We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Well Trained Staff”
Review of Rib Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rib Mountain Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Wausau B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Well Trained Staff”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

My family made reservations two weeks prior to our one day ski trip. We decided to try this place in spite of the many posts about poor staff and bad service, because it was close by the hill and seemed convenient.

The day of the trip it was actually raining the entire day. I called the hotel at 3 pm and was told that I would be charged a $30 cancellation fee. Given that I was late in canceling, I felt this was acceptable and agreed, and we decided to drive home instead of staying the evening, and save a few bucks for another stay in the future when the conditions were better.

Now two weeks later, I still have the full amount ($130) of the room on my credit card. I called to ask about removing the charge and replacing it with the $30 cancellation fee. ‘Josh’ told me that the hotels policy was to charge the first night at the time of the reservation and the $30 cancellation fee only applies if the reservation is cancelled 30 days prior to the date.

After talking to him, it was very apparent that I was out the money and they were not going to do anything about it.

Wausau has many, many other places to stay that are near the ski hill that have better accommodations, breakfast included, and with a pool area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    13
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
18
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Reserved a condo for 3 nights and it easily sleeps a very large group - 3 bedrooms (1 being the Master bedroom) with a double bed and a basement room with 2 double beds (and it own bathroom) and a fold out couch. Continental breakfast across the way and a path right to the slopes. Condo comes with enough equipment to make meals (may need more plates etc. if you have more then 10 people though) and a wood burning fireplace with a garage. Nice stay and very comfortable. Enjoyed our time for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhundt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend trip to Granite Peak. We booked a package on Granite Peak's website, and arrived late on a Friday night. The office was closed, but a key was left taped to the door. We booked a VIP room, which included a balcony, microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker. A hot breakfast was included, which had a pretty nice selection.

The location of this inn is ideal for a ski trip. It is in a quiet, residential neighborhood with a trail that leads to the slopes. The rates are very affordable. The only downside is it is a little outdated and the water takes a really long time to get warm.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snsmith27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is a great place for a group, The set up is fantastic and the staff is too. Very accomodating for everyone and their needs. Would urge anyone that is looking for a place for a group meeting to choose this one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamLofquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This was our second visit to the Inn. Both times we've gone with another family, booking a 'Condo' room, which is two adjacent rooms combined as a single unit via an interior door. Both rooms have two beds, but one also has a kitchenette and fireplace, which creates a great situation for the kids to hang out, and to have some apres-ski snacks and drinks. The Inn is close enough to the slopes to walk, and if enough snow, ski most of the distance (700'?).
There's a nice large jacuzzi, and they put out a good spread for breakfast, buffet style.
Overall, there may be nicer places to stay, but this is very serviceable.

Room Tip: Staying in the main Inn instead of the out buildings gives easy access to the jacuzzi and breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We have just booked for next year, which willl be our third stay, this year being our second. We love the lodge, very short walk, in boots, carrying skis and poles thru the woods, across parking lot to high speed lift. Love the home cooked breakfast, large hot tub, fireplace, kitchen. We have the whole first floor booked because two more couples in our group loved the lodge and all the amenities. It's easy to come back for lunch and dinner and then go back out skiing or boarding. We have six families in our group and have just added two more! The staff is friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts are great and we cook lunch and dinner ourselves and have a great reunion ski trip every year. We stayed a short drive away this first year, but nothing beats being right next to the ski hill.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tawr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed in Villa 6. Not sure if the other villas are in better condition but this one had a terrible musty smell that we could not get rid of. The couch was old and dirty and I did not feel comfortable sitting on it. The slider doors to the patio were not functioning properly. We were able to open but not easily (trying to get rid of smell) The fire place (gas) did not put out any heat. This was puzzling. It was just warm to the touch. The wirlpool tub was nice and did work. The whole room needed an update, looked like it was decorated in the 80s. We paid in advance for our room so we made the best of it. The breakfast was nice and we were a very short drive to the ski hills.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123KarenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wausau hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
444 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,056 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
244 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rib Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rib Mountain Inn

Property: Rib Mountain Inn
Address: 2900 Rib Mountain Way, Wausau, WI 54401-9281
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rib Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a one-of-a-kind boutique HOTEL and Inn nestled in the beautiful Northwoods of Wausau, Wisconsin, just steps away from the highly acclaimed Granite Peak Ski Area and Rib Mountain State park, where the luxury of an upscale bed-and-breakfast are combined with the convenience of a resort hotel. With Woodburning fireplaces in every room, thoughtful amenities and impeccable service, Rib Mountain Inn/ Granite Peak Lodge promises an exciting experience that you won't find anywhere else. Enjoy our extended stay options or nightly hotel. Outdoor Hot tub 14 person On golf course and Ski hill remodeled in 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rib Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rib Mountain Hotel Wausau
Rib Mountain Inn Wausau, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing