We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, slow service”

Bismarck's Mainstreet Bar & Grill
Ranked #5 of 68 Restaurants in Watertown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Description: Excellent food all around, known for award winning burgers. Great place for food, friends, and a place to meet new friends.
Ixonia, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, slow service”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Absolutely love the food. Unfortunately, every single time we stop there the service is incredibly slow. Most times the bartender is serving drinks and taking care of the tables. We will not stop if we want to be there for anything under an hour. The wait is worth it, don't get me wrong, but better service would go a long way!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good, Inexpensive Bar Food”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The family was hungry after a stop to pick up a few items at the outlets in Johnson Creek. One of the major downsides to Johnson Creek's outlets is the lack of non fast-food options nearby. A quick drive (<15 minutes) to Watertown offers a number of solutions, and while the Elias Inn was closed on this particular day (a Sunday) we decided to check out Bismarck's.

Our entire group of four ordered burgers and a cup of soup (Chicken Torilla, was the SOTD), and I believe we each had a different burger from the menu of 8-12 choices. Everyone was happy with their selection, and the sides were good as well -- I'd definitely recommend getting the onion rings here. The burgers were juicy and flavorful without being greasy, and the prices across the menu were very reasonable.

We will definitely return, although it appears there are a handful of other good options in the nearby downtown Watertown area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Badger417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for a burger and beer”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

While in Watertown, WI for work I asked the staff at my hotel where I could find a good burger and beer for dinner. I was quickly told that Bismarck's was the place to go. The wait staff was prompt and friendly. I drank a couple local beers with a great tri-pepper burger that featured pepperjack cheese, peppered bacon and jalapeno sauce. It was a tasty meal and a good place to watch Monday night football and baseball playoffs.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, WI
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quality food, fast, and inexpensive.”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Bismarck's is a pleasant place for lunch in downtown Watertown. No-smoking policy makes this a frequent stop for a good quick meal. Burgers, fish, and chicken all good.

Helpful?
Thank salsa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Eh, just bar food, nothing special.”
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Your average downtown bar, with a grill. On weekends it's known as the "frat bar"
It is cleaner than most, and the clientele isn't scummy. Younger crowd (just 21)
Everyone has a habit of just walking in the place and seeing a friend and just standing there, right in front of the door making it impossible for others to get in, but once you bite and claw your way past the first few rows, its wide open! It can be deceiving if you just look in the door and it looks like the place is PACKED! Like I said, nothin' special, and always a total frat-boy sausage fest.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bismarck's Mainstreet Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bismarck's Mainstreet Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing