We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing and surprising find from a place in the middle of nowhere”

The Secret Garden Cafe
Ranked #12 of 45 Restaurants in Waupaca
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This restaurant is in The Green Fountain Inn B & B and it's amazing!!
minneapolis,
Level Contributor
144 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A refreshing and surprising find from a place in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The food was really authentic, natural, right-sized and have that home-made quality. Order the crab cakes and the roast beef. They were really a welcome change from the usual fanfare of burgers, fries and all those greasy-laden, commercial food type. This is a rare find. We are lucky for looking it up here on trip advisor!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank truthintraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    4
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gourmet Meal in Romantic Setting”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Fabulous food and quiet place. This is where we go for very special occasions for an extraordinary meal. The chef is creative and specializes in local, fresh dishes - he's amazing! We have repeat guests who are world travelers staying at our Crystal River Inn B&B and when they're here for a weekend they have both dinners at Green Fountain!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Mushroom Ravioli is fabulous!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Every part of my meal was exceptional. The salad was fresh, large and served with a poppy seed homemade dressing. I usually pass on bread but I had two pieces of their homemade sourdough bread - fresh from the oven. The Mushroom Ravioli was not only delicious, it was a large portion that did not leave me wishing I had more which is usually the case when I order ravioli. And the desserts! Luckily I was sharing a table with friends so we ordered one of each and each one was better than the next! I got 2 pieces of the beer (didn't taste like beer) cheesecake to take home and it was every bit as good the next day. I will go there again the next time I am in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEllen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waupaca
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Secret Garden is always special”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Secret Garden located inside the Green Fountain Inn is a very special spot for lunch. Cindy does a great job creating an old world atmosphere at this cozy inn and the waitstaff and chef's add to the feeling of dining in a very special historic home. Food is fresh, salads are crisp the desserts are homemade with a special flair.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ToToTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waupaca, WI
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent Evening”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Hidden among the batter fried and grilled chees laden sandwich places of Waupaca is this small B and B. It offers a high end dinner experience on Friday and Saturday (reservations helpful). I have eaten here a few times and enjoyed each visit. Chef Michael delivers original and imaginative dishes. There are usually a filet, fish and pasta dishes. Last night our table dined on crab stuffed shrimp, salmon with veggies and linguine Alfredo and a pan seared walleye. Salads and bread are good. Dessert is homemade and fantastic (carrot cake and anything chocolate are recommended). My only complaint is their wine list. It's simple and plain but you may bring your own. The setting is quaint in a >100 year old house along main street Waupaca by a beautiful fireplace. This is a must do for a special occasion if in the area and worth the drive from Stevens Point or Appleton for a special night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WaupacaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Secret Garden Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Secret Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing