We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy desserts”

The Secret Garden Cafe
Ranked #11 of 45 Restaurants in Waupaca
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This restaurant is in The Green Fountain Inn B & B and it's amazing!!
Merlin, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Yummy desserts”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Ordered coconut cake, flourless chocolate cake, and NY style cheesecake from here for our wedding reception. They were all out of this world, and Barb the Baker was wonderful to work with!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank msplaykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    4
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Ok, Main street is repaved and access from downtown Waupaca is much easier. We didn't have reservations, but were told that they would be able to seat us. The restaurant is very small... I think seating is limited to about 20 diners. We weren't sure about our dining experience, but went full out and ordered a bottle of wine. My husband had the soup and I had the salad and we swapped halfway thru. Both were excellent and we were wondering if the entree would be as good. It was better !! Well-balanced with fresh vegetables and delicate sauce made it a delight. Knowing that they have awesome desserts, we added their wonderful creme brulee with raspberries to finish our meal. It was creamy and smooth and wondered if their other desserts were as good (I've been assured that they are). Service is a little scattered; different people from the kitchen enter the dining rooms to serve, pour water, clear dishes, etc. Perhaps if one person was in charge of water, clearing dishes, greeting people, etc., it might run smoother. Maybe they were just short-handed tonight. We consider Green Fountain Inn a wonderful place for special, fine dining. I would encourage reservations We are planning on having lunch there soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fremont906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place for a ladie's lunch”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Good food in a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Make sure you take home some freshed baked goods.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank north1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb food, rivaling best restaurants in big cities”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have gone to this restaurant for both lunch and dinner, and have been extremely impressed at both meals. They are open very limited hours, and dinner only on Friday and Saturday nights, but well worth going. It is part of a small B & B, and so it's best to call ahead to let them know you are coming. The chef came out personally and told us what dishes besides the menu items he would prepare. Two at our table got salmon with Door County cherry sauce, with fresh, crisp-cooked vegetables, and small potatoes of at least three varieties cooked to perfection. We sampled a chocolate cake with three berries (blueberries, raspberries and blackberries) that was to die for! It runs a little pricey for Waupaca, with the dinners starting about $25.00, but well worth the price. Great atmosphere, and an excellent wine selection, too.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Terface52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

A special place to go for lunch with friends or family. Limited menu but very good food.

Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Secret Garden Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Secret Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing