We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very hospitable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plaza Hotel and Suites
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very hospitable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We checked in for an convention. They definitely handed the number of people except on Friday for lunch...short staffed at restaurant. Our room was in the tower. The bed was comfy. New tv and good frightened. However the bathroom is dated but clean. The ceiling indicated water damage and not just in our room 605 but also in 600.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaWoessner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    20
    28
    51
See reviews for
38
18
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder Junction, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband had to have back surgery so I spent several nights at this hotel. The Whirlpool room was wonderful! It was very roomy and had a mini refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and hair dryer. The staff at check in (Heather) is an absolute delight and Rebecca and Rod are wonderful too. General manager Vicki Davis, was very welcoming. I loved the lobby decor and would recommend this hotel to anyone and especially if a family member is having surgery, as the room rate is amazing and you can't get any closer to the hospital. Olive Garden, Rocky Rocco, Texas Road House and the best shopping ever are right down the road. Their continental breakfast is the best. We will certainly stay here again should we need to in the future!!
You took the stress away from my husband surgery and made sure I was fine and had everything I needed and I thank you for that!!!!!
THANKS TO THE FABULOUS STAFF AT THE PLAZA IN WAUSAU WI!!

Sincerely,

Betsy Davis

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Dirty room. Two lights in the room did not work. We had to get five new key cards because each time we tried to get back in the room the door would not open. The door had to be slammed to close, so did all the other doors from other guests. It was a slamming door fest. The ceiling leaked from melting snow from the roof. A bucket in the middle of the floor to catch the leak. The lobby door would not close because it was frosted over. Not a secure place to stay. The jets did not work in the hot tub. I should have checked trip advisor before I booked the rooms.

Room Tip: Read Trip Advisor, not the reviews on the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wausau hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

stayed for a weekend with a group. they need help on the maintanence side of the business. Older property and it shows. Pool area was nice. Needs an infusion of money to get it up to standard. leaking ceilings in far hallways. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: be in the tower, that is where they have made some inprovements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winelover9154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Feb 15, 2014. Our room was small yet we paid the same as other members of our group that were placed in the tower rooms. The outside doors didn't close due to frost. The walls in the hallway had black mold and the paint and drywall were peeling due to the moisture on the outside wall. There was hair on the floor in our room. The water in the shower wouldn't turn off.

We ate at Brewski's Lounge which isn't really a restaurant. And, we never found Austin's Restaurant and Lounge. It took 2 hours for 4 people to get steak sandwiches and fries, which I returned to the kitchen to be warmed since the steak was as cold as if they'd just taken it from the refrigerator. Breakfast the next morning was powdered eggs, sausage wasn't bad, mixed fruit for yogurt was direct from the freezer and hard as a rock, coffee was weak, kringle was store bought and pretty good.

Furniture in the room, bar areas, and dining room was cheap, wobbly, and in disrepair. It had that college apartment, hand me down feel to it. The next stop for it should be the dumpster.

Since we were staying with a group, we arrived later in the evening, and the hotel (and most others in town) was fully booked, we didn't have any option to change hotels. I'd never choose this hotel again though not even if it was the only room left in town.

Beware.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, I understand from others in our group that the tower rooms were much bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joamazeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My friend had booked this hotel for us when we went snowboarding at granite peak last march 2013. First, the parking in the lot was kind of awful. When we got into the hallway, the ceilings were leaking in multiple spots.

I don't remember much about the rooms since it was awhile ago, but I do remember they just seemed old and needed a bit of updating. The pool area was kind of cool and one of the workers let us stay in the pool later than it was supposed to be open which was nice. I believe there was also a free breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmoris821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

On January 4, after driving 6 hours our family of 5 arrived at the Plaza Hotel. We were assigned our 2 rooms. While in the 1st room, we noticed the lock on the outside sliding door had been previously broken and tampered with and would not lock. Also, the door handle to our room did not catch and the door did not close behind us, so we had to make sure to pull the handle tightly each time. We called the front desk and a maintenance person was sent to our room. The maintenance person agreed that with both of these doors not working properly we should be assigned a different room. Then the 2nd room, the door would not open properly when the card was put in, we had to keep putting the card in the door many times , sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn’t.

We were assigned 2 other rooms. In the 3rd room once again the door handle would not close properly and would stay open as we left the room. In the 4th room, you could not open the door after putting the card in multiple times. Once again, these 2 rooms as the previous 2 rooms were safety issues.

Now we were assigned to 2 other rooms. In the 5th room, again when you put the card in the door, it would not open, and had to keep putting the card in the door multiple times and sometimes it would open, sometimes it wouldn’t. Also the main light in the room did not work, and the microwave did not work. In the 6th room everything seemed to be working okay.

We went back to the front desk and asked the front desk person what we should do since 5 of the 6 rooms had safety issues. She (the front desk person) got aggravated and called in the front desk manager (there was no manager at the Hotel on this night). When the front desk manager arrived, he was already in a bad mood and did not introduce himself to us, was rude to us, never apologized to us for all the trouble and inconvenience that we went through. The front desk manager denied there were any problems and told us there was no pleasing us. We said that we are not hard people to please and that these were safety issues in the 5 of out 6 rooms that were assigned to us and we did not feel safe staying in them. The front desk manager threw up his hands, denied there were any problems and told us to leave.

After all the years of traveling and going on vacations with our children (who are now young adults) we had never experienced anything like this or been treated so terrible. At this point, we were happy to leave the hotel, as this front desk manager definitely had a temper.

We left and went to the Hampton Inn. When we got there the front desk person said we looked tired. We told her how terrible our experience was at the Plaza Hotel. She apologized about the Plaza Hotel and assured us our experience at the Hampton Inn would be enjoyable and stress free. And she sure was right. The 2 rooms we were assigned were great, not a thing wrong with them, everything worked properly, and they were clean. And the Hampton Inn is closer to Granite Peak Skiing too!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wausau hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#6 of 10 in Wausau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 10 in Wausau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#5 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel and Suites

Property: Plaza Hotel and Suites
Address: 201 N. 17th Ave., Wausau, WI 54401 (Formerly the Ramada Inn)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Wausau
Plaza Hotel And Suites Wausau, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing