We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Wisconsin Dinner Club”
Review of Rex's Innkeeper

Rex's Innkeeper
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Waunakee
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Wisconsin Dinner Club”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have eaten at Rex's many times and have also held several meetings there. The food is consistent and good. If you like the old style supper clubs you will be right at home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_McDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
147 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We went there with 3 other couples for an anniversary and all had different items on the menu. The comment was made at the end of dinner that nobody had anything that was not done to perfection. Usually when you do this somebody has a problem with something over cooked or not done enough. I wo0uld say they have an A game, service was great also.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waunakee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Rex's Innkeeper”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Owned by a home town boy, he is frequently seen in the restaurant chatting with customers. My fav meal is their banquet meal of chix, ham, mashed potatoes, gravy, dressing etc. The salad bar even has pickled herring. The baked cod on Fri. is exceptionally tender and tasty.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Small Town Supper Club”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I've been to Rex's a few more times than I would really prefer. Having lived in Waunakee for many years, I tend to go more out of convenience. Each time, I hope to find the food quality has improved, but I'm rarely too impressed. I've always had a positive experience with the service staff, but the quality of the meals is not up to the Wisconsin Supper Club standard you might expect based on the quaint charming appearance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethR_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A steady supper club that serves good food at a good price.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

They also have reasonable lunch choices too. Good basic menu to choose. They do a good Friday fish fry as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dewski33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rex's Innkeeper also viewed

 

Been to Rex's Innkeeper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing