We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, dark, shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Country Springs Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Waukesha
Shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Old, dark, shabby”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here for a wedding. This hotel is old but appears to be well maintained. The primary issue I had was the atmosphere - everything was dark, the carpets, the wall paper, the curtains. It gave the place the appearance of being stuffy and dusty. The rooms were generic and contained old standard furniture. For example, dominating the room was a large vintage 1980's entertainment center. It was huge and ugly and contained an old TV set. Most other hotels nowadays have furniture that is designed specifically for the room. And they all contain flat screen TVs. For the relatively high price charged, I would have expected a lot more.

Finally, when serving coffee they would pour hot coffee into cold cups. This is a big no no. It cools the coffee to a sub-optimal temperature. Then, they provide cold milk that makes the already lukewarm coffee outright unbearable. I would have gladly paid extra for a hot and well-made latte or cappuccino but, needless to say, this was not on the menu. Thank goodness Caribou Coffee was only 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHWShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSH2810, Front Office Manager at The Country Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It appears that we fell short in exceeding your expectations during your last visit. Our intention is to make sure guests are 100% satisfied before departing our property. Please feel free to contact me via email or phone so we can further assist you with you concerns. The condition of your room will be addressed with staff as well as the beverage service. I do look forward to hearing from you and do hope you have a great day. Thank you for your time.


Stacy Barton
Front Office Manager
sbarton@countryspringshotel.com
262-970-5423
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    97
    69
    51
    39
See reviews for
208
24
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The room appeared clean, but the sink was very slow to drain and there was a burnt out light bulb over the sink. There was also a funky smell down some of the hallways. The water park was ok to entertain the kids for a couple of hours, but it's rather small. It was convenient since we attended an event at the hotel, but I will not choose this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travel2316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSH2810, Front Office Manager at The Country Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Please know we do not like to fall short of exceeding our guest expectations. I am so sorry that you did not find our hotel to be 100% satisfying. Our 45,000 square foot indoor water park is a nice family destination and we do hope that you will maybe visit our park again with day passes. If you would like to discuss your guest room concerns further please do not hesitate to contact me. I would appreciate your additional comments very much. Look forward to talking with you and have a great day.

Stacy Barton
Front Office Manager
sbarton@countryspringshotel.com
262-970-5423
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a small, cute water park. Not a Kalahari by any means. There's a lazy river, a couple of slides and pools as well as a jungle gym type kid area. It was fun. The arcade is pretty big-the kids (7 and 10) like it and were happy. The room we had was big-the bathroom is bigger than my bedroom at home! A huge jacuzzi tub-definitely the highlight of the trip. There is a pretty courtyard with beautiful landscaping. We ate at a breakfast buffet located at a restaurant inside the hotel. The service was great. The food-alright. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Get one with the giant jacuzzi!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinUnclejesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSH2810, Front Office Manager at The Country Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent visit to our property. Our intention is to ensure each and every guest has an exceptional experience. We are very happy to hear you will be visiting us again. Please feel free to contact me directly for your reservation needs, this way we can make sure you are reserved in an executive suite with one of those Awesome bathrooms.
Also, if you have any suggestions on different items you would like to see on the breakfast buffet, please feel free to let us know. It is your comments that continue to make us better and reach our goals. Have a wonderful day and look forward to seeing you again.

Stacy Barton
sbarton@countryspringshotel.com
262-970-5423
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crescent, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Probably just better to bullet point this

1) Puke in the shower drain that filled into the tub. When we let the front desk know, we were told that it wasn't puke. Trust me - the red and brown chunks were puke.

2) Pink stain on bed spread

3) Didn't use waterpark although paid for it. My teenage daughter said it was too dirty but I didn't see it.

4) Almost forgot 4 am fire alarms. Also caused me to oversleep, missing continental breakfast.
4) Checking in was efficient. Didn't check out because lobby was full of new guests and only one woman working.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSH2810, Front Office Manager at The Country Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. Our intention is to provide every guest with exceptional service and exceed their expectations. We obviously fell short in multiple areas during your visit and would like to make that up to you. If you would like to discuss your visit further or if we could invite you back for a future visit to our park please feel free to contact me at 262-547-0201 or you are welcome to email me at sbarton@countryspringshotel.com
We appreciate your patronage very much and your comments will most certainly be addressed. I look forward to speaking with you soon. Make it a great day and thank you for your time.

Stacy Barton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waukesha hotels

MN
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The Pro's - the hotel was lovely, clean and well kept. The bathroom was huge. The breakfast was very good. The waterpark was wonderful the first night. It is on the smaller side, but that made it fun for the family to wander without any issues. We loved the slides, the lazy river, the water temperature, the pool with basketball, and the indoor/outdoor hottub.
The Con's - they literally brought in busloads (at least 4 full busses) of unsupervised kids upon opening the waterpark. The pool was wall-to-wall kids and there were still more coming in. We had to wait more than 20 minutes for a slide and there were kids trying to get in front in line. There were kids running all over and doing flips into the pools. It was over-crowded and out-of-control.
Unless we were guaranteed that there would not be busloads of kids, we won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSH2810, Front Office Manager at The Country Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your room and other amenities. That is fantastic to hear and it shows that our dedication to superior service is working. I am however sorry to hear that you did not have the same experience in the water park during our visits from areas schools, clubs and other children's organizations. Summer is quite a fun time for children and water parks so if it would help you, always know that you can call ahead of time and we can provide a projection of how busy our water park will be. Please feel free to contact me at 262-547-0201 if you would like to discuss anything further and again thank you for your time. Make it a great day!

Stacy Barton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is for those that are just visiting the waterpark for the day..

I made a trip there for the first time for a pre birthday celebration.

1) Staff was pleasant and accommodating! We made the half hour trip there, got dropped off at about 11:30 am and found out that the other person in the party forgot part of their bathing suit. The lady at the desk was made aware after I had to call our ride back and right away she was going to reinstate our splash passes for another day. We ended up staying anyways.

2) We were informed right away that a large group (a couple hundred) of rowdy kids would be there until 3. Rowdy was an understatement. It was nuts. There was no where to go because the kids were everywhere. The life guards were on their toes as the kids refused to listen or share their space. The whirlpool was out of commission due to pouring rain, so except for the arcade, we were stuck eating and watching everyone else have fun. It sucked big time. I heard many people complaining to the front desk and from what i also heard, my experience was tame. This coming friday, 500 ppl are scheduled to come in. That's way too many in my opinion.

Once 3 came around, it was fun and peaceful. We stayed until close to maximize what time we did have. The arcade was awesome though!

So all in all, my experience was worth half of what I paid for, since we did not get to do anything remotely fun for 4 hours. I am glad I didn't rent a room, like I was originally planning. Not worth it. I do plan on going again in hopes if i call ahead, I can plan a bit better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Crazy4catz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had plans in the Milwaukee area on the afternoons of Saturday July 6 and Sunday July 7, so we thought we'd treat the kids to a hotel stay with a water park instead of driving back and forth to our home in Madison. We arrived at the hotel hot and anxious to go swimming around 4 p.m. When we checked into our room we were told that because we had booked our room through Expedia, the water park was not included in the $145 we had paid. I was shocked and said that was not made clear in the reservation and the desk person told me that it should have been printed clearly on my Expedia confirmation.

She first offered to charge me a surcharge of $25 per person per day (she would not count the overnight between 4 p.m. and 11 a.m. checkout as one day). I was shocked. She was suggesting we pay $200 to use the water park while we were at the hotel. She then offered to reduce the surcharge to their weekday rate of $15 per person per day for a total of $120. At that point she said take it or leave it. My reservation was prepaid. If it hadn't been I would have left at that point. I told her I had to check the reservation myself and searched for it on my iphone. She looked visibly annoyed by me and said that was what I should expect when I booked through a 3rd party vendor and not the hotel directly. I told her that I travel frequently and often use Expedia and have never had anything similar happen before. She treated me like I was lying or naive. I asked her what the rate with the water park would have been if I booked it through them directly and she told me $199.

Due to a poor wireless connection it was a slow process and I tried the guest computers in the lobby but those seemed to have the same problem as my phone. I finally found the reservation and showed it to the desk attendant saying I could not find any indication on it that the water park was excluded and there were photos of the water park all over the hotel information section. She looked at it and then pointed to a section of the confirmation under the heading of Additional Hotel Services and in small print it said "A fee will be charged for use of certain facilities" There was no other statement anywhere which would have alerted us to the fact that they meant the highly advertised water park. I looked at her with dismay. She finally grudgingly said that she would give us the passes. So while she made it right in the end, she made us feel like freeloaders and 2nd class guests for booking through Expedia.

The proposed charge of $25 a day was highway robbery. After I got home, I looked at their website and the difference between their rate that includes the water park and their rate that excludes the water park is $10 per room not per person. So while they wanted to charge us $200 for use of a facility, they would have only charged us $10 if we had booked through them. I suppose some of the blame falls on Expedia too for not making it clear that the water park was excluded, but who knows what the hotel disclosed to them on this issue. In the end, it was the hotel that should have provided better customer service in addressing this situation.

By the way, the water park is OK but small compared to other water park resorts. My kids enjoyed it for a few hours, but then decided not to return to it the next morning. I wouldn't spend $25 a day on it even if I wasn't staying at the hotel.

The hotel itself is very dated. Our room had a very humid feel to it and smelled musty and moldy. The air conditioner was very loud. We had a lovely view of a wall 6 feet outside our window. The sheets and carpeting felt damp too.

Several years ago I had stayed here for business a few times, and I don't remember it being bad at that time. However, I can guarantee I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugMadison_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukesha
1.0 mi away
Best Western Waukesha Grand
5.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Milwaukee Brookfield
2.4 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 4 in Pewaukee
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Milwaukee Marriott West
Milwaukee Marriott West
#1 of 4 in Pewaukee
284 reviews
8.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee West (Brookfield)
4.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Waukesha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Springs Hotel

Property: The Country Springs Hotel
Address: 2810 Golf Rd, Waukesha, WI 53072-5449
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Waukesha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Waukesha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Country Springs Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Springs Hotel, Water Park and Conference Center, located only 20 minutes west of Milwaukee, is situated on 40 picturesque acres of the Kettle Moraine Countryside. Our luxurious whirlpool suites, 40,000 square feet of meeting space, 2 restaurants and a 45,000 square foot Water Park is the *Essence of Hospitality*. Each of guest rooms include free WiFi, microwave and refrigerator. Suites offer spacious, marble bathrooms with whirlpool tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Country Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Springs Hotel
Country Springs Waukesha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing