We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect too much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Foxfire
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Waupaca
minneapolis,
Level Contributor
144 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't expect too much”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here as a layover trip back to Minnesota and I must say, I have no expectations at all as it is $90++/night. But it was really what we were getting. The management has already gotten in touch with us but as a trip advisor member, I feel obligated to still put my review online. So the room was not clean at all: it had bunk beds (as we were traveling with my two sons) but the ceiling above has a smudge of dirty something. the wall by the lower bunk bed, towards the foot of the bed had something dripping before and had not been clean. There were bean bags for the kids and a TV in front, but the bean bags are dirty. The sconces by the TV area, where the king/queen bed was, have billowing cobwebs. The floor of the bathroom, was not cleaned well and the hinges of the toilet seat were either rusty and/or really plain nasty and every time you put up/down the seat, the stuff inside where the hinges are fall on the toilet rim...It was really disgusting. I must admit though that the staff was really courteous, polite and friendly. Even their breakfast was pretty good. But these cannot compensate for that horrible room. There are a few choices of hotels and places to stay here in Waupaca, as it is a small town. We thought this was the best so far. But...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truthintraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Foxfire, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
I do apologize for your stay with us, things of this nature will not be tolorated here, and I am making changes that will make our guests have an enjoyable stay. Thank you for bringing this to my attention so we can make improvements with our cleaning program
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    22
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
16
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
581 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It's ironic that this hotel's facade boasts a castle-like arch. This hotel is rather palatial. Rooms were huge - lots of empty floor space, tow queen+ beds, and a sofabed. Spotlessly clean, we enjoyed the indoor pool and the large hot tub. Breakfast was filling and the blueberry waffle batter was a special treat. Just outside of Waupaca and two miles from King, this would be a great base for exploring the Chain of Lakes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gause, TX
Level Contributor
246 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a very nice Comfort Suites and we enjoyed our stay. The room was large and quite nice. Very comfortable. Everything worked as it was supposed to. No surprises. The staff was most helpful and everyone went out of their way to be nice. The free breakfast was about average. The hotel is behind a parking lot and a restaurant, so it is not easy to see how to get there. You have to wind your way through the parking lot which is quite strange.There was plenty of parking at the hotel as well.

This hotel was above the normal Comfort Inn Suites and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Foxfire, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dan F

Thank you for your review of the hotel, excellent staff service is very important to me and I am glad the staff took care of you. Have a great summer.

David Habighorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for a wedding last week and found everything was clean and nice. Rooms are very large with a separate seating area. Nice and quiet at night. The wedding was right next door at the Ale House and it was super convenient. The free breakfast was nicer than most, and even had fresh apples, bananas and oranges. Very nice and we would definitely stay here again. Vicky was very professional at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamaicameonemoretime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Foxfire, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we do have quite a few people that use our facility for weddings. People do find that with the golf course, the Alehouse and the hotel all located together, makes it a great place to stay when visiting Waupaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was recently in town for business and had an excellent experience at the Comfort Suites Foxfire. The hotel seems very new and clean, and it is located on a golf course! The Waupaca Ale House is also within walking distance--which is also new and serves great food! Checkout is extremely easy, as the receipt it tucked into your door at the end of your stay rather than waiting in line to check out.

Overall, this hotel is fantastic and a great value! The only downside is that the exercise room could use improvements.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the golf course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nels311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Foxfire, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel and the Waupaca Alehouse, my staff and I take great pride in our hotel and the services that we provide to our guests. I hope to meet you the next time you are in Waupaca, have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Thank you for the wonderful stay. We had a great room 317, away from the team. The room was clean and fresh. The bed was comfortable, and carpet was clean. We were still able to go downstairs and spend time with our family and team. What a great place you have. And the Ale House is very close to the hotel. You can walk across the sidewalk and you are there. Good food.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannyspencer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Foxfire, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review of our property, we do think we have a great place. I always like to make sure that my staff sees the reviews, good or bad. It is a great tool for them to understand the importance of listening to what our guests have to say. Thanks again, and I hope your team had fun at the tournament.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WISCONSIN
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed at this property one night, 7 Feb. Easy, friendly check-in and out. Rooms are huge and well furnished. Great lighting, fine linens, excellent bed quality, nice bathroom amenities and EXCEPTIONALLY CLEAN! Microwave and frig in each room. Breakfast was one of the better ones we've ever experienced with a very large variety. Entire property was cleaned to perfection to include breakfast area, hallways, and lodging room and bathroom. Would definately recommend and plan to stay there again in the future. Best property in Waupaca by far!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRNBRY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Foxfire, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your great comments about our property, it is so nice to hear fom our guests about the cleanliness of the hotel, we take great pride in that. Cleanliness and great hospitality is what we are striving to accomplish here. Thanks again, hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waupaca
0.8 mi away
Ramada Waupaca
Ramada Waupaca
#1 of 3 in Waupaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
20.8 mi away
Super 8 Wautoma
Super 8 Wautoma
#2 of 2 in Wautoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
19.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites New London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center
19.7 mi away
Best Western Plover Hotel & Conference Center
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Foxfire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Foxfire

Property: Comfort Suites Foxfire
Address: 199 Foxfire Dr, Waupaca, WI 54981-5719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Waupaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Waupaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Foxfire 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waupaca Comfort Suites at Foxfire is a picturesque hotel overlooking Foxfire Golf Club. Whether you're in Waupaca for business or leisure, please join us for some warm hospitality and great friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Foxfire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Foxfire Hotel Waupaca
Comfort Suites Waupaca
Waupaca Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing