island Campground Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing