We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you don't mind the parking”
Review of The Clarke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarke Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waukesha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel was very quiet; I heard people a couple times, but didn't see any other guests. The beds are very comfortable. The pillows are nice, but too thick for me. They did supply me with 2 smaller/thinner ones after I asked. I must have had an upgraded room since there was one big tub/shower room. There were 4 shower heads and another with a detachable sprayer. The tub was deep with whirlpool bubbles. All was very clean. There were snacks and drinks available in the room for $2. I could hear people easily on the street (if they were there) as the windows were a bit thin, but there really weren't too many people around. It's walking distance to many restaurants, bars, shops. The ONLY thing I didn't like was having to walk 2.5 blocks to a parking garage that was pretty desolate. I didn't mind the walk necessarily, but in the winter would not want to do it - especially with a suitcase. It was $2 cash/night. There is valet service, but only during specified hours.

Room Tip: Get a room with a great shower/tub!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at The Clarke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Jennifer L,

Thank you very much for choosing The Clarke Hotel for your visit to Waukesha! I am glad to hear you enjoyed our in-room amenities including the mini-bar and snack basket, as well as our great downtown neighborhood.

We do offer valet parking 24 hours per day. You have the choice of either valet or self-parking in a parking structure which is two short blocks away from the hotel. You could even self park one night and valet another, depending on what level of convenience you desire!

I look forward to a return visit from you in the future. Do not hesitate to call the hotel and I will set up your accommodation arrangements personally.

Sincerely,

David Smart
General Manager
The Clarke Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for The Clarke Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Room and bathroom were great - huge, clean, warm comfortable and very well equipped with great extras like the coffee maker, bar fridge etc.
I'll be back because the price is right and the location is perfect for the University, however property seriously needs a complete interior redesign. All the dark browns and mustards come across as desolate, gloomy and lonely! Interior should be in bright, light colours. Really need a reception area on the street level. As is now, not very welcoming and some what off putting when arriving late evening. Change the current reception area into a bright, cheery breakfast area and def step up the continental breakfast offerings!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at The Clarke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hello,

I am glad we can provide warm, friendly accommodations for you while visiting Carroll University. As you know, we are conveniently located within five minutes of Carroll's campus.

Very soon, it is likely that the restaurant and bar will be open on our main level. This should help guests feel more welcome when arriving at our property. Additionally, we will be expanding the continental breakfast offerings this week.

I hope you will stay with us again to experience these improvements. Please call me to arrange your reservation when you know your future travel plans will bring you back to Waukesha!

Sincerely,


David Smart
General Manager
The Clarke Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have stayed in some pretty shabby places, but The Clarke Hotel I felt like a QUEEN! Everything was unbelievable, from the fixtures to the bed!!!! I didn't want to leave! The room was very clean, coffee in the morning, the staff was very pleasant , there is nothing we can complain about and will return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Wow, the Clarke Hotel was so cool. Our room was huge and brightly decorated with colorful art and furniture. The room had a fun shape to it and one wall was completely covered with large, sunny windows that overlooked Main Street in downtown Waukesha. The bathroom was amazing! A large room with black and white tile, a wonderful walk-in shower with four shower heads and a sitting area, and even a make-up mirror. We had a fridge and Keurig coffee maker in our room as well as snacks available for purchase. In the morning, complimentary danishes, orange juice, and coffee were also available .The only drawbacks that some guests might find would be that there was a little noise from the street, not much parking, and staff not at desk all night. But none of these posed any problems to us, and I think that if one is aware of these things before arriving, then they should not be a problem to them either. The noise did not bother us. We were traveling with our four year old daughter, and we were all able to fall asleep early. There is cheap parking a block away, just ask front desk about it. And, if one wants staff to be at the desk all night, then they could stay at a chain hotel. This is a charming boutique hotel and there is no need to have someone staffing the desk all of the time. We felt safe and at home at the Clarke. Entrance to the hotel can only be obtained with a key card, so one does not need to worry about strangers coming in from off of the street. The housekeepers arrived right away to keep the hotel immaculate, and continental breakfast was available early in the morning. The hotel lobby was attractively decorated and there was even a lovely bench in the elevator! My family and I look forward to staying at The Clarke Hotel the next time that we find ourselves in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed at the Clarke while visiting my daughter, a student at Carroll University. The Clarke is the closest hotel to the University, situated in the center of town. And that is both a blessing and a curse. It is very convenient for visiting the shops and restaurants downtown and it is very noisy at night on the weekends. We had a large comfortably appointed room on the 3rd floor, and that was both a blessing and a curse - great view of main street but lots of stair walking (no elevator to the third floor). The staff was accommodating but there was an air of emptiness to the entire hotel. If you are spending a lot of time on the Carroll campus, this is still the best bet for hotels.

Room Tip: South facing rooms are very noisy on the weekends. Third floor rooms require a lot of stair-walking.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at The Clark to enjoy an evening of Friday Night Live in Waukesha. The hotel was in a fabulous location with short, easy walks to dinner, the live music, breakfast spot the next morning, and the farmers market on the river. The staff were all very helpful and our room was a spacious corner "suite". The bed was like a heavenly bed... Aaaahhh :) we arrived before 5pm so there was no issue with leaving the car out front for $10.00 valet fee. (After 5 on Fridays during summer the street is closed for the bands). We really had a great stay and would return again!!
No restaurant and bar at the hotel right now but many choices right out the door.

Room Tip: The corner room on the second floor was terrific!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Deluxe room with a king bed is very large. Decor was fun and the bathroom in the room was different. The shower had 5 shower heads! Found a nice park in Waukesha. The street noise was a little annoying in the evening. The Valet parking was a good deal at 7$ per night.
The location is within 30 min drive to downtown Milwaukee and the lakeshore.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshualoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukesha
3.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Milwaukee Brookfield
3.3 mi away
The Country Springs Hotel
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Waukesha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Milwaukee - Waukesha
2.6 mi away
Best Western Waukesha Grand
3.1 mi away
Milwaukee Marriott West
Milwaukee Marriott West
#1 of 4 in Pewaukee
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarke Hotel

Address: 314 W Main St, Waukesha, WI 53186-4605
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Waukesha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waukesha
Price Range: £99 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Clarke Hotel in beautiful Waukesha Wisconsin! Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Waukesha, Wisconsin, at the landmark Five Points Junction, The Clarke Hotel is a unique treasure. The Clarke Hotel offers intimate luxuriousness in a relaxing, historic neoclassical style - including tasteful full-service hotel accommodations, and amenities for the corporate and leisure traveler. The Clarke Hotel is a unique hotel experience in the new "boutique" tradition, and is characterized by its unique and historic architecture, and an intimate, charming appeal. A stay at The Clarke Hotel is always sure to evoke pleasant feelings and memories will have you coming back again and again! First opening in 2008 after extensive and exhaustive renovation, yet retaining the distinct flavor of heady days gone by, The Clarke Hotel occupies four historic buildings in the heart of Waukesha's business and arts district, and is only minutes away from sites and attractions in metropolitan Milwaukee. The Clark Hotel combines contemporary sophistication with old-world charm You will be surprised and pleased by our unique, sophisticated, modern, and comfortable accommodations for you, your loved ones, or that "Very Important Person" or guest - the value, attention to detail, and the Wisconsin "home town" feel of Waukesha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing