We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Hidden Treasure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waupaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crystal River Inn B&B, LLC
Ranked #2 of 8 Waupaca B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
“True Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is a true hidden treasure! The accommodations and site are beautiful, quiet and comfortable. Be lazy; do nothing and soak in the beauty. Walk the historic village of Rural or drive into King and Waupaca for the larger "small town" feel and things to do. We preferred to just stay around the inn and read. There is no cellular service but they do have a robust WiFi. Perfect for not getting calls from work yet being able to read online. Deb and Robert are gracious hosts. They will visit, or as we prefer, leave us to enjoy our lazy vacation time. Our breakfasts started with a wonderful house-made yogurt and fruit compote. We found it charming to know almost all of the food served came from around the inn. How many innkeepers can say, "I got this maple syrup from our neighbor yesterday," or, "I picked and sliced these tomatoes and zucchinis three minutes ago?" Robert brought out more fresh tomatoes plus fried green tomatoes for our last day. This was really a great find. I'm sure we'll travel the 1100 miles to come back.

Room Tip: Canapoy Room is close to the river, has a whirlpool and screened porch. It is the room to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This was the first time my husband and I stayed in a B&B and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the Wood Room which was in the back with a separate private entrance. The room was comfortable and cozy, very romantic with a whirlpool tub just up a couple of steps from the bed. Our hosts Robert and Deb were very friendly. We had our breakfasts outside next to the river one day and next to the flowers on the other. We had crepes on one day and pancakes plus homemade yogurt with fruit the other. Very delicious. Our server was super and very polite. We felt very relaxed and enjoyed walking around Rural and looking at the historical buildings. While in the area we did some kayaking. Our favorite kayak location was the small chain of lakes in the Hartman Creek state park. We would highly recommend the Crystal River Inn to anyone staying in the Waupaca area that is looking for a cozy quiet place with good food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisFromGTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We spent one night at this wonderful inn and cannot recommend it highly enough. We stayed in the Woodland Room - a charming room with a small porch surrounded by trees. The breakfast was fabulous and we were lucky enough to be seated in the gazebo by the Crystal River. It's rare that the reality of a B&B exceeds the pictures and promotional descriptions, but in the case of the Crystal River Inn, it does...a beautiful inn, in an historic little town, in a scenic part of Wisconsin - perfect!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MiMi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Inn. The weather didn't cooperate 100% so we didn't get to kayak the River like we would have liked but we still enjoyed a short hhike around the property and historic Rural. The breakfast was amazing and the hosts were everything you could ask for. Very pleasant people who are wonderful to talk with. It was a great time and we would recommend it to anyone who was looking for a nice B&B in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The Crystal River Inn is really everything a Bed and Breakfast should be. Tucked away in the lovely community of Rural just outside Waupaca, this B&B is close to everything and nothing all at the same time! If you want to go hiking, biking, or paddling, or want to visit great restaurants, it's all located nearby. But if you want to hide away and read or just relax and look out on the Crystal River, you can do that too! The Inn itself is beautiful, and the hosts are marvelous--extraordinarily helpful and a treat to talk to! Plus, the food is delicious and the prices are great!
We'll most certainly be back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great--we stayed in Helen's Summer room, which I think is the prettiest, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GKate099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay view
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed two nights at the Crystal River Inn, Waupaca (Rural), Wisconsin during the John Muir Chapter's Autumn Assembly. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Our hosts, Deb and Robert, were warm, friendly and good cooks (both breakfasts were suburb). We will definitely stay here again when in the area and highly recommend the Crystal River Inn. Take the time to walk around the grounds of the Inn and look at the prairie areas, and be sure to walk around Rural and see the historic homes and Crystal River. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WARMSPRINGSROAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manistique, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This quaint B&B is located in a beautiful, restful, historic community of Rural. The Crystal River, more like a babbling creek, meanders through the tree shaded yard and around the neighborhood. There were several places on the property to sit and listen to pleasant country sounds, but for our trip it was too cool. Our spacious room with king bed had a fireplace, large whirlpool and spacious bath with shower. There was a screened porch at our room entrance and if warmer we would have left the door open at night to hear the wonderful water sounds. Breakfast was tasty - loved the taste of their bacon and the way the delicious garden fresh zucchini was prepared. I would love to live here or at least stay longer to be able to enjoy all that this B&B offers. Thanks Deb and Bob for sharing your place with us.

Room Tip: Would enjoy staying in each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imahaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waupaca
3.8 mi away
Ramada Waupaca
Ramada Waupaca
#1 of 3 in Waupaca
332 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Foxfire
Comfort Suites Foxfire
#2 of 3 in Waupaca
92 reviews
21.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites New London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Waupaca
Econo Lodge Waupaca
#3 of 3 in Waupaca
44 reviews
7.8 mi away
Artha Sustainable Living Center Bed and Breakfast
15.7 mi away
Lindsay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal River Inn B&B, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal River Inn B&B, LLC

Property: Crystal River Inn B&B, LLC
Address: E1369 Rural Rd, Waupaca, WI 54981-8246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Waupaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waupaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 1853 farmstead in the historic village of Rural on the Crystal River is a welcoming place for all to feel at home. The setting fosters rest and refreshment of body, mind and spirit! Travel Green Wisconsin Certified. Wild Ones, Audubon, National Wildlife Federation members. Full breakfast with Southern touch; wildlife/bird habitat; grass labyrinth; foot paths; bicycle friendly. Cabins for families. Wisconsin government rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing