We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outdated but friendly”

Findlay's Holiday Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Washington Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Findlay's Holiday Inn
Dowagiac, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“outdated but friendly”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

as a washington island tourist, "outdated' or "rustic" accommodations will be typical. businesses have 3 summer months to generate revenue... considering this, findlay's delivers a decent room (only $70!) and delicious breakfast (not complimentary) with friendly service. like the island residents, the owners are generous and hospitable.

Room Tip: room 21 is better than 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stayath0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Door County, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed in the Holiday Too across from the "Holiday Inn." The building takes rustic to a new level...the side entrance door is rotting off the hinges, not only doesn't lock, but doesn't come close to shutting. It looked like they quit in the middle of outside spring cleanup. The rake was left laying in a pile of leaves and it was the 4th of July. Kudos to the young man that mows the 5 acre lawn with a 16" push mower. The room was fairly clean and recently painted. There were numerous holes in the baseboards from long ago. If you are over 6' tall, you will have to duck in the upstairs rooms. We weren't there to watch TV but found it amusing that our laptop has a bigger screen. We did enjoy the Friday night perch fry and breakfast served in the Holiday Inn. There is a nice boardwalk out to a deck that offers a view of Detroit Harbor, Pedersen's Bay and Detroit Island.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JIKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I had read previous reviews, but thought that at this point in time, the owners would have made positive steps. The good news: very good food in their lovely dining room; yard and view were pleasing to the eye; the water from the tap tasted very good. But....the bad news: the musty, moldy smell almost had us cancel and go to a different place at the last minute, and eat the cost of our mistake. The carpeting is filthy; the bed springs were very squeaky. I can handle the quaint atmosphere, but the odors were almost more than I could stand. We kept the windows open for help, but there was no relief. I'm sorry, but I would not recommend this place, I'd rather sleep in my car.

Room Tip: Find a different place, or ask to see the room before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

This motel had a beautiful view from our room. It was a little dusty. My biggest complaint is the bed. Worst. Bed. Ever. It was impossible to sleep soundly when every movement made an incredibly Loud squeak, squeak, squeak. Not worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jbuckles4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beach Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Nice clean breakfast visits over the years. Honest food, service, and prices. Friendly staff. This is an easy walk fronm the ferry dock and close to a few interesting and eclectic shops.
We have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Bad place to stay if you have a desire for cleanliness or have bad allergies. The hotel is older as well as the furnishings. It smells old and musty. My dust and mold allergies were greatly aggravated to the point of a sinus infection. The ownwers seem to work hard and be dedicated but the place is lacking. Most likely due to the staffing of the locals which is unfortunately their only choice. The locals great adversion to work is truly apparent at this establishment. The food has a greasy spoon diner sort of appeal and after 8pm there is little to nothing offered as far as entertainment options.

Room Tip: a room with a lake view distracts from the overall appearance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kes206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

The hotel is a friendly family-run establishment with beautiful grounds, but there are some negatives. The rooms are rather outdated; especially the bathrooms and bedsheets could use updating...some stains/holes on bedsheets/pillowcases and old shower curtains are somewhat hard to ignore. Moreover, the rate is somewhat over-priced for the feel of the property--paying a bit more than what you'd get out of rustic, outdated hotel. The breakfast, which is not included in the rate, is decent enough but nothing special. With that said, the grounds are beautiful and peaceful, lake view is pretty cool if you are staying on second floors, and you can watch the stars out at night on the benches on the large lawn on the back of the building, sitting with your loved ones. Proprietors are very helpful and nice, and entire operation is family run, so that is somewhat of a bonus, supporting small business.

Room Tip: Definitely get rooms on the second floor to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadlifeforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington Island
15.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
374 reviews
18.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
693 reviews
16.0 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
159 reviews
21.7 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
16.2 mi away
Nordic Lodge
Nordic Lodge
#9 of 17 in Sister Bay
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Findlay's Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Findlay's Holiday Inn

Property: Findlay's Holiday Inn
Address: 1 Main Rd, Washington Island, WI 54246-0135
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Washington Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Washington Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Findlay`s Holiday Hotel Washington Island
Holiday Inn Washington Island
Washington Island Holiday Inn
Findlay's Holiday Inn Washington Island, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing