We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay was Ruined when Items were Stolen”
Review of The Clarke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarke Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waukesha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel room was great, but about 5 hours after I checked out I realized I left 2 brand-name tops (one of which still had the tag on it) hanging in the closet I called the hotel and was told by the manager that the tops were not in the closet or the lost and found, and that the housekeeper said that she had not seen them in the room. I realize it was my mistake to leave them behind, but an enjoyable stay was ruined by a hotel employee's unethical behavior.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank mkruse75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We wanted to get out of Milwaukee to stay overnight after a concert. It was just what we needed. Delightful coffee/breakfast spot on the corner, quiet nights sleep and we had a head start the next morning for our trip back to MPLS. Very nice rooms and friendly staff. BTW, Once you have a key you don't need to buzz in:-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012travellingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

About a year ago, I was searching for a high quality but lower priced hotel for a night getaway. I booked what I thought was a suite room, but when I arrived, I was sent to the top floor of this hotel where the rooms were smaller. It wasn't what I was expecting, but still was a very nice hotel. There is no elevator to the top floor though, so expect to climb some stairs. I enjoyed the smaller town, downtown feel on the weekend. There are a few restaurants nearby, and there were lots of bars. The bed was wonderful as was the larger than typical bathtub. I enjoyed my stay and hope to return someday to take advantage of the management's offer to upgrade the room due to the confusion with my first booking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallaghermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived later in the evening to find out that there is no parking lot for the hotel, it would be nice if that was on the web site. The front desk person was very pleasant. When we entered the room the light bulb in the entry was burned out and we both tripped on the wavy carpet that needs to be re-stretched trying to find a light switch. The room was very clean and the bathroom exceptional, loved the tub and the shower. The bed was very comfy nice linens. In the morning when making coffee with the in room kurig We realized the cups provided were not big enough so we had coffee all over the counter. We defiantly feel that the management team might want to take a tour of each of there rooms as if they are a guest not staff. Overall a nice place to stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This spot would not have been a consideration if we had not found a Living Social deal. We usually stay at a Comfort Inn level hotel. This was very high-end with the biggest rooms and bathroom I've ever seen. It was decorated in a dramatic 30s era style color scheme with clean lines and tailored design. The huge shower had 5 heads which operated several different ways for as little or as much full body spray you like. The bed was a king and very posh and comfortable with comfortable (and numerous) pillows, European style bedding with a duvet covered in top and bottom sheets, a fridge with drinks and goodies to purchase and a Kuerig coffee pot and free coffees. No restaurant when we were there but there was one downstairs that apparently would be reopening as the new owner took over. It literally changed ownership on one of the days we stayed there but was purchased by a company with a high-end property in downtown Milwaukee. I can only assume it will remain at the same level of quality.

The only downside for us; like many downtown hotels, the parking is off-site. They offered valet parking for $7 a day or you could put your car in the city lot a block and 1/2 away for $3. It was not inconvenient since the weather was fine for walking the short distance. There was no pool. Don't know about an exercise room or sauna....

Room Tip: Don't choose 206 or 205. They are at the point of the hotel which is a good view but the AC uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyTraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

After many stays at "corporate" hotels in Waukesha/Pewaukee, I finally found this gem of a hotel. Now I've stayed about once a week fro the last two months. It's unique, in a great location and is very luxurious.

Each room is a little different, but all have at least a king bed and a Kohler spa shower in the bathroom. The rooms are clean and modern. Only complaint is that the desks are virtually useless. It is my understanding that new desks may be an improvement they do soon. Wireless internet is strong and reliable.

The parking is not bad- the garage which costs $3 overnight is a 3-5 minute walk away or they will valet your car for $7 per night. It's worth the valet charge as the car is back in front of the hotel by 6 am or earlier if you need it.

There are many great restaurants and bars to walk to. In a minute or less. People's Park, Sprizzo, Generations on the 5 Points, Sakura and Key Westconsin are all great choices.

Rumor has it that they will be reopening the on -site bar and restaurant sometime this year. It looks like a fabulous space- I'm hoping it opens soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BuckyBadger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A week's stay in a hotel is normally a long time with typical small rooms and standard amenities. A week's stay at the Clarke Hotel was a delight with an extremely comfortable King bed, wetbar, luxury bathroom (shower jets, jetted separate deep soaking bathtub), sitting area, desk, stereo to stream Pandora from my iPhone and a fabulous bathrobe. The Clarke offers coffee and pastry in the morning but be certain to also visit the Steaming Cup for coffee and breakfast or lunch. Waukesha has many restaurants/bars, shops and art galleries within walking distance of the hotel.

Will I go back? Without doubt!! And I need to mention the great staff and customer service, too!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KDJ927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukesha
3.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Milwaukee Brookfield
3.3 mi away
The Country Springs Hotel
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Waukesha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Milwaukee - Waukesha
2.6 mi away
Best Western Waukesha Grand
3.1 mi away
Milwaukee Marriott West
Milwaukee Marriott West
#1 of 4 in Pewaukee
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarke Hotel

Address: 314 W Main St, Waukesha, WI 53186-4605
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Waukesha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waukesha
Price Range: £100 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Clarke Hotel in beautiful Waukesha Wisconsin! Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Waukesha, Wisconsin, at the landmark Five Points Junction, The Clarke Hotel is a unique treasure. The Clarke Hotel offers intimate luxuriousness in a relaxing, historic neoclassical style - including tasteful full-service hotel accommodations, and amenities for the corporate and leisure traveler. The Clarke Hotel is a unique hotel experience in the new "boutique" tradition, and is characterized by its unique and historic architecture, and an intimate, charming appeal. A stay at The Clarke Hotel is always sure to evoke pleasant feelings and memories will have you coming back again and again! First opening in 2008 after extensive and exhaustive renovation, yet retaining the distinct flavor of heady days gone by, The Clarke Hotel occupies four historic buildings in the heart of Waukesha's business and arts district, and is only minutes away from sites and attractions in metropolitan Milwaukee. The Clark Hotel combines contemporary sophistication with old-world charm You will be surprised and pleased by our unique, sophisticated, modern, and comfortable accommodations for you, your loved ones, or that "Very Important Person" or guest - the value, attention to detail, and the Wisconsin "home town" feel of Waukesha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing