We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Clarke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarke Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waukesha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Our family had 7-8 rooms for a wedding in Waukesha last weekend. Lovely rooms, very clean and well furnished. The staff was great. Yes, the parking was a challenge and breakfast was just a simple sweet roll but come on! It's eclectic, right downtown, plenty of good food around. We walked each morning on the riverwalk. Beautiful!! We can't wait to come back!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Lcrich56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for The Clarke Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

Spent 4 nights at the Clarke Hotel and loved the extra large room and bathroom including a multi-head shower. In the center of the old part of Waukesha, it was quaint with a great farmer's market on Saturday and street entertainment on Friday evenings -- a better experience that the standard chain hotel room. Give it a try.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slwcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I was doing some work in the Waukesha area and used the site to pinpoint the closest Hotel to where I was working. The Clark was the closest. Upon arrival at the Hotel, it was almost 2:15am and I had to be buzzed in. They had a couple security questions, so that was nice. The gentlemen that was working the front desk was Josh. He quickly had my paperwork and was very social for that time of night. What bothered me at this point was that there was both a "Sign" and your "Initials Required" that if you park out front overnight, you will get a $20 ticket by the City of Waukesha. What's that about? Where do you park? Well, you have (2) options. First, they give you a map and you can drive a couple blocks to a lot; or, you can Valet Park for $7. I opted for the Valet. 2:00am in the morning, I am not going to drive around and look for a lot. That's the ONLY negative of the whole place as far as I could tell.

So, as far as the room goes, I could not believe that I received all of these ammenities for $97/night through Hotels.com. There are pictures so please check them out. All of the plumbing/bath fixtures were Kohler, and boy was the (4) headed-shower a nice way to spend 20-minutes. There was also a Kohler Spa Tub but I did not get a chance to use it. The Vanity was at least 72" and it had a TON of room to layout your overnight bag. Very, Very Nice quality stuff here.

There was a little nook that had a Mini-Fridge (stocked with Pop/Water/Etc.) and Keurig Coffee Maker with (4) pods of coffee. Flat Screen TV, uncomplicated Alarm Clock (I hate the new ones that require an engineering degree to figure out), stereo system, etc. Very nice room.

If you are in the area, it is definately worth staying here, but be prepared to either Valet Park or drive around for a spot. If you're not opposed to this inconvenience, it's definately worth the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altitudejunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

but downtown isn't that nice - yet? it's a alternative to the normal boxes, but the parking is a pain, their is no free breakfast. I was here on a Wednesday night and it was still a little noise from the street/bars.

i'd stay again, but know know what to expect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

First of all, there is no parking at this hotel and the only spaces in front are for valet. There are no signs telling you where to park which lead to a 20 minute drive around the city looking for parking. Once I found parking a few blocks away, it only took cash. No $20's or credit accepted. I had to go find change and come back and then the machine wouldn't work. Very frustrating. The lady at the front desk was very cold and uncaring when I told her about my experience. She didn't give me any information about the hotel and I had to go back to get the password for the wi-fi. Breakfast is a joke. Just some pastries and coffee. No tub in my room. You can hear everything on the street and it is VERY noisy. Only stay here if you are looking for a great view of a bar and tattoo parlor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

With a student starting at Carroll U in the fall, we will definitely be back to the Clarke. It's a fairly new boutique hotel in old downtown Waukesha, not too far from the Carroll campus. This is not a big city 5 star luxury boutique, so reset your expectations. Valet parking is available if you don't want to park in the garage which is two blocks away. There is no overnight street parking. Lobby is on the 2nd floor. Staff was very helpful and nice. Rates are very affordable. Our room was quite large with a sitting area and work area. The bed was super comfy and the linens were upscale. The Kohler shower and bubble tub were awesome! Room was very clean and quiet. Close to a few coffee shops and restaurants/ bars so walking in the area is easy. A nice change from the big chains. Thank you Clarke!!!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank campceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

While the room was lovely, I have a few problems with our stay. The website clearly stated that all rooms would have a tub. Having a knee injury, this was very important to me. Our room however did not have one. When Mentioned to the woman at the front desk I was blown off with some blaming of the website. The room was also unreasonably cold and took hours to warm up. Not so good on one of the coldest nights of the year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukesha
3.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Milwaukee Brookfield
3.3 mi away
The Country Springs Hotel
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Waukesha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Milwaukee - Waukesha
2.6 mi away
Best Western Waukesha Grand
2.7 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#4 of 4 in Pewaukee
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarke Hotel

Address: 314 W Main St, Waukesha, WI 53186-4605
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Waukesha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waukesha
Price Range: £98 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Clarke Hotel in beautiful Waukesha Wisconsin! Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Waukesha, Wisconsin, at the landmark Five Points Junction, The Clarke Hotel is a unique treasure. The Clarke Hotel offers intimate luxuriousness in a relaxing, historic neoclassical style - including tasteful full-service hotel accommodations, and amenities for the corporate and leisure traveler. The Clarke Hotel is a unique hotel experience in the new "boutique" tradition, and is characterized by its unique and historic architecture, and an intimate, charming appeal. A stay at The Clarke Hotel is always sure to evoke pleasant feelings and memories will have you coming back again and again! First opening in 2008 after extensive and exhaustive renovation, yet retaining the distinct flavor of heady days gone by, The Clarke Hotel occupies four historic buildings in the heart of Waukesha's business and arts district, and is only minutes away from sites and attractions in metropolitan Milwaukee. The Clark Hotel combines contemporary sophistication with old-world charm You will be surprised and pleased by our unique, sophisticated, modern, and comfortable accommodations for you, your loved ones, or that "Very Important Person" or guest - the value, attention to detail, and the Wisconsin "home town" feel of Waukesha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Clarke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing