We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an incredible find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waupaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crystal River Inn B&B, LLC
Ranked #2 of 8 Waupaca B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“What an incredible find!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I came here for a short vacation. As I write this, we're preparing to check out tomorrow. Darn! We hate to leave. The owners, Robert and Deb Benada have been incredible. The inn is in a beautiful 1853 farmhouse. Robert and Deb raise much of their food and the things used in their breakfasts. Breakfast yesterday was like a thin frittata with asparagus from their garden and chopped onions. It began with a yogurt and granola parfait, both of which were made there by Robert and Deb. The yogurt was raspberry flavored, again with fruit from their gardens. This morning it was the same parfait but with blueberry yogurt. Again, made right there using blueberries from a nearby farm. The eggs were from a farm about 6 miles away. Breakfasts included toast from their homemade bread. They use organic, fair trade coffee. Most of the food is homemade, home grown, fair trade and/or organic. Can't do much better than that.

The land has a labyrinth. It's a mowed path in a field planted with prairie grasses and windflowers. I took several walks along the path. Very relaxing and rejuvenating.

The inn is located in an unincorporated area called Rural. It's a tiny, easily walkable little village with many historic homes. The country graveyard was close by, so we walked over and saw many graves dating back to the 19th century.

Sue and I loved every minute of the trip and the good company of Robert and Deb. We hate to leave, but we have every intention of returning and enjoying more of this area. There are many beautiful lakes around, and I want to canoe or kayak in them when we return.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RBWCSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertandDeb, Owner at Crystal River Inn B&B, LLC, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
We love to cook and bake and garden but our main joy is sharing it with our guests. This is the reason we do this, to bring joy and peace and comfort to those who stay.
I (Robert) especially enjoyed our visits at breakfast and other times. That kind of connection is so energizing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2013

...along the way we seek the sublime. "I think of two landscapes - one outside the self, the other within. The external landscape is the one we see - not only the line and color of the land and its shading at different times of the day, but also its plants and animals in season, its weather, its geology, the record of its climate and evolution....The second landscape I think of is an interior one, a kind of projection within a person of a part of the exterior landscape. Relationships in the exterior landscape include those that are named and discernible, such as the nitrogen cycle, or a vertical sequence of Ordivician limestone, and others that are uncodified or ineffable, such as winter light falling on a particular kind of granite, or the effect of humidity on the frequency of a blackpoll warbler's burst of song.... The shape and character of these relationships in a person's thinking, I believe, are deeply influenced by where on this earth one goes, what one touches, the patterns one observes in nature - the intricate history of one's life in the land, even a life in the city, where wind, the chirp of birds, the line of a falling leaf, are known. These thoughts are arranged, further, according to the thread of one's moral, intellectual, and spiritual development. The interior landscape responds to the character and subtlety of an exterior landscape; the shape of the individual mind is affected by land as it is by genes." These realities, expressed by Barry H. Lopez from his essay Landscape and Narrative, were made manifest during our three-day stay with Robert and Deb Benada on the Crystal River in the historic village of Rural, Wisconsin, at the onset of the Spring bird migration, early May 2013. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertandDeb, Owner at Crystal River Inn B&B, LLC, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Having you two naturalists here was a total delight! Thank you so much for adding to our life list of birds seen from the inn. We wish you well in all things. Gratefully, Deb and Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Returned from a two nite stay. Found this Inn charming and the hosts very warm and welcoming. The breakfasts are well prepared and presented and a very warm atmosphere. We sat in the sun porch with a view of the snow covered surroundings and river. We also were able to x country ski at Hartman State Park on New Years day and met with excellent trail conditions and no crowds. The Inn is only two miles down from the state park. A wonderful visit. Would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Harmony, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Our daughter was married here and the event and accommodations were absolutely perfect. We could not have been happier with every aspect. The inn is a charming farmhouse with beautifully appointed rooms. The setting is peaceful and pretty and the grounds are lush and well maintained. We knew we were in a very special place.

Our cottage, ‘Little House on the Prairie’ was spacious, the beds were comfortable, and the rooms and linens were spotless. We also liked having the deck and screened in porch with lots of seating.

This inn is comfort personified. The proprietors, Robert and Deb made our large party of 22 feel welcome in all the rooms and spaces. The dining room, sun room, and serene sitting rooms were furnished tastefully and comfortably. The bountiful homemade breakfast served each morning was delicious and healthy with fresh local ingredients, including handcrafted jams. Attention to every detail and making guests feel at home is definitely what this place is all about. The hosts were gracious and helpful in making our entire family feel pampered and right at home and our every need was accommodated cheerfully and generously.

I highly recommend The Crystal River Inn to anyone looking for comfort, serenity, and a delicious and ample breakfast. We will go back!

Room Tip: Since we had the entire inn reserved for our family, we were able to see all of the rooms and the tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DollieDingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is a true hidden treasure! The accommodations and site are beautiful, quiet and comfortable. Be lazy; do nothing and soak in the beauty. Walk the historic village of Rural or drive into King and Waupaca for the larger "small town" feel and things to do. We preferred to just stay around the inn and read. There is no cellular service but they do have a robust WiFi. Perfect for not getting calls from work yet being able to read online. Deb and Robert are gracious hosts. They will visit, or as we prefer, leave us to enjoy our lazy vacation time. Our breakfasts started with a wonderful house-made yogurt and fruit compote. We found it charming to know almost all of the food served came from around the inn. How many innkeepers can say, "I got this maple syrup from our neighbor yesterday," or, "I picked and sliced these tomatoes and zucchinis three minutes ago?" Robert brought out more fresh tomatoes plus fried green tomatoes for our last day. This was really a great find. I'm sure we'll travel the 1100 miles to come back.

Room Tip: Canapoy Room is close to the river, has a whirlpool and screened porch. It is the room to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This was the first time my husband and I stayed in a B&B and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the Wood Room which was in the back with a separate private entrance. The room was comfortable and cozy, very romantic with a whirlpool tub just up a couple of steps from the bed. Our hosts Robert and Deb were very friendly. We had our breakfasts outside next to the river one day and next to the flowers on the other. We had crepes on one day and pancakes plus homemade yogurt with fruit the other. Very delicious. Our server was super and very polite. We felt very relaxed and enjoyed walking around Rural and looking at the historical buildings. While in the area we did some kayaking. Our favorite kayak location was the small chain of lakes in the Hartman Creek state park. We would highly recommend the Crystal River Inn to anyone staying in the Waupaca area that is looking for a cozy quiet place with good food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisFromGTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We spent one night at this wonderful inn and cannot recommend it highly enough. We stayed in the Woodland Room - a charming room with a small porch surrounded by trees. The breakfast was fabulous and we were lucky enough to be seated in the gazebo by the Crystal River. It's rare that the reality of a B&B exceeds the pictures and promotional descriptions, but in the case of the Crystal River Inn, it does...a beautiful inn, in an historic little town, in a scenic part of Wisconsin - perfect!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MiMi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waupaca
3.8 mi away
Ramada Waupaca
Ramada Waupaca
#1 of 3 in Waupaca
332 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Foxfire
Comfort Suites Foxfire
#2 of 3 in Waupaca
91 reviews
21.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites New London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Waupaca
Econo Lodge Waupaca
#3 of 3 in Waupaca
44 reviews
7.8 mi away
Artha Sustainable Living Center Bed and Breakfast
15.7 mi away
Lindsay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal River Inn B&B, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal River Inn B&B, LLC

Property: Crystal River Inn B&B, LLC
Address: E1369 Rural Rd, Waupaca, WI 54981-8246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Waupaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waupaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 1853 farmstead in the historic village of Rural on the Crystal River is a welcoming place for all to feel at home. The setting fosters rest and refreshment of body, mind and spirit! Travel Green Wisconsin Certified. Wild Ones, Audubon, National Wildlife Federation members. Full breakfast with Southern touch; wildlife/bird habitat; grass labyrinth; foot paths; bicycle friendly. Cabins for families. Wisconsin government rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing